We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tablita

La Tablita
Ranked #20 of 119 Restaurants in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The food and atmosphere are the highlights. It was my favorite restaurant throughout the trip. I had the lamb and it was delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrea782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,202
    950
    433
    126
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thermopolis, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had a superb argentine steak dinner. It would have cost at least 3-4 times as much in the states but only for about $25 US. They cook their steaks thick--2-2 1.2 inches, and more rare than in the states. A medium steak is more like a rare in the US. But still, it was a wonderful dinner, and excellent wine.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peter had a lotta lamb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Ate here twice during our three night stay in El Calafate. Enjoyed excellent service in a crowded and lively dining environment. If you don't like lamb, you might consider other options but we had two very enjoyable and filling meals here. Upon entering you will pass the huge grilling area piled high with lamb and other meats. We were impressed that by eight pm, early for Argentina, the restaurant was packed and the enthusiasm of the waitstaff, combined with the conversations taking place at the various tables enhanced our enjoyment of our meal. The lamb came with a variety of tasty sides including sautéed greens and a variety of potato dishes. Lastly, when our waitress learned that one of us was having a birthday the day we visited, we were serenaded by the entire waitstaff and brought a tiramisu which comfortably served the four of us. There's not a whole lot doing during the evenings in El Calafate, so having a memorable dinner is a great way to end the day there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter9234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“AVERAGE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very busy restaurant without enough staff to cater for all the clientele. Having said that - once we secured the attention of a waitress all was good. The lamb platter was excellent - share one between two!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MairGravatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not worth the walk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had several good meals in El Calafate, but not here. Hard to understand why this was recommended. Even the famed Patagonian lamb was poorly executed. A salmon dish was almost inedibly salty and dry. The restaurant is attractive, and easily reached just off the main street of the town, but it's not worth even the few extra steps for the poor quality. Lots of better choices in El Calafate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LXR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tablita also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to La Tablita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing