We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guesthouse ever!”
Review of Hospedaje Lautaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hospedaje Lautaro
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Staying in this hostel became one of the highlights of my 3-day stay in El Calafate and the region. The owners (Darion & Belen) are the most helpful people I've met in Argentina and they really go out of their way to make you stay at their place a great experience. They help you with all bookings (tours, bus, etc.) and create an atmosphere where travellers feel like being part of a family.
Dario cooks great dinner every evening - definitely no need to visit any of the expensive local restaurant as these home cooked dinners easily beat them on quality and price too.
Rooms are basic, but very clean. Heating and hot water was great and the hospitality of the family is exceptional. I'd definitely recommend this hostel and when I return to El Calafate next, I will surely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmsdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Hospedaje Lautaro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 307 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a real great stay at the Hospedaje Lautaro. It was one of our best stays in Argentina.
Belen and Dario are the owners of Hospedaje Lautaro. Both are great! They helped us so much with our stay. They did a great job with organizing the our tours, while staying there. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Dario is a great cook we enjoyed a very delicious dinner. You really have to try it. All in all we felt like beeing home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hostel is just awesome. It is extremely clean, very cozy and the owners do everything for you. We arrived late at night because our bus had been cancelled and they waited for us after we had contacted them. The day we left we had to wait till 3 am for our bus and they let us shower and wait at their hostel for absolutely no extra cost.
They also lend us one of their private backpacks to take to Perito Moreno as we did not have one.
The shared bathrooms were cleaner than some of the private ones we had so far, and the rest of the hostel was also really clean.
The breakfast was the best we had in Argentina, with home made bread and jam and freshly squeesed orange juice. You can have dinner at their place with is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed into Dario and Belen's (the owners) home. They were incredibly helpful in resolving a problem we had with our ice hike (heilo lost our reservation and we had to organize transport), reserving bus tickets to el chalten, and with a number of other issues that arose. When we returned from our trip to el chalten, we made sure to stay at Lautaro, and Belen was there to ask us how our time went and to help set up a trip to the airport the next day. All in all, the level of care was extraordinary.

Beyond Dario and Belen, the hostel is simple and neat. The bathrooms are clean and have good water pressure. The bedrooms are large (we stayed in a 3 bed and 4 bed room), have saves, and have comfortable bedding. The hostel is also a couple blocks off the main street - very close to most restaurants, tour operates, and to the super market (on the flipside, this means you don't get sweeping vistas since you're in town). Breakfast is homemade (and might include el calafate jam) and coffee/tea is available all day. They also offer dinner which, although we didnt have, looked delicious (and was confirmed by those who had it).

All in all, there's a reason this place has unanimous high marks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and really really enjoyed our stay. Belen and Dario and their lovely children were very friendly and helpful. Belen helped us book our day trips to Perito Moreno. The best thing though was the amazing dinners home cooked by Dario. Honestly as good, if not better, than any restaurant. Loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is amazing. One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Belin and her family are so welcoming and friendly, she took the time to get to know me and and check that I had plans for my trip. Room was clean and comfortable, good heating! Nice free breakfast in the morning. Good location - 2 blocks from the main street. I would stay here again in a flash!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank UKtravellergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was later October last year that i had the pleasure of staying here whilst travelling around Patagonia. I loved it som much that i came back and satyed again after a stint on the Chilean side. All this time they have stuck in my mind as i promised i would write a trip advisor review and albeit 6 months later...i have not forgotten! If you are passing through i highly recomend staying here. The home cooked food is delcious, the friendly nature and warmth of the staff for me was unbeatable in the rest of south america! They also helped me booked my bus tickets and my tours ahead of arriving so everything was sorted which was a grateful help being a female traveller alone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetravel0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.4 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#27 of 70 in El Calafate
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patagonia Queen
Patagonia Queen
#17 of 70 in El Calafate
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Lautaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Lautaro

Address: Tomas Espora St, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 Specialty Lodging in El Calafate
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hospedaje Lautaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Lautaro El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing