We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good if you have time.”
Review of Glaciarium

Glaciarium
Ranked #6 of 55 things to do in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: GLACIARIUM is a modern interpretive galciological centre, and one of the few Glacier Museums in the world. The understanding of glaciers and environmental awareness are our main subjects.The exhibits include models, dioramas, photographs, screens, interactive representations, a 3D documentary, and other modern resources that provide an enriching experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very good if you have time.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This Glaciarium is worth a visit especially if you had at least 2 full days already at the Glaciers or on a rainy day.

The inspiring story of Francisco Moreno was very touching and memorable. I came out loving this man and thank him for his foresight ( I only have one side story of this man of course).

The displays are good and very informative but more like reading a big book without a lot of special effects we are spoiled by Smithsonian for instant.

The films were also shown outside the theater except the 3D which was good but a little too long.

Yet, it is good BOTH before or even after the trips to the real thing even if it it only for 90 mins.

This is a new place and considering the location and Argentinas' economic situation it is pretty good but I see a great potential of growth in the future. I look forward to go to special exhibits and events in the future.

Hot drinks, food and service are good.

All Argentine people can be proud of it! Congratulations.

Note - The Glacier Bar is a fun curious place for unique "photo opportunities".
Worth seeing.

The fee for taking your picture for you is about US$7 per picture but worth it if all you have is an iphone! You need a good camera with flash.

Recommend wearing thick trousers and close shoes of course!
Beware of your iPhone which can freeze. The temperature is only 10 degree Celsius but dry and very cold. They will give you thermos ponchos but doest help that much if you wear sandals and skirt....yup...I did...( it was unusually warm outside..) You are allowed to stay 30 mins.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TWWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaciarium, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Glaciarium, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi, many thanks for your comments and congratulations about Glaciarium.
Many visitors agree that the experiences in very educational, there is a lot to lear about the fascinating world of Glaciers.
Come both before or after The National Park, all the best from Patagonia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,447
    1,398
    656
    151
    91
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Really good option for a rainy day”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a really good option for a rainy day, and lets face it there are a lot of those in patagonia.

The exhibits were good and well thought out. I learnt a lot and it was good to get a better understanding of the area and the glaciers around. The building itself is also worth seeing.

The also had a 3d movie theatre, it was a bit of a promotional video for the area, but never the less the scenery in the film was amazing.

Staff were very friendly. When they realised we were from England they went round the back to switch some of the presentations to English. They also came to find us when the 3d movie was starting to make sure we didn't miss out.

There was also a small gift shop and cafe on site. A pleasant way to spend an afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monty_Harpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaciarium, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Glaciarium, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Cheers, and thanks for your comments.. We have worked hard at Glaciarium to provide quality information about our Glaciers and the region. We believe is greatly helps in understanding and enjoyed the beautiful glaciers of Patagonia.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garland, tx
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great way to learn about glacial activity worldwide.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'd suggest doing this museum before heading out to the Perito Moreno Glacier. Both can be done in a day and the musuem is about 5 minutes out of Calafate by auto and on the road to Moreno Park.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank samsherstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaciarium, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Glaciarium, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mels, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not really recommended. Just if you have really nothing else to do.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The information is displayed using different kind of media, which is very creative and good! Too bad the videos are far from being fact-based - but rather sensationalist. The written information (boards, and so on) is very informative, explaining how they grow, how they have shaped the face of earth in the history of the planet and how they are currently disappearing.

The helpers were indeed very annoying, you can't read something for 10 minutes without somebody pushing you into watching some movie "that is going to start in 1 minute" - and then, as I said, you get to see something closer to a TV show than fact based museum material. Maybe they wanted it to be fun: too bad, it look just cheap.

You can only pay cash or with a Visa credit card. I was specially disappointed about the last point: if the accept credit cards, they should accept them all. They seem to have a partnership with Visa. Mhmm... too commercial for a Museum, if you ask me.

I must agree with the other person who have feedback about the "hypocritical message". Indeed, putting a message that the human footprint on earth is destroying nature and then placing an Ice Bar next to it (that needs energy to be kept cold, thus contributes to global warming) is just sad. Also, the fact that it is out of town, contributing that everybody has to go there by car, bus or taxi is very true to be ignorant, when you want to tell people how bad our footprint on earth is.

They just want to make money. It is clear.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaciarium, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Glaciarium, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for your visit, we do have a lot of information about glaciers, and the various movies and experiences are helpful to spread the messages and information we want to share.

A movie about the life of Perito Moreno (the man), another about the Early explorers and glaciologists, another about the Rupture of Perito Moreno (the Glacier), etc, are all fact-based, the 3D documentary is simple a collection a footage of our beautiful glaciers that most people enjoy, perhaps the one you think was sensationalist is the tunnel with projections about Global Change, Climate Change, and other environmental problems... We follow what the IPCC, and its many experts have to say about Climate Change, and its consequences.

We are sorry you found the helpers annoying, they want to help visitors during their visit.
About our footprint we are well aware of it, but still think that speaking about Climate Change is helpful.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting information. Hypocritical 'message'”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The information about the history, science and environmental impacts glaciers is excellent. Unfortunately this was spoiled by irritating museum 'helpers' who kept interrupting you to take you to view a video, with great urgency "its starting in 1 minute" but the thing is on a loop!
The final room where the message about humans' destruction of the world through global warming is totally hypocritical given they built the place out of town so noone walks there but takes their taxis, and there is an ICE bar in the complex- hardly making any attempts at minimising their own impact.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiverHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaciarium, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Glaciarium, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for your visits, and comments, our assistants try to he helpful and most visitors appreciate their assistance and guidance, apologies if the irritated you. The experience about global environmental problems s designed too create awareness about them, we know we have a footprint on the planet, like most, but we think the message we spread is valid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glaciarium also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Glaciarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing