We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hosteria Los Barrancos
Ranked #11 of 38 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were there in December 2012 for 4 nights. We don't like this hosteria because the location, too far from town and the walking path is not easy. Wall are thin between rooms - we can heard clearly all the conversations from next door! Meanwhile the host has never smile! She seem not a happy person. Breakfast was poor. No wifi in the room. For the price we've paid, it's easy to find a better place in town. Another downside: they only accept cash! We'll not return for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88sunny88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 73 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have had a wonderful stay at this hosteria! Monica has made us feel so welcome, helping us with advice on day trips, restaurants and how to get around. Jorge even drove us into town to book our trip to the glacier for the next day as we arrived so late.
The rooms are really comfortable and warm, hot showers and quiet! There are spectacular views from our room and the lounge area, where we indulged in a few wines and a simple, but enjoyable, meal provided by Monica.
Our beds were made every day, with fresh towels and toiletries. Is this a hotel or hosteria? Wow!
We had packed lunches provided for our day trips, which were delicious.
After 8 weeks in South America, this was one of the best stays we had. Our only regret was we didn't stay here longer. Value for money - worth every peso!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
897monicad, Propietario at Hosteria Los Barrancos, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012
Google Translation

En la hosteria estamos mas que contentos que nuestros pasajeros se sientan tan a gusto, lo disfrutamos a la par de ellos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

The attention was very friendly and great views to the Andes range and Argentine Lake.
Good meals and home made breakfast .

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veleroypake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We reserved our room at Los Barrancos after several unsuccessful attempts booking elsewhere - what a disappointment. The rooms are spartan with the absolute minimal comforts. The hot water problem noted by the previous poster hasn't been fixed and the term "bushwacking" comes to mind to describe the rather long and unsafe trek into downtown El Calafate. The "path" is unlite and unmarked, making it very difficult to walk to the hotel at night after dinner in the city centre. There are no restaurants or shops close by, making frequent trips down the perilious path to the city necessary.

Upon arrival, we was informed by a rather permanent looking sign that their credit card system is "temporarily" down and only cash would be accepted. To add insult to injury, we were told that rules prohibited a check-out after 10am (we had requested a late check-out at noon upon learning that our flight had been delayed) - completely incomprehensible given that no more than 3 of the 24 rooms were occupied at the time.

Just walking around town, there appear to be much better facilities (even the hostels looked relatively more inviting) for around the same price. Stay in one of them. The low quality of service at Los Barrancos is not worth the few dollars that you may save staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Patagonian_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2006

We stayed at Hosteria Los Barrancos in November 2006. The owner speaks English, so making the reservation via e-mail was pretty easy. To secure reservation, I e-mailed my credit card information over the Internet (there's also an option to fax).

The hotel is on a hilltop overlooking the town. The dining room, where breakfast is served has very large windows that look out toward the lake. On a sunny day, you can see the Andes far to the left.

It's about 15 minute walk down the dirt road to the center (and a little longer to climb back up). Even though it was a little bit inconvenient, I was happy to sleep far away from the dirty and noisy center.

The reception staff was really friendly. The hotel had a book of most of the excursions available in Calafate, and obtained the tickets for us. We picked the Lago Argentino boat excursion and Minitrekking on Perito Moreno (AMAZING!). A car came to pick us up at the hotel each morning.

The room was very clean and the bathroom was new. The cleaning service did a great job cleaning our room each day. However, the laundry service is VERY expensive, so I would recommend you avoid using it as much as possible.

We had an issue with the hot water. The water pressure was inconsistent, and the hot water ran out very quickly. We alerted the owner, who wasn't aware of the problem - so hopefully she has fixed it by now.

The price was $70 US/ night. Like lot of places in El Calafate, they don't accept credit cards, so it's necessary to pay cash.

See photos and other information on the Web site.
---

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank illumita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Andreza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#14 of 69 in El Calafate
915 reviews
0 mi away
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
#24 of 69 in El Calafate
448 reviews
0 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#16 of 69 in El Calafate
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
#3 of 38 in El Calafate
413 reviews
0 mi away
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#1 of 77 in El Calafate
990 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria Elken
Hosteria Elken
#8 of 38 in El Calafate
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Los Barrancos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Los Barrancos

Address: Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range: $13 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Los Barrancos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hosteria Los Barrancos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Los Barrancos El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing