We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada del Angel
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific hospitality!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Juan and Graciela are so kind and welcoming. They offer the use of their home and go above and beyond expectations with their customer service. The bed and breakfast is modern and clean, and well-appointed for couples with private bathrooms. Posada del Angel was the perfect complement to the amazing excursions that we took to visit the glaciers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Juan and Graciela go beyond good service, they will treat you like family, the place is very nice, and conveniently located close to bus station and downtown. we needed to do some laundry as we arrived after finishing an 8 days trekking trip in Torres del Paine and Juan took us in his vehicle around town to find an open laundry that will have our clothing ready before our departure, I would recommend this place to anybody planning to spend time in El Calafate

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanlopez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville, California, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at Posada del Angel on two different legs of our trip to Patagonia and we were all very pleased that we did. Juan and his wife were so friendly, helpful and welcoming. We had a few special requests such as making breakfast very early so we could go on the glacier walk, and they were always very accommodating. It is like staying at the house of friends! The house itself is very nicely decorated and comfortable, and the rooms are furnished like someone's house also. Wifi, great hot water, comfy beds with plenty of heating - all very cozy. The house is a short walk from downtown through a totally safe neighborhood and is pretty close to the bus station. The first night we got there, it was late, and I wanted to get a glass of Malbec, since we were in Argentina, and Juan sold me a bottle from his kitchen so I didn't have to go out searching for a liquor store at 11 pm (although this being Argentina, I'm sure something would have been open). Even though my Spanish is not that great, I had some interesting conversations with Juan - really nice guy and very helpful, friendly and service oriented. Would definitely recommend Posada del Angel. Oh, and the price was very reasonable also!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talbothall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Only spent one night here but we were greeted with kisses like old friends. We felt so welcome - it was like having an amazing Argentinian mum and dad! My Spanish is terrible and their English was better but not fluent - but we had great chats anyway! Breakfast was made for us super early as we had a tour booked - it was nice to get toast and croissants for a change. When we returned from our tour, we were given ice water and allowed to sit and relax in the living area before our bus.

The room was so cosy and comfortable and I had a great night's sleep. The wifi was really fast in all areas of the house.

Loved this b&b and would definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank euphrosyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Graciela and Juan are wonderful people that made our stay at El Calafate an unforgettable experience. The place is great in all aspects and we felt like home. Next time we visit El Calafate, we will stay there again. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyhdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Gabriela and Juan were extraordinary hosts - we had fascinating conversations for hours and Gabriela even offered to show me some of her own paintings, which were truly amazing. Despite having to leave at 6:30am to catch our bus to El Chaltén, Juan woke up early to prepare our breakfast and got his neighbour (which happens to be a taxi driver) to get us to the bus station (we were too lazy to walk down in the morning). The room and toilet we had were extremely clean and it was also very well heated. It was so comfortable we actually almost missed a bus because we couldn't climb out of our cozy little beds!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eprincipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This posada is a perfect treatment for all people who would like to feel like home. The owner, a warmful and very nice woman gave us a warm welcome when we arrived. It was all so personal and the whole family helped us with lots of recommendations. We had a great time and had good and interesting conversation with the owners. Good way to get to know Argentina and the real Argentinas in such a touristic place.
The room was so cosy, very clean and the bed so confortable. What a value for 58dollars the night for two persons!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.9 mi away
Hosteria Alto Verde
Hosteria Alto Verde
#41 of 70 in El Calafate
195 reviews
1.8 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#28 of 70 in El Calafate
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Loma Hotel
La Loma Hotel
#52 of 70 in El Calafate
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hosteria Kalken
Hosteria Kalken
#54 of 70 in El Calafate
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Angel

Property: La Posada del Angel
Address: Madre Teresa de Calcuta 909, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your La Posada del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Angel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing