We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marcopolo Suites Calafate
Ranked #42 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Breakfast was above expectations, rooms quite big and clean. Locations is OK if you can climb the 111 steps in the staircase that connects downtown to the hotel street. After getting up early to visit the glacier and enjoying a rewarding dinner this can be a bit of a nuisance. Taxis are an option.
Our room was nice but a bit too hot, heating was not easy to manage. Also, the wifi signal is weak, even in the two PC provided by the hotel in the public area.
They offer very nice lunch bags that I recommend reserving the night before you go on daytrips.

Room Tip: They have rooms on ground floor and 1st floor. NIce view from 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcela_MDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 411 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

My experience was really bad. First we got to the hotel and we had the reservation charged before we got there. Ok, but as soon as we open the room door, o my god, we wanted to get running out off there. We slept one night, and by the morning, in WINTER how a hotel doesn't have hot water. That was unacceptable, we called the reception and they said, everyone is taking a shower so wait until it is hot again. How can anyone answer that, if you have a trip planed and you have to get ready. Then we went to have breakfast, and they didn't have enough tables, the plates where none, and also they were almost out of everything, and breakfast wasn't over. So if you want to stay here, RUN and find another hotel. They charge me for 3 nights, I only stayed 1, because I ran to find another hotel in the city. Today I am staying on a really nice place. They should return me the money for the other 2 nights.

Room Tip: really worst place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chia122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I found that the best thing about this hotel was the people working there. They were always very helpful in answering my questions, setting up my excursions, and setting up my transfer to the airport. The room was clean and simple. The tv and wi-fi worked. It isn't on the main drag, but it is close enough that there is no room to complain. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedBmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc0p0l0S, Director Comercial at Marcopolo Suites Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for the review!!!!

We hope you can come again some time!

Best Regards

Marcopolo Suites El Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

budge type hotel. think it used to be a best western because the pillow cases still have best western printed on them.

the good:
- nice, quiet and clean
- friendly staff, helpful on planning tours and sightseeing
- a short taxi ride away from the bus station in the town center
- the front desk also sells chilled soda and beer
- unique concept of safty box - you can lock up the whole cabinet! hope nobody has a spare key.
- has a manu from a local restaurant for delivery. we ordered a pizza because we didn't want to take the walk to town in the dark. it was delivered shortly, other than it was luke warm, it was tasty.

the bad:
- there's pretty much nothing to do around the hotel
- walk to the town center a bit tricky - need to take a long stairway down the hill. no visible signs telling you where the stairway is. you just have to walk staight to the left after you are out of the hotel and pass a patch of bare dirt land before you see the rails of the stairway. a cellphone with gps will help

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc0p0l0S, Director Comercial at Marcopolo Suites Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for the review!!!!

We hope you can come again some time!

Best Regards

Marcopolo Suites El Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are ok, the staff is really nice, and the common areas are ok. But the breakfast is totally poor, terrible juice, old bread. The wifi was very slow too.

Think that is possible to find better places for the same range value.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcenachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in this Hostel as our room in other Hostel had problems, and we were transfered to Marco Polo. It was the best thing that could happen to us as this Hotel (it is more an Hotel than Hostel) is way better than the other one. The room is great, clean, comfortable and the carpet was impressible clean.
The breakfast was better than the other Hostel, it was quite complete.
So, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luiza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I booked a dorm room which turned out to be a standard hotel room with four beds. The beds and bathroom of hotel standards were dream-like to a regular hostel booker. I though the location was just a bit further than other hostels until I met with friends staying in other hostels and I realized the bargain I got. Nice helpful staff. I wish I could have a room like this at this rate (about $20.00USD) everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
2.1 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#17 of 70 in El Calafate
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Hainen
Hosteria Hainen
#30 of 70 in El Calafate
326 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quijote Hotel
Quijote Hotel
#29 of 70 in El Calafate
395 reviews
1 mi away
Hosteria Meulen
Hosteria Meulen
#47 of 70 in El Calafate
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cyan Calafate Hotel
Cyan Calafate Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcopolo Suites Calafate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcopolo Suites Calafate

Address: Av. Jorge Newbery 439, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range: $60 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marcopolo Suites Calafate 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marcopolo Suites Calafate your place to enjoy the Glaciers, a new accommodation option with the best comfort and friendly staff. Double, triple, quadruple rooms with a nice view to the lake or mountain. All of our rooms have private bathroom with bathtub, hair dryer, cable TV, security box & central heating. Breakfast is included in the price: coffee, tea, milk, yogurt, orange juice, butter, cereal, jam and our delicious Argentinian caramel spread. Computers with internet access free of charge in the lobby. There is also Free WiFi. Enjoy a movie in our dvd room or read your book in a quiet place. Our staff will give all the necessary information about tours and excursions in Perito Moreno Glacier and surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marcopolo Suites Calafate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcopolo Suites Calafate El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing