We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and staff, but not the most convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hostel was comfortable and clean, I slept great in my bed and my stuff could go into lockers. The dining room is plenty big enough and breakfast was good. A lot of excursions will come pick you up at the door of your hotel, but Nakel Yenu was on the other side of the bridge from the main street, so bringing groceries back for dinner was a good 10-15 minute walk. So overall a good experience, but if you're not in town for very long or are particularly lazy, watch out for the long walk from the bus station with your suitcase / backpack.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedman121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 160 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

Although not right in the centre of town, this hostel is full of the nicest and most helpful staff you could ask for. As soon as we booked they contacted us and asked if they could help with anything else on our stay in El Calafate, of which they then booked our Big Ice tour on Perito Merino Glacier without a problem. Can't recommend this place enough

Room Tip: If they offer the BBQ, do not say no!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in a double room for 4 nights. The place is not far from El Calafates "Center" but in a rather quiet district which we liked a lot. Staff is extremely nice and very helpful. Plus they also speak english - which we found is not standard in Patagonia. Rooms are clean and well maintained. The Kitchen is in a separate building next door and equiped with everything you need for cooking which I would recommend since El Calafate is not the cheapest place.
Overall a great experience, definitely good value for money. Recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at Nakel Yen for nine nights, I had planned to go to Chile but was able to do the trips I wanted from this hostel which gave me spare time in El Calafate. The staff of the hostel are friendly and very helpful, the cleaner is superb. The hostel is clean, the showers have hot water, sometimes the toilet paper ran out due to a large party arriving at once. Whilst I was there the weather was lovely and sitting on the vehranda was a pleasant way to wile away the time. I would definealtely stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Was here 5-Mar to 12-Mar-2012 and we love, love, LOVED our stay with Nakel Yenu!!! Everything from the accommodations to the staff were excellent! Our introduction to Patagonia started here and ended with us falling in love with the people and town of El Calafate. Definitely recommend Nakel Yenu to all travellers!

Jared & Tanya Koller

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMKoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The ambiance is very relaxed and the staff is helpful. The room could have been vacuumed somewhat more thorough but it was not really dirty. There is a kitchen where you can cook your own food and a grill as well. The breakfast is decent.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Good service, reception desk peoples are friendly and helpful espically Veronica and Nacho. Bad points are the heating system which was switching on even during summer. The bathrooms needs some plumbing work. You cannot sleep well with leaking tap.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cédric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Hainen
Hosteria Hainen
#32 of 70 in El Calafate
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#1 of 72 in El Calafate
974 reviews
0.9 mi away
I Keu Ken Hostel
I Keu Ken Hostel
#6 of 72 in El Calafate
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bla! Guesthouse
Bla! Guesthouse
#3 of 72 in El Calafate
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calafate Hostel
Calafate Hostel
#5 of 72 in El Calafate
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glaciar Perito Moreno Hostel
Glaciar Perito Moreno Hostel
#7 of 72 in El Calafate
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen

Address: Pto. San Julian 244, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 Specialty Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range: $19 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Patagonica Nakel Yen El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing