We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it were't for the smell...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Calafate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel International Point
Ranked #24 of 36 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hostel is well located, a short walk uphill from main street and bus station. My first impression was great: plain room, but all you need and a private bathroom with a bathtub. But the next morning, we noticed there is no ventilation in the bathroom, and a strong bad smell came along with the humidity caused by a hot shower. I thought I would get over it, but unfortunately it only seems to get worse, even as you enter at reception. Too bad, because the setup is nice and the view is great.
Breakfast is quite weak, you might as well make your own toast and buy a jar of jam if you need to fill up. The kitchen is well equiped for cooking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigella33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Hostel International Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 62 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

The staff were friendly enough, but I expect a bit more for US$62/night (private room with own bathroom) than what this hostel offers. No hot water, that was annoying. A breakfast consisting of slices of dry, stale bread was a bit strange, not sure what that was all about. My room was old and a bit dingy, but surprisingly, the well worn sheets were really soft and comfortable and I actually slept very well. Wifi was good, when it worked. Kitchen facilities available for guest use were very good.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank MelbourneTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The view from the window was the only thing I liked in this place.

The room was old styled, with very strong smell (not a good one)
Also the bed sheets and the closet have the same smell (and it has sticked to our clothes after that). The room is not so clean, with old unclear carpet on the floor.
No internet signal was available, and the breakfast was very limited (with no additions) and poor.
The ground floor is a youth hostel => lot of noise in dinning area.
The staff doesn't speak English at all.
The demand was to pay during the CheckIn, and I wonder why ?...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with big window to the lake side
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igalep132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Extremely pleasant host ! We booked this hostel based on reviews on hostels.com. Although some 15 minutes away from the high street (by foot) (which can be tiring after a day of hiking), views from the restaurant were amazing and seemed clear and friendly when we arrived. Turns out there was a problem with water in our room and the owner was more then kind to arrange for alternative accommodation in town and arranged packed lunch for us as well as a symbolic discount. Cant talk about the accommodation but extremely helpful hosts !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RusNer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a find!!! To stay in a double room with ensuite bathroom for hostel prices. It is beautifully situated on top of the hill. I think it has been a hotel before and therefore you find all amenities that you would find in a 3* hotel. the lobby is big and spacious. The breakfast room (as well as our room) had gorgeous views of the lake and the city itself. The center can be reached within 10 minutes walk. It is also in proximity to the bus station (although an area I wasn't too comfortable with). Just a couple of things that you should keep in mind: they don't accept credit cards, so you have to pay cash - possibly in pesos, as their exchange rates are ridiculous (and there is only one exchange bureau in Calafate which has restricted opening hours). Secondly, I asked the staff, if they could book an airport transfer for us, but this wasn't possible and they sent us back to town to boo it with a travel agency.
Overall a very nice stay. Nice breakfast and really good value for money

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We loved this place - both the town / surrounding area and the hotel. In 12 months of travelling the Americas, Natalia was the most warm and informative host. She managed to strike the perfect balance, being helpful without being pushy or stifling us. She's a gem! The hotel is great value for money and despite what other reviewers have said, the walk up really isn't bad at all. We did three tours organised by the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed all of them. We would come back time and time again if we could!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous6163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Firstly before our trip to Estancia Nibepo Aike and after the trip. On both occassions the staff were exceptionally helpful the accommodation was what you would expect for the price. Comfortable room and beautiful views. We would highly recommend using this hostel for you starting or ending point for adventures in Patagonia.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cregan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
1,149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#1 of 69 in El Calafate
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
994 reviews
1.8 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Unique Luxury Patagonia
Unique Luxury Patagonia
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel International Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel International Point

Address: Av. Peron 1016, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range: $10 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the BEST HOSTEL check this out!Exceptional location, a short walk from the heart of the city, with an unforgettable panoramic view from all points of the hostel.Nice outdoor area arround the hostel with a typical patagonian style where you can delight a barbecue or just sit down with your drink to enjoy the lake view.We have private & shared rooms up to 4 people with private bathroom all overlooking the lake & the mountains.We’re a group of friends from all over the world. We have personal experience with living in Argentina, United States and Mexico. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel International Point El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing