We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely disappointing, don't waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estancia Cristina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 36 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This stay was to be one of the highlights of our Patagonian adventure. At 8pm on the night before we were to stay there, we get a call saying that it was too windy so their boats could not take us to their estancia. They said we could either find another place to stay or they could arrange another place. Having less than 24 hrs notice, we said they could arrange it. So, we were sent to another (much less expensive) place for the night along with several other guests and told they would pick us up and take us to their property for excursions the next day. Disappointing, but something we could handle....can't control the weather. When we arrived at Estancia Cristina the next day, my husband and I were told we couldn't do any of the excursions that we had requested and weren't allowed in the areas designated for overnight guests. What did I pay $1200+ for? Some of the overnight guests were told they would get a refund while we were told we would not receive one. When I challenged them on it, they told us that "of course" we would receive a refund. I'm still waiting on that refund and still waiting on the return of at least one of my emails....three months later. I feel cheated.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank mebknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 296 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

Our experience appears to have paralleled the couple that wrote the December 10, 2010 review for their November stay. However, we feel we got less value when balanced against the very high cost. Hence, the lower rating.

There is no question that Estancia Cristina's isolated location is stunning and the prime attraction. Excursions are generally quite good, with knowledgeable and friendly guides. However, generator switch off at 1100pm, limited dining options--lunch & dinner menus have limited options, especially for vegetarians, and repeat themselves, and nexperienced though willing staff do not justify the 5-star plus cost. Rates are, frankly, exorbitant for what you get, and value provided does not approach other similar experiences. Wine is not even included. To be fair, management reimbursed us about 8% of cost after complaining, expecially about the meals and meal service. Traveling to/from the Estancia and the day excursions are, on the other hand, an outstanding experience well worth the price. Do that and skip the overnight(s).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcwolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We spent 4 nights and truly hated to leave. Very different contryside in every direction. Extraordinarily engaging staff. Committed to what they do and committed to sharing their experiences with others. Because we stayed longer than most , we were able to do a real variety of hikes. Comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSRME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

To reach the Estancia requires an hour-long ride on its own boat. If you are staying at the ranch, as opposed to day-tripping, you get top-deck treatment. The accommodations are in four-plex casitas, which are beautifully decorated and comfortable. The food at the central octagon restaurant is excellent, as are the wine choices. But what sets the place completely apart is the staff, who literally will give you the shirts off their backs. The long trek, which starts with a 4x4 ride to a ridge overlooking the Upsala Glacier, and winds its way back down through geologic history with Jose as your guide, ranks as one of the best day hikes on earth.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orcas_Island_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Estancia Cristina! We arrived after an interesting boat trip, which took us past ice bergs across Lago Argentina. The staff were very friendly and we received professional, individual service, which is not easy to find anymore. The rooms were lovely with panorama views of the mountains and horses grazing in the fields. They offer a range of activities: we went for a hike and then horse-riding the first day and the second day we joined the day tourists for a trip up the mountain in the 4x4 and then hiked down past the glacier. The views were outstanding. Staying at Estancia Cristina was certainly the highlight of our trip to Argentina. And we look forward to returning again soon!

Thank Engl_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

First you think - this is a lot of money for staying on an estancia. But when you leave your think it was really worth it:

- personal service at its best (eat when you want, what you want, where you want)
- very warm atmosphere, more a friend than a guest
- incredible tours - with personal guides, and I mean personal - you and the guide

After really having traveled around the world I would rate Estancia among the top 3 hotels to stay - and most likely it would not come up No. 3. It is a Must Go and Must Stay if you are in Patagonia. Rather save a little longer :-)

Thank ssl334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This is an incredible place accessible only by boat, and surrounded by mountains, a lake and a glacier. The highlight of the trip is the 4 hour walk down from the glacier (you get there with a 4x4 - 45 min drive) where you walk through terrain that it was covered by the glacier only 70 years ago. It is impossible to describe how unique this estancia and location is. The hotel is very nice and comfortable, and the food is excellent. I would not recommend staying more than 2 nights though (it is actually 3 full days) because the menu is the same every single day (with 3-4 options) and you are only allowed to take long hikes with guides because it is a very protected park. When we first arrived there I thought that this restriction was not good, but after I got to know the history of the place and see the incredible location, I fully understand and support the idea of limiting access to the visitors. There are day visitors also but they are kept away from the lodging visitors. I would certainly recommend spending at least one night there, optimally 2 but certainly no more than 3.

2  Thank Athina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
45.9 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,183 reviews
37.3 mi away
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
46.2 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.6 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,342 reviews
44.7 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
884 reviews
47.5 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Cristina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Cristina Lodge

Address: Av. Libertador 1037 | Parque Nacional Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range: $1,159 - $1,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia Cristina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Northwest shore of the Lake Argentino Lake on the far of Cristiana’s arm, Estancia Cristina is located in a unique corner in Los Glaciares National Park. Founded in 1941 by Joseph P. Masters and his wife, this stunning place still maintains its essence, keeping the history of this family alive, that with great effort and perseverance, made this lonely and inhospitable place a small paradise a home.Estancia Cristina is a unique Lodge; it count with 20 comfortable rooms distributed in 5 elegant cabins and exclusive access to the most stunning sights of the Upsala Glacier. An enchanting and warm place, that just like in the past grants the best Patagonian hospitality. The only access to the Estancia is by boat; the full board Lodge program offer exquisite Patagonian gastronomy, a museum and a variety of activities to enjoy of this wonderful region. There are many activity options for you to choose: Walks of different demands, 4x4 wheel drive rides, horse riding, mountain bike or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Estancia Cristina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Cristina Lodge El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing