We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, easily the best place in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteria La Estepa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria La Estepa
Ranked #4 of 38 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic, easily the best place in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having looked at lots of hotels in Calafate online and all the reviews I'd come to the conclusion that they were much of a muchness so booked this one as it was a bit out of town and closer to the national park. We were so surprised at how much we loved this place as we were prepared for it to be quite functional - the lady who runs it (Augustina I think?) is just so lovely and warm and friendly and really made the stay. She also booked our return bus to El Chalten for us which was just so helpful.

The views from all the huge windows are incredible and watching the sunset from the comfortable upstairs lounge with a beer in hand is a great reward for a hard day's glacier trekking! We didn't bother going into Calafate for anything as the meals at the hotel are lovely, they have a great wine list, they prepared lovely lunches for us and the quiet setting of the hotel is so much nicer than the town. I can't recommend this place highly enough - it really stands out above the rather lacklustre offerings of El Calafate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    58
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
165
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had such a great 5 day stay here.
The staff are amazing and you really do feel sad when you leave. The food is delicious - we had breakfast everyday (included) and dinner several times. The best part is sipping dry white wine while looking at the lake and watching the sun go down.
We chose it because its out of town - was easy and quick to catch a cab. I liked the silence at night and the feeling of been out in the country.
We organised all our tours through the front desk - they were always cheerful and informative.

We'd stay here again -in fact wouldn’t even consider looking at any other place in El Calafate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the lake - both the downstairs and upstairs have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouchLightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

A lovely hosteria with an excellent service. The place makes you fell at home. Its a little bit from downtown, so you will spend around $50 pesos argentinos to get to downtown. Has a great view to the lake.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Hosteria La Estepa. It's a lovely, warm, welcoming hotel 3 or 4 km outside of El Calafate proper. It is perched on a hill overlooking Lago Argentino. While relatively large (compared to other hotels in the area), it has managed to preserve a sense of warmth and friendliness that is very pleasant. Large windows allow the afternoon sun to warm the hotel interior. Rooms are modestly sized but well positioned to maximize the views.

What really differentiates this hotel from other places is the staff. Everyone from top to bottom was overwhelmingly friendly and helpful. Need to figure out what time your bus to Perito Moreno is going to leave but don't recall the name of the company? No problem. They'll work their way down the list of local bus companies until they find yours. Big group hitting breakfast all at the same time? Guess what...the manager remembered you from the day before and reserved a table for you without being asked! Need to get some laundry done? We have someone heading into town for supplies and they'll be happy to drop off/pick up at a lavaderia in town. It is difficult for me to overstate how incredible the experience with the staff was.

Do yourself a favor. Stay here.

Room Tip: Request a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff is just outstanding. We arrived late without any reservation for a boat trip next morning, but the staff just solved this magically. I still don't understand how they made it all work. The hotel is also very well located with a stunning view of the lake. We felt at home at this place and it was sad to leave.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hosterialaestepa, Propietario at Hosteria La Estepa, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Google Translation
Ketling & Familia!

Que bueno haberlos tenido en La Estepa, pero mas lindo que se hayan sentido como en casa! Esa en nuestra intensión!

Fue un placer ayudarlos con las excursiones y hacer todo posible para que la estadía sea OUTSTANDING!!!!

Regards to you all!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights in house over Christmas. The house has spectacular unobstructed views of lago Argentina, but what makes it so special is the service. We receive great advice and assistance from the hosts and the rest of the staff. We also had our Christmas dinner there, which was a very nice meal and the evening had a very personal touch.

If you are willing to put up with the 5km walk to town, which is along the lake, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ckvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hosterialaestepa, Propietario at Hosteria La Estepa, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Monique & Cornelio.

Thanks for the lovely comment! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure having you at La Estepa and even more for the special Christmas Dinner!!!! Hope you received the photos I sent you by mail, you looked so nice with our tree!!!

You have nothing to thanks for, I could not help you so much, you got all planed!!!

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip! Kisses from all the stafF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent three nights in the Hosteria La Estepa and really enjoyed it! The hotel is a bit outside the city but that was actually the best part because it offers great views on the lake from most of the rooms being still at less than 5 min driving from El Calafate. Augustina, the tenant was really friendly and helped us to choose and book very good excursions and recommended also good places to eat. They offer laundry services, and even though we didn't get the chance to try their food for dinner, breakfast was very good with home made bakeries!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poumbita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.3 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.4 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#23 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria La Estepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria La Estepa

Property: Hosteria La Estepa
Address: Av. Libertador 5310, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria La Estepa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hosteria is a 1700 square meter site, a replica of the typical Patagonian homes built in the early XX century. The Restaurant, bar lounge and the living room have a view to the Argentino Lake. La Estepa offers 16 Premium suites with a lake view and 8 Superior suites with a view to the Patagonian steppe. All of them are 27 square meters (290 square feet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria La Estepa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria La Estepa El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing