We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estancia Cristina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 36 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We travelled almost 11,000 km within Argentina, and it was El Calafate that stole our hearts! It really is the most spectacular place we've ever been! Trekking the Perito Moreno Glacier and staying at Eolo and the Estancia Cristine where as guests we were able to ascend to the vista then hike down 12 km through the fossil canyon and horseback ride through glacial paths is something everyone should experience.
The staff and guides at the Estancia Cristine were knowledgeable and friendly, making each excursion better than the last, and the food was spectacular!
The remoteness of this property along with the history of the glacier had a profound impact on us.
This destination was suggested by Alejandro Varrente of Breaking Trails and I doubt we would have done it without his glowing recommendation. It was one of the best experiences of my life!

Room Tip: All the rooms in each cottage have incredible views!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Asistente Comercial at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment! We are glad to kn ow that you enjoyed your staying at the Estancia. Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Estancia Cristina Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 295 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visiting Estancia Cristina was 3 days of magic during a recent trip to Patagonia. The 3 hour trip, by boat through the lake, to see glaciers and ice floes is great preparation for the beauty you encounter at Estancia Cristina. This is a property with a great deal of history and the staff are very invested in your stay. They want you to understand the history but make the experience your own. We hiked independently and had a guide take us to Upsala Glacier. Both experiences were amazing. The food is very good - portions are extremely generous.
Accommodations are very nice with only 5 houses (4 rooms per house) promising a feeling of exclusivity and careful attention to your needs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passportpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank your for sharing with us your experience! We are glad to know that you enjoyed the Estancia as much as we do! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had been very keen to go here despite the price and had the most wonderful time. The trip to the Estancia was by boat and, as guests staying, we were treated amazingly well. We cruised through a sea of icebergs which was strangely exciting on ot the Estancia. Food was brilliant . Accommodation was wonderful, activities very organised but the sheer pleasure was in the isolation. This place was heaven! We will definitely return..

Room Tip: Take warm, wind proof clothing.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maw2251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assitant at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience at Estancia Cristina Lodge. We will be waiting for you!! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had been willing to take this trip for a long time and somehow never managed to make it down there.

Finally we booked the trip through Breaking Trails, an Argentina-based travel agency that designed a perfect itinerary given how time constrained we were.

We stayed at Los Alamos, a nice hotel in town with a great spa to keep the budget down and took the Big Ice Excursion to the glacier which was amazing. I thought I would not be fit enough (my wife is) but it was one of the greatest experiences of my life.

We then moved to Estancia Cristina for 2 nights, which was definitely the highlight of the trip. it is such a unique property, located very remotely in the Glaciers Park. Hiking and horseback riding were great and unfortunately we did not have enough time to fish there which I would have loved.

Regarding the travel agency, their personal involvement in every detail of the trip was remarkable, as was their knowledge on what to do, where to eat, etc.

It was truly a memorable experience.

HG

Room Tip: All have fantastic views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGPep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Comercial Assistant at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you very much HG for shearing with us your experience at Estancia Cristina Lodge!! We are very glad to know that the Estancia was to your liking and you enjoyed it! We will transmit your comment to the all staff! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Yes, it's a boat ride to get there - which can be an adventure in itself if the weather is not participating or even if it's just windy - but once you get there, it is delightful. The rooms were great, the food was fabulous, the hiking was exhilarating, and the horseback riding was quite the adventure up to the top of the mountain to view Upsala Glacier. Plan to stay overnight if you can. The extra time (vs. a day trip) is well worth it.

3  Thank MapleGrove4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

As remote as you could find and as comfortable as your own home. Sail past icebergs to get there, ride horses to see the condors and hike up to the glacier. Fantastic. Worth every cent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A wonderful venue and experience for anyone wanting to escape city life and rediscover family values.The whole package is first class and we left knowing that we shall return.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms with stunning views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
45.9 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,145 reviews
37.3 mi away
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
46.2 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.3 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
472 reviews
46.6 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
478 reviews
46.6 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Cristina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Cristina Lodge

Address: Av. Libertador 1037 | Parque Nacional Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range: $927 - $1,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia Cristina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Northwest shore of the Lake Argentino Lake on the far of Cristiana’s arm, Estancia Cristina is located in a unique corner in Los Glaciares National Park. Founded in 1941 by Joseph P. Masters and his wife, this stunning place still maintains its essence, keeping the history of this family alive, that with great effort and perseverance, made this lonely and inhospitable place a small paradise a home.Estancia Cristina is a unique Lodge; it count with 20 comfortable rooms distributed in 5 elegant cabins and exclusive access to the most stunning sights of the Upsala Glacier. An enchanting and warm place, that just like in the past grants the best Patagonian hospitality. The only access to the Estancia is by boat; the full board Lodge program offer exquisite Patagonian gastronomy, a museum and a variety of activities to enjoy of this wonderful region. There are many activity options for you to choose: Walks of different demands, 4x4 wheel drive rides, horse riding, mountain bike or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Estancia Cristina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Cristina Lodge El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing