We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 9750 kms from Sydney”
Review of Las Cabanitas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Cabanitas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Five of us stayed 3 nights at Las Cabanitas and had a great time. Rooms were clean, wifi worked (close to the office only), breakfast is included, and dinner is available by request. We requested trout one night and were not disappointed. Met other travellers from UK and France. Geraldo speaks English and French as well as his native spanish, and was a great, energetic host. The side yard makes a lovely beer garden amongst the lavender and rosemary. There is a sign post in the side yard, which was missing any distances to Australia, so we added the Sydney sign, so now Geraldo will no doubt be swamped by more Aussies.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulpower2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Las Cabanitas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 215 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

I cycled from Puerto Natales and was pretty tired, they immediately fed me from their own dinner and they felt like one of the guests. Hostels are made by the people in them and they made it for me. Sll the usual requirements were catered for ie hot showers and fast reliable wifi Not really a dormitory hostel but the rooms are reasonable

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upyaboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights, 4 in a unique little pointy house that was lovely and warm in the winter, and 1 night in a dorm room that was just as good. It's very central and 10 mins walk to anywhere you'd want to go in the town centre. Breakfast was lovely and Gerardo was really helpful in helping us plan our day trips. Showers took a bit of coaxing to work but it wasn't a big issue. 5 mins from the bus station and supermarkets / bars close by. Bus to Glaciarium is 2 blocks away. Great value and would happily stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBonnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have been here for 3 nights. Gerardo and his family were very nice and helpfull. They made our stay very pleasant. The first night Gerardo waited till 01.30am as our buss arrived late.
Also they took care of recommending and arranging tours in El Calafate.

We stayed in one of the cozy cabbins. There isn't much space, a (small) double bed on the 2nd floor and a single on the first. It takes some time to get a warm shower, but do not expect any luxury when staying here. The cabbins have charm! Breakfest is ok.

Wifi is available in the public living room and they have (cheap) laundry service. A kitchenette is available for use. For a small price you can join dinner.

We can recommend this place for your stay. Everyone was very helpfull and you felt very welcome.
The location is nearby the centre and bus terminal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having read reviews, the cabin did not disappoint! After getting the heating going, it was a lovely place to stay and so much fun. The breakfast was simple but fine, and we can also recommend the lunch box and dinners. Everyone there was very friendly and helpful when needed. It was cleaned daily, which was a nice surprise. The only downside was the shower, which took ages to get going and wasn't very powerful. Don't go expecting a plush ski chalet, you get what you pay for. Made El Calafate a very homely place for a few days!

Room Tip: I emailed in a reservation rather than go through a booking site, to ensure we got a cabin and not j...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were in Las Cabanitas for 5 days. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hostel is located near the bus station in the city center. Gerardo and his father Edoardo are always available to satisfy every desire.
Every evening Gerardo proposes a specialty at very affordable prices with excellent results. Must try the trout with herbs!
Gerardo is also a lover of adventure and can advise you on all excursions.

Las Cabanitas is the best place where to stay in El Calafate and has remained in our hearts

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anpata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 5 days in Las Cabanitas and it was like staying at home.
Gerardo and his family were welcoming from the start and made us feel at home.
The hostel is clean and well located and has a beautiful garden full of lavender.
We also had dinner two times piacare of the hostel and Gerard found an excellent cook.
Really recommend it to all Las Cabanitas

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brasil19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
478 reviews
1.4 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cabanitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanitas

Address: Calle Teniente Valentin Feilberg 218, El Calafate Z9405CYD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 69 Specialty Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range: $58 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just two corners away from the centre in a very quiet part of the village. We have five lovely and warm independent cottages (alpine style), two comfortable apartments and two rooms., all of this makes an ideal, intimate and relaxing place, with a nice garden of plants and flowers. The service to owers guest in "Las Cabañitas" is made by our family in a personal, freandly and very discrete way, wich makes your stay in El Calafate very plasant. The price included: Breakfast buffet (milck, coffe, juice, croissants, mermelades, butter, cereals). Cleaning service, bed linen, free internet and WI-FI acess.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Las Cabanitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanitas El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing