We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights in November 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hotel location very good and easy walk on level road to town centre. Very helpful reception staff. Good food for breakfast and good WiFi. The breakfast dining room was very crowded. Difficult to find a seat at peak time (just before tour buses pick up passengers). Bedroom was overheated and there did not appear to be thermostat control. Apart from the heat the room was clean and comfortable

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pikap39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed al the hotel in march 2012, B&B accomodation.
The room was very spacious and nicely arranged, with a view over Lago Argentino. Clean and comfortable.
We liked the location, at the end of Av. Libertador, 10 minutes walk from the restaurants and attractions of El Calafate. We read some reviews complaining of the distance to walk, we say Patagonia is not for lazy folks!
Breakfast was fine, with all kinds of goodies.
Staff is professional and efficient.
We appreciated the possibility to have, at a cost, the lunch box (can choose from 4-5 different combinations/menus) to take on escursions.
We ate at their restaurant one night and liked the food, good quality ingredients and nicely cooked.
There are 5 PCs connected to internet free of charge, and also wi-fi connection for free.
We plan on coming back to El Calafate, even if it's qute a long way from Italy, and we will surely come back to the Mirador del Lago.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dangerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel has 3 floors but the floor labeled 4 is really the second floor. There is one floor above it.

I had room 401 which had a king size bed, two easy chairs, one with ottoman, a round table, mini-fridge and balcony with a straight on view of the lake which was about 1km away. Though the room number implied the 4th floor, it was really the second floor. The public areas of the hotel are lovely with several seating areas with comfortable sofas. The hotel has a friendly staff and a good breakfast. Wifi is fast and complimentary and there was also a bank of 5 computers for public use. The only minor complaint (and it is nit-picky) was the bathroom was not well designed.

It is a 3 block walk to the center of the town with shops lining the main street.
If you like handicrafts and hand-made jewelry, look for the sign that says “Artisanos” which is a few doors down from the casino. There are about 20 vendors lining a small walkway.

Room Tip: Even though the lake is about a mile away, it is still worth getting a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Confortable suites, good breakfast, staff very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osmar40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We arrived from Buenos Aires to a very warm, hospitable welcome. We ate in the hotel restaurant, and the choice was excellent and reasonably priced. We found the wine list very good too. Our room was clean, tidy and quiet - but too hot. Despite being told that it was a communal system somehow the receptionist managed to turn our heat off, for which we were grateful. Although a good 20 minutes outside the main area of El Calafate we were not hindered by this. We'd definitely stay there again should be in that region again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mirador del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Hi thanks for choosing us and recommend us, we feel comfortable in what we do and we do our best every day to please our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is far out of the central part of the city, on the highway, and without real sidewalks to use to get to the downtown. They advertise it as 5 minute walk. Try 20 minutes! The rooms are very dated, the food in the restaurant is overpriced, and not great. Beware - their third floor is actually below ground. If you have to stay there ask to be placed at least on fourth floor which is street level. The rooms advertised as lake view, are indeed facing the lake but you have to look over the highway to see the lake. It's not really what you think of when you book lake view. Also to keep in mind this is a hotel for tours. Overall I found it overpriced, and inconvenient. Definitely wouldn't stay here again. There are many other choices in town that i would explore.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this Hotel. The location was good, a little bit out of town, but not too far about a 10 minute walk from most restaurants and shops. Room was a good size, we had a superior room with a view of Lago Argentino and that was nice. The only problem was that it was very warm in the room and had to leave door open because the heat system is not individual in each room. I asked the front desk about it and they turned down the temperature. The elevator door was not working properly but other than that everything else was good, breakfast was excellent and it was very clean, sometimes we needed to request towels since they would only leave 2 small ones. The last day the offered us a room for the day after check out at no charge since our flight was leaving in the eve, so we had a room until 8p, which we though it was very nice from them to offer it. Overall it was a good experience. Front desk could be a little more helpful when asked questions about restaurants etc.I will give this hotel a 3 star in progress, it needs a little more to become a 4 star.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estelasSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mirador del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Hey thanks for leaving your opinion, I hope when you want in your next visit argentian and our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,357 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#18 of 70 in El Calafate
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
547 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
890 reviews
1.4 mi away
Unique Luxury Patagonia
Unique Luxury Patagonia
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirador del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador del Lago

Address: Avenida Del Libertador 2047, El Calafate Z9405AIF, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#6 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#11 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#18 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $113 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirador del Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mirador del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mirador Del Lago Hotel
Hotel Mirador Del Lago El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing