We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat elsewhere” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerveceria Artesanal Chopen

Cerveceria Artesanal Chopen
Ranked #30 of 119 Restaurants in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restauran y bar de tapas comidas tipicas
Singapore
Level Contributor
155 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Eat elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was the closest place to my hotel that was open (somehow many restaurants close on Wednesdays and I passed Quidu, Los Amigos and Pura Vida before finally stopping here). On sitting down they immediately gave me a complimentary sample of their beers, with some groundnuts, very nice gesture. Unfortunately the food is terrible. A combination of American-style bar grub and Argentinian style cooking, and not in a good way. I ordered spaghetti with seafood sauce. The pasta was well overlooked, more like limp noodles, and the sauce was under-salted. Still it was cheap and hot (meal with one bottle of water came to $100). Probably best to have beers here and eat elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BornVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerveza C, Propietario at Cerveceria Artesanal Chopen, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Google Translation
mil disculpa por la comida , la verdad nunca tuvimos una critica asi por la comida , y no se en que restaurantes ha comido pero no creo que sea caro
y si no me equivoco vino 2 veces a comer al restaurnat ???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    140
    36
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

although from the outside it doesn't look much we had some beers and some food and it's pretty good. service is friendly, pretty good English and service is fast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank leave-u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerveza C, Propietario at Cerveceria Artesanal Chopen, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Google Translation
muchas gracias por su comentario , saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“alegedly the only local beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The restaurant is small and simple, well valued by locals. They serve different beers, among which their 3 types are available. The menu is original and the food is home made. The empanadas are small, I should warn you.
And you can find another local beer in the airport and in the commercial center. Chopen beer can be purchased by the bottle or in pack with the 3 tastes in a nice gift box

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank holmes2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent option for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had a delicious dinner in this restaurant. I really recommend this place for an option to have dinner or lunch in El Calafate!!!
The people that works in there is really nice.
And the home made beer is awesome

Reomiendo 100% este lugar ya sea para almorzar o cenar. La comida es deliciosa y abundante.
La gente que trabaja alli, es super servicial y atenta.
Si vas a El Calafate, no dudes en pasar por Cerveceria Chopen, y si la cerveza es EXCELENTEEEEEE!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceci-Lee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, super friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The waitress who served us was super friendly, attentive and proactive. She took great care of us. It seems to be a family owned place since I think some of the family was hanging out near where we ate which I thought added to the friendly vibe of the place. I didn't get a beer but they gave us a few samples upon arrival and it seemed pretty good - pretty standard for homebrews I've had.

We ordered a taco plate which was A-MAZING. The flavors in the meat were to die for. I think it was a special that day so I'm not sure they serve it all the time but I'd recommend it if they do. The tortillas were a bit over-floured but no biggie - they were fresh and homemade and yummy! Since I'm from California I'd really been missing Mexican food on the trip, so this meal was a welcome change from the pizza, pasta and steaks.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bagsrpacked_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerveceria Artesanal Chopen also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Cerveceria Artesanal Chopen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing