We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
281
33
8
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
33
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfossil canyonupsala glacierday trippershorseback ridingboat rideovernight guestskm hikeincredible experienceawe inspiringdelicious lunchnational parklong hikegreat hikingonce in a lifetimehighlight of our tripspecial placeviews of the mountains
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 325 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This truely is a perfect Patagonian paradise. From the moment you arrive at the Estancia you know you are going to have an experience which will stay with you for the rest of your life. The organisation of each special day is impeccable, with a good variety of activities to choose from and the ability to design your bespoke experience with the lakes, glaciers, mountains and horses with enough time to relax afterwards before a fabulous dinner with or without new found friends.

thankfully this is an estancia with 5 star service and not a 5 star hotel - if you want a spa, room service and Michelin starred food then you may be disappointed however we didn't and we were more than happy with intelligent, passionate staff who shared their knowledge of this special place over 4 days of hiking, horseback riding and discovery. We are generally not proficient outdoors types, however this was not an issue, and each day was designed around our needs and ambitions.

We met great people in this magical place, each with a shared love of nature and not one person could fault any aspect of this experience. Whilst it may appear expensive, it is worth every penny and in fact the consensus at the end was how can they do it at such a reasonable
price.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar and all are excellent with amazing views.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKlondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Estancia Cristina has the fortune of being located in a truly special location - Los Glaciers National Park, with once in a lifetime terrain, vistas, habitat, and hikes. However, for the money I feel they could do more. The food was nearly the same each day. The facilities were a bit neglected. The website promises more activities than are actually offered.

Room Tip: all the rooms have phenomenal sites, however two of our rooms had broken windows
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Estancia Christina is well worth a visit of one or two nights... In particular the hike from Upsula Glaciar through fossil canyon is a very special experience offering magnificent vistas and geological history. The rooms have spectacular views of the mountains leading up to the glacier behind the lodge and the staff dedicated to leading hikes/horse rides and educating tourists about the history of the Estancia are top notch. That said the lodge itself is good but not great... rooms have limited hot water, food is good but not great. Go for the hiking and riding!... it is well worth it.

1  Thank Kit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

A difficult balance between overnighting guests and day trippers is generally well handled. We were visiting over Xmas, probably one of their busiest times. We were put on a second boat, a much slower ferry, no problem with that, but I understand the faster launch spent more time amongst the photogenic ice floes.
The many staff appear well trained and superficially friendly & helpful. Beneath it we (and some fellow guests) felt genuine care & attention lacking.
Room spacious with open view, huge, comfortable bed, well appointed bathroom, however the bath - especially welcoming after a horse ride - lacked a plug. It took 3 visits to reception to finally be able to pick one up...
Exterior cladding to the chalet which was rattling in the often brutal Patagonian wind was sorted by maintenance.
Good food, the evening meal was served in the less glamorous cafeteria for some reason (excess numbers I think). Seriously highly priced wines regrettably.
Where Christina wins is the utterly unique location, the only place by Upsala Glacier, the ice field, and three other tributary glaciers, that are all visible at the start of a four hour hike.
This winning point is the reason to do it all... at a price.

Thank gazinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Fantastic stay. Friendly atmosphère and very exclusive but simple welcome

Room Tip: Stay 2 nights
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews