We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
281
33
8
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
33
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfossil canyonupsala glacierday trippershorseback ridingboat rideovernight guestskm hikeincredible experienceawe inspiringdelicious lunchnational parklong hikegreat hikingonce in a lifetimehighlight of our tripspecial placeviews of the mountains
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 325 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Trip started badly when bad weather prevented us taking the boat to the Estancia. They arranged alternate accommodation which was excellent. Arrived at Estancia Cristina the next day after a great trip up passing the glaciers. Accommodation clean and well appointed. We did a horse riding trip which was fantastic with wonderful guide and marvellous views. Food was good but menu stays the same for many days which was a problem if you stayed more than a few days. Island altogether beautiful with opportunity to join in scheduled activity or just relax and enjoy the views!

Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our group of 10 spent 3 nights here and had a marvelous time. It was so hard to leave! The friendly and dedicated staff at the ranch--reached only by boat--spoiled us with their attentive service and ability to anticipate our every desire. They guided us on fabulous hikes and horseback rides (what wonderful horses we had) and taught us about their land, its culture, its flora and fauna. Every meal was a delight; loved dulce de leche in its many forms! Rain, sun, snow, fog (and we had a little bit of every season during our stay)... this is an exquisite place and an exceptional lodge. Every experience we had here was memorable.

1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This stay was to be one of the highlights of our Patagonian adventure. At 8pm on the night before we were to stay there, we get a call saying that it was too windy so their boats could not take us to their estancia. They said we could either find another place to stay or they could arrange another place. Having less than 24 hrs notice, we said they could arrange it. So, we were sent to another (much less expensive) place for the night along with several other guests and told they would pick us up and take us to their property for excursions the next day. Disappointing, but something we could handle....can't control the weather. When we arrived at Estancia Cristina the next day, my husband and I were told we couldn't do any of the excursions that we had requested and weren't allowed in the areas designated for overnight guests. What did I pay $1200+ for? Some of the overnight guests were told they would get a refund while we were told we would not receive one. When I challenged them on it, they told us that "of course" we would receive a refund. I'm still waiting on that refund and still waiting on the return of at least one of my emails....three months later. I feel cheated.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank mebknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Our experience appears to have paralleled the couple that wrote the December 10, 2010 review for their November stay. However, we feel we got less value when balanced against the very high cost. Hence, the lower rating.

There is no question that Estancia Cristina's isolated location is stunning and the prime attraction. Excursions are generally quite good, with knowledgeable and friendly guides. However, generator switch off at 1100pm, limited dining options--lunch & dinner menus have limited options, especially for vegetarians, and repeat themselves, and nexperienced though willing staff do not justify the 5-star plus cost. Rates are, frankly, exorbitant for what you get, and value provided does not approach other similar experiences. Wine is not even included. To be fair, management reimbursed us about 8% of cost after complaining, expecially about the meals and meal service. Traveling to/from the Estancia and the day excursions are, on the other hand, an outstanding experience well worth the price. Do that and skip the overnight(s).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcwolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We spent 4 nights and truly hated to leave. Very different contryside in every direction. Extraordinarily engaging staff. Committed to what they do and committed to sharing their experiences with others. Because we stayed longer than most , we were able to do a real variety of hikes. Comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSRME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews