We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote adventure and romance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estancia Cristina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 36 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We went to Estancia Cristina on our honeymoon and had the most amazing experience! From the moment we boarded the ship through our entire stay we were treated like royalty. We were given our own guides to help us plan activities and go on those activities with us. The guides were really knowledgeable about the topography, history and climatology of the area. The food was gourmet and the amenities top notch. We highly recommend this place as a way to experience the true essence of Patagonia!

Room Tip: If possible, go slightly off season. We went in late November and we were the only couple there one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravelingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 298 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

We spent three days and two nights at the Estancia and it was a wonderful experience that we would highly recommend to anyone looking for a true getaway! The Estancia is in a remote and beautiful valley which we explored hiking and horseback riding. Our guides were knowledgable, friendly and a lot of fun to spend the day with. The food was delicious and the steaks were the best we had in our two weeks in Argentina (the veal sandwich was also a hit).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A beautiful place. Be prepared for strong winds. Staff extremely helpful. Excellent hiking

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 324barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Wow! What a wonderful experience we had at Estancia Cristina. The weather was sublime as we cruised Lago Argentina past the beautiful floating icebergs. There were plenty of photo opportunities and divine staff were on hand to answer all of our questions.
We arrived at the Estancia and were greeted with happy smiling staff staff where we checked in, had a delicious lunch and then prepared for our first hike for the afternoon. My husband and I spent the afternoon, four hours, hiking with our guide Francisco to Serrano. We adored Francisco and his enthusiasm was infectious. Francisco's knowledge of the flora, fauna and all things Patagonian is amazing. We felt so blessed to be spending the afternoon with him. We became familiar with the landscape, got to know the local plants such as the Calafate bush and Notros (a divine flaming orange/red flower) and walked through the most enchanting Beech forrests. This day was the best of our holiday so far.
The evening consisted of a hot bath complemented with the softest, fluffiest towels - just gorgeous - then a delicious three course dinner in the dining room. The food was excellent and the Patagonian Malbec 'A Lisa' was amazing.
Next day we enjoyed a glorious breakfast, were given our lunch packs and then we were wisked off in four wheel drives to the top of the mountain to view Upsala Glacier. We then hiked down Fossil Valley for the next eight hours following Francisco's footsteps. This day quickly became our best day so far of the holiday. The views were breathtaking and seeing 65 million year old fossils where glaciers once used to be was so special. The landscape is ancient and so enchanting. It is a very special place and I would highly recommend anyone contemplating a visit, should do so as soon as possible.

We had the most wonderful time and felt so cared for and were made to feel very special.
The staff are amazing and wonderful people. A special thanks to Francisco, Maria-Luz, Mora, Lucas, Juan and everyone else that made our stay one that we will never forget.

Thank you Estancia Cristina. We will visit again one day soon.

Lisa

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaC852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Trip started badly when bad weather prevented us taking the boat to the Estancia. They arranged alternate accommodation which was excellent. Arrived at Estancia Cristina the next day after a great trip up passing the glaciers. Accommodation clean and well appointed. We did a horse riding trip which was fantastic with wonderful guide and marvellous views. Food was good but menu stays the same for many days which was a problem if you stayed more than a few days. Island altogether beautiful with opportunity to join in scheduled activity or just relax and enjoy the views!

Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our group of 10 spent 3 nights here and had a marvelous time. It was so hard to leave! The friendly and dedicated staff at the ranch--reached only by boat--spoiled us with their attentive service and ability to anticipate our every desire. They guided us on fabulous hikes and horseback rides (what wonderful horses we had) and taught us about their land, its culture, its flora and fauna. Every meal was a delight; loved dulce de leche in its many forms! Rain, sun, snow, fog (and we had a little bit of every season during our stay)... this is an exquisite place and an exceptional lodge. Every experience we had here was memorable.

1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This stay was to be one of the highlights of our Patagonian adventure. At 8pm on the night before we were to stay there, we get a call saying that it was too windy so their boats could not take us to their estancia. They said we could either find another place to stay or they could arrange another place. Having less than 24 hrs notice, we said they could arrange it. So, we were sent to another (much less expensive) place for the night along with several other guests and told they would pick us up and take us to their property for excursions the next day. Disappointing, but something we could handle....can't control the weather. When we arrived at Estancia Cristina the next day, my husband and I were told we couldn't do any of the excursions that we had requested and weren't allowed in the areas designated for overnight guests. What did I pay $1200+ for? Some of the overnight guests were told they would get a refund while we were told we would not receive one. When I challenged them on it, they told us that "of course" we would receive a refund. I'm still waiting on that refund and still waiting on the return of at least one of my emails....three months later. I feel cheated.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank mebknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
45.9 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,196 reviews
46.2 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,202 reviews
37.3 mi away
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
890 reviews
46.3 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
489 reviews
46.6 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#18 of 70 in El Calafate
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Cristina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Cristina Lodge

Address: Av. Libertador 1037 | Parque Nacional Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range: $1,019 - $1,479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia Cristina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Northwest shore of the Lake Argentino Lake on the far of Cristiana’s arm, Estancia Cristina is located in a unique corner in Los Glaciares National Park. Founded in 1941 by Joseph P. Masters and his wife, this stunning place still maintains its essence, keeping the history of this family alive, that with great effort and perseverance, made this lonely and inhospitable place a small paradise a home.Estancia Cristina is a unique Lodge; it count with 20 comfortable rooms distributed in 5 elegant cabins and exclusive access to the most stunning sights of the Upsala Glacier. An enchanting and warm place, that just like in the past grants the best Patagonian hospitality. The only access to the Estancia is by boat; the full board Lodge program offer exquisite Patagonian gastronomy, a museum and a variety of activities to enjoy of this wonderful region. There are many activity options for you to choose: Walks of different demands, 4x4 wheel drive rides, horse riding, mountain bike or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Estancia Cristina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Cristina Lodge El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing