We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A nice stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Solares del Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Calafate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas Solares del Sur
Save
You added Cabanas Solares del Sur to your Saves list
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A nice stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

There were 3 of us and we had a cabin for 4 nights. The location is out of town and takes about 20 minutes to walk it. It is an easy walk. The cabin was nice with a kitchen, TV, bathroom, etc. It didn't have a lounge which would have been nice to watch TV or just to relax on. The drain in our shower didn't work too well as it was uphill of most of the water.

Breakfasts were fine although the slices of bread supplied were small and thin which made for very crunchy toast. We had a meal in the resturant which we enjoyed. We had pizza and beer another night which was very good.

Staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem. They arranged tours for us and assisted in what we should see while in El Calafate.

Overall a nice place to base ourselves for touring El Calafate on our way to Torres Del Paine.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solares, Gerente at Cabanas Solares del Sur, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our
hotel.
We hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Our stay was excellent! And the restaurant is excellent too: you can see the sunset on the lake from the dining room, (not mentionning a very good food).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solares, Gerente at Cabanas Solares del Sur, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our
hotel.
We hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

A little way out of town but a pleasant 20-minute walk along the new lakeside promenade. The dirt road leading to the front entarnce looks like the middle of nowhere, but all the horizontal roads here are like it.
Worth booking: our "cabana" was a two-storey cottage. Kitchen, dining room, bathroom and spare bed downstairs; upstairs, a large double bedroom with satellite TV, bedside lights (always a must with us) and plenty of storage space.
The owners were charming and nothing is too much trouble.
There is a small restaurant and the food is very good, the service friendly and warm.
A hearty breakfast is delivered to your room by 6 p.m. the day before! (There is a fridge.) This is because people are up and off at all hours in this tourist area, so you never have to wait for breakfast or request an early one.
We could have stayed more than three nights here. The town is very pleasant, with a good range of shops and lots of places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabaandZaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

I traveled with my family for the Patagonia Argentine on February 2009 and we knew incredibly places.
One of them was ‘’El Calafate’’, where we knew the Perito Moreno Glacier that really it's wonderful. We were lodged in ‘’Solares Del Sur’’, a complex of cabins really fabulous.
The cabins were clean, wide as to be comfortable with the family and the same ones have an excellent view to Argentine Lake.
We had a great stay there and we want to send best regards especially to Martin who was helpful in every way, very friendly and welcoming, like all the staff of the Complex.
They bring a very great service, very attentive. We will be back there if ever we return to ‘’El Calafate’’.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_75NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solares, Gerente at Cabanas Solares del Sur, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our
hotel.
We hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.3 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
1.0 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hosteria Rukahue
Hosteria Rukahue
#37 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Solares del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Solares del Sur

Property: Cabanas Solares del Sur
Address: De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartments and cabins are entirely built in cypress - traditional fine wood from the Patagonian region, which creates a warm and cozy atmosphere. All units overlook the beautiful Argentino Lake, offering a unique feeling of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Solares Del Sur El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing