We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing family, amazing day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Estancia Rio Mitre

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Calafate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estancia Rio Mitre
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing family, amazing day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was an amazing experience. The Estancia is run by a genuinely warm and welcoming family. We rode horses and had a great time - they allow you to ride up or down to your ability and the scenery is great. The value was also great, as this was one of the lower cost horse-riding options in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

what a amazing day the ride was one of the best ive had even though i ride on dartmoor the views was the best ive ever seen zelmar was a great host the horses were very good without doubt i will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyturner402016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

As a group of students ( 21 22 years) we were welcomed very friendly by Esteban, and we felt almost like at home. We decided to stay in a small dorm of 4 in a small house next to the main one ( were we eat and chill while listening at esteban's stories, eating cheese, and drinking wine or mate ). The bathroom was nice. Of course it is not very luxuous but its comfortable. There also is a very nice cabana were it is possible to stay but it is a little more expensive As we were just 4, we made the horse ride with 2 guides ( Eva, who is french and Selmar, Esteban's son). 3 of us were beginners, but we had a truly amazing experience and we definitely recommend the 5 or 6 h ride. Dinner was also really good although it was quite simple ( pasta bolognesa). Breakfast was also ok ( bread, jam, cake, pastries... Oh and the meat, is super good, surely one of the best we ever tasted! It is relatively quite expensive ( 1100 pesos arg all included) but it is definitely worth it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cmoulart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

What best than spending Christmas day horse riding for 4 hours in one of the most spectacular places on Earth, amongst wild horses, in great company (small group of 7 led by Zelmar, Esteban' son) and finishing off with an amazing BBQ and tasty Malbec?

Esteban owns and runs the Estancia and is a goldmine of stories about his country which he cherishes deeply.

Had a great time, miles de gracias a todos :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We loved our stay at this quirky but spectacular place:
- We stayed in a very small private room which was extremely basic, but it was also extremely cheap (especially compared to other places in the area). There was hot water and comfortable beds but the room was a bit cold and lacking in basics like towel rails and proper curtains.
- Food is cooked by the owner and there isn't really a menu, what you eat is decided by what they have and what you feel like. All the meals we had were top class - slow grilled lamb, fantastic steak cooked to order, pasta, cakes and pastries and a fabulous New Year's eve buffet
- I'm no expert, but the horse-riding operation seemed very impressive with well trained horses in good condition who actually did what we told them to do despite our extreme inexperience
- The environment is spectacular, miles of open space, fantastic birds and other wildlife, views of snow-capped mountains - you can walk or ide for miles and feel totally alone

Definitely a good option for a bit of a break from the touristy side of Patagonia. It is also well situated for trips to see the Perito Moreno Glacier because it is on the road between El Calafate and the glacier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MakiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Estancia Rio Mitre in late February 2013, and I can wholeheartedly say it was the ultimate highlight of our 6 month trip trough Africa and South-America.

First and foremost; the setting is absolutely spectacular. Perched on a small hill, Estancia Rio Mitre overlooks vast Patagonian steppes in a golden orange color, and snow-capped Andean mountains looming on the horizon. It looks like a Lord of the Ring movie, only better. The view from the estancia is so captivating it is worth the journey alone. You can also see majestic glaciers winding down the mountains, and the famous Perito Moreno is very close by. In fact, I would truely recommend all travelling to the area to skip El Calafate all together (it's nothing but a tourist trap), and go directly to Estacia Rio Mitre. Here you'll experience staying at an authentic Patagonian Estancia in the company of real Argentine gauchos. Also, while many other popular areas nearby (El Chalten, El Calafate) are crowded with tourists, here you are all alone with nature. So go discover this place before everyone else does.

We paid 120 ARS total for a double room (including a nice breakfast), but since we (luckily) happened to be the only guests at the time, they let us stay at the wooden cabin for the same price. The cabin was absolutely gorgeous; spacious, with a fully equipped kitchen, lovely lounging area, the most confortable bed we ever slept in, and a spotless, white tiled bathroom. Everything was sparkling clean and had that fresh and new feel to it. Best of all was the HUGE windows wich provided supreme panoramic views of the endless steppes outside.

The dining cabin has the same breathtaking views, and sitting there enjoying hearty portions of superb beef and lamb accompanied with delicious Malbec wine as the sun set behind the mountains was pure bliss. We are a couple of true food lovers, and having eaten at Buenos Aires' top parillas and ten course gourmet restaurants in Lima and Bogotà, the best food on our entire journey was the one we ate at Estancia Rio Mitre. I didn't even know there existed lamb this tasty until I was served it here.

Now to the best part (yes, it gets better); If you ever planned to go horseriding in Patagonia (and indeed you should), this is your place. I had never tried it before, and was frankly quite scared of horses, but could not have been in better hands. We decided the last thing we wanted was to be trapped in a super-slow, big tourist group simply walking with the horses. We did some extensive research, and trust me, that's what you get from all other tour operators. Estancia Rio Mitre, however, specialises in horses, and they took us on two spectacular private horseback rides. Both Estefan and his son (as well as the gaucho working at the farm) are very experienced with the horses, taught us everything we needed to know and were constantly looking after us. With their special attention, we got to try to master the horses entirely our own, and to ride in different speeds. At times we even galloped across the vast steppes. What a feeling! Riding through the beautiful landscape, through hordes of cows and horses, and with eagels and Andean condors soaring in the sky; It was MAGICALl! The ultimate sense of freedom and happiness. My horse was well trained and loyal like a dog, I always felt secure and did not ever fell off. Hiking opportunities in the area are also excellent.

The farm also has horses, cats and goats walking freely around the farm, and it is lovely to be able to go and pet them whenever you want. The baby goats are very curious, super soft and so adorable it is hard to break away.

Finally, the service is excellent and more that you could ever ask for. Estefan and his son goes out of their way to meet your every need. They are kind, humble and wonderful people, true to their heritage and a real pleasure to meet. They were also kind enough to take us for extra horsebackriding for free, and they only charged us group-price when we in fact went on private tours.

Rating Estancia Rio Mitre merely 'excellent' would be an understatement. It is a once in a lifetime experience, leagues above the majority of hotels, and a destination of its own. Princess Beatrice of the United Kingdom has visited Estancia Rio Mitre, and you know that if it's good enough for royalty, it's good enough for you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iscaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We only stopped at this estancia for lunch - the only option available was steak with a salad and some bread - very good (so was the dessert - pancakes with bananas). The views of the valley, mountains etc are absolutely amazing. A great place for a break on the way back from the glacier to El Calafate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Lifou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
15.2 mi away
Hosteria Alta Vista
Hosteria Alta Vista
#42 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
17.3 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
17.4 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#24 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Rio Mitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Rio Mitre

Property: Estancia Rio Mitre
Address: RUTA 60 KM 5 | camino al Glaciar Perito Moreno, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Estancia Rio Mitre El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing