We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost”
Review of La Vaca Atada

La Vaca Atada
Ranked #62 of 121 Restaurants in El Calafate
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

One of the worst restaurant experiences ever. Not expecting much at such a place we were still terribly disappointed. We waited over an hour after ordering for our entrees to arrive. Tables to the left and right we're served and turned over. When we complained and asked for the bill, magically our meals came. Waiter and manager kept saying it was not their fault. As my friend said, "We've been there twice...the first time and the last time."

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    146
    88
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“great service, good food!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Two young smiley waitresses run this place like a perfectly oiled machine, quickly, efficiently, joyously.
The menu is quite varied: seafood, mostly, but pastas and meats as well, with deserts and drinks. At my table we had Tabla Atlantica chica/small, which turned out to be a gigantic mountain of lightly fried sea food, not breaded but still fried. Mixed reaction on that but quite palatable, with calamari being the best.
La trucha con limon was very tender, very nice but came with no side, though the waitress quickly arranged for sauteed vegetables which were not even on the menu. Delicious!
Seafood stew was fantastic, very tasty, not salty, every bite was perfectly measured to savor each bit.

judging by the ease and wit with which a minor mishap at the adjacent table ( a broken glass) was swiftly handled, the crew knows how to manage everything - greet new guests at the door, deliver meals, smile at the customers, chat with them and make them feel at ease.

Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank heyValera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Couldn't get into our chosen restaurant and saw this one with its white tablecloths and thought we would try it. Very good choice nice food and very good service, would recommend ?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loobyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
690 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Good local spot with a warm feeling and good food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We tried this one because the menu sounded a little different and the prices were right. Everything was delicious, the wine choices were very good, the service was excellent, and we had a relaxing and well-priced experience. Give it a try if you are in town for a few days.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“No frills but good food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We went to the Vaca Atada under the recommendation of local friends. It was exactly as how they described it: low key restaurant with great food. We had the trout (delicious) and the fresh pasta (tasty and it was great to finally get fresh pasta in a restaurant!). Our waitress spoke English.

It's closer to a good American diner with a waitress with attitude, bright lights and no fuss. But the food is great and the prices low. It feels like a place where locals would eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank st-claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vaca Atada also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to La Vaca Atada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing