We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place takes you once you are there”
Review of Posada Karut Josh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Karut Josh
Ranked #3 of 36 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2011

It´s not the most central B&B and you have to walk about 800m to reach the start of the main street with its shops and restaurants, but it´s worth staying there. The host is Italian and offers restaurant style food in his B&B in the evening. And boy, can he cook! The rooms are clean and OK, but the quality of service and friendlyness is really what makes this place special.
His recommandation for our activities were also spot on: Hiele y Aventura on day one to go to Perito Moreno glacier and on day 2 take a cruise with Solo Patagonia (ask for VIP tickets, which cost 200 ARG$ extra, but are well worth it as you get prime seats and whiskey + drinks + food included). But back to this place, if you search for a place to stay - don´t look any further.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirAlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdeliebana, Propietario at Posada Karut Josh, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you very much for our words, all our efforts are to make your stay at the Posada Karut Josh will be lovely and creates a beautiful memories. We are greatful that you have chosen us to stay at El Calafate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Posada Karut Josh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 316 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

Claudia and her husband Frederico are excellent hosts. Even before we arrived Claudia was very responsive to e-mails and provided helpful information. They were always willing to help and made our stay in El Calafate special. After we arrived, they found and booked another hosteria for our last night in El Calafate because our plans hade changed due to the volcano activity in Chile. They suggested the Cerro Frias tour when the Estancia Christina tour was filled. Claudia even volunteered to print and delivered the boarding passes for our flight to Buenos Aires to our new hosteria.

Frederico is an excellent cook and makes a special meal each evening. I had roasted chicken and roasted potatoes which was delicious and very reasonably priced. My wife didn't want something as heavy and Frederico volunteered to make her vegetable soup. It too was very good.

The B&B is away from, but walking distance from town. We stayed in an upstairs room which was good sized. The only noise we noticed occasionally, was from the neighbors dogs barking. Breakfasts were the traditional Argentine fare and included items baked by Frederico. There is a nice view of the lake from the dining room. If you're looking for a friendly and comfortable place to stay in El Calafate, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdeliebana, Propietario at Posada Karut Josh, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thanks a lot! Was a pleasure to meet you! Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed 2 nights.
Hosts were very helpful and friendly. Rooms and breakfast all fine.
Only issue was local dogs, and there are a few in the same street. They had barking sessions at different times night and day. The owner raised the issue to see if they had disturbed us. This impressed me as most Argentinian b and b owners don't think about such things!
So as I have found in other places,where the accommodation is close to town, bring ear plugs. If its not dogs it will be roosters or noisy cars or bikes !

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdeliebana, Propietario at Posada Karut Josh, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Thanks for your comment! Federico and Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The owners are very friendly and helpful, the place feels like home. It's not downtown but downtown in El Calafate doesn't offer much beside a few restaurants and anyway there's great food inside. We were very happy to choose Karut Josh!
The rooms are nice, comfortable and with nice clean bathrooms. Great breakfasts and again, Claudia and Federico are awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdeliebana, Propietario at Posada Karut Josh, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your comment!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

It is listed as "top end" in the LP, but really didn't feel top end at all - more "midrange". Very simple rooms, comfortable enough, good bathroom but really nothing special. Decent value for money at 380 pesos for a triple.
Friendly Italian owner.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdmondDantes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdeliebana, Propietario at Posada Karut Josh, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Thanks for your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I'd like to remark here the attention of the owners. The hotel looks like your place when you are there. Simply incredible.
Congratulations!
Fabio Oliveira

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fbasoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

My wife, our 14 year old son and I, stayed at Posada Karut Josh in May 2011. Our enduring memories of this place is the warmth that the place exuded and the friendly owners Fredrico and his wife Claudia.

The hotel is itself a cosy little place and we found our bedroom spacious enough with a very clean private bath. The room had a large window which provided for ample ventilation and sunlight. The highlight of the place is the cosy dining area which has a lovely view of the lake and mountains, where Fredrico served us some absolutely delicious food. Fredrico is a superb cook and it was fascinating to see him enjoy his time in the kitchen.

Fredrico and his happy family make the place seem like home and we were quite comfortable leaving our son there for a whole day when he was sick and we were out on a cruise of the Glaciers National Park. The fact that Fredrico and his wife, both of Italian origin, speak English, is an added advantage.

The hotel is also very reasonably priced and we found its location to be very good - close to many restaurants (not that we needed to go there!) and travel agencies.

Posada Karut Josh is the kind of place that a traveller yearns for - it made us feel so welcome and want to return at the earliest!

Room Tip: Look for the rooms at the top
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
529 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Karut Josh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Karut Josh

Address: Calle 12 No 1882 | Barrio Bahia Redonda, El Calafate Z9405ANB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range: $59 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home…having breakfast with our homemade products, such as cakes, marmelades, bread with and excellent view of the Lago Argentino and Bahía Redonda.Kindness and warm attention, and the best information for great beginning of the day. We are waiting for you!!•6 rooms with private bathroom• Cable Tv and codified service in de living room• Safety Box• Room Service, restaurant service• Central Heating• Hot Water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Posada Karut Josh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Karut Josh El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing