We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay at for budget price!”
Review of I Keu Ken Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
I Keu Ken Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay at for budget price!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After having arrived from Ushuaia and what I considered a nice hostel, I had a "moment" when I saw my room. There was no ladder to climb to the top bed - well, I wanted to leave there and then (have no idea what got into me). Ignacio was wonderful. He changed me so that I could use the bottom bed - talk about patient. Please know that I am only referring to one dorm - I have no idea what the others looked like.

Ignacio helped me with a "cabalgata", which turned out to awesome.

Breakfast is simple - bread, coffee, tea, hot chocolate - let's not forget the butter and jam. It is not bad. Fills you up.

Bathrooms are sort of small, I think, but they do their job. There is plenty of hot water.

I did not use the kitchen facilities.

We had a December 25th dinner and it was fab!

I liked this hostel and will definitely stay here again -very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    68
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
82
69
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The staff at the hostel is outstanding. They are friendly, always with a smile, and they are very helpful and knowledgeable. The place in itself isn't super central, but it's only a 10 minute walk to town. The private rooms are nice and come with a kitchen. The wifi is great, and the place has a good overall atmosphere. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBaetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great place to stay, supermarket right next door, 10 minutes walk to the center, staff was very helpful with organizing trips to glaciers, horseback riding and transfers, the assado was very delicious and cheap and the view from the hostel is just breathtaking! Rooms were a bit small but very clean!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solotraveler-f-33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
239 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Nearly on top of El Calafate with an amazing view. Excellent and very friendly, helpful stuff. Bedrooms are clean and the bathroom too. The kitchen could be a bit re- equiped.
The breakfast was good and sufficient. The price in a 4 Dorms a 110arg$ fair.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My hostel in El Chalten (a lovely place with the most limited internet access and phone lines that don't really work) helped me book a room at I Keu Ken just before I boarded the bus to El Calafate. They told me that they knew the owners and that it would be a great place to stay at. 4 hours later (by 10.30pm) I got into El Calafate and walked to the hostel. The receptionist told me there were full and that she had to give away my bed because I didn't send a confirmation email. When I told her that my hostel called her and that I was on the bus so I couldn't send her any email, she became very aggressive and told me that people who call don't show up but that people that send emails do. I was basically left without a room because of technological disagreement. She eventually helped me found a room in another hostel with much lower standarts that will be very uncomfortable for the next two nights! In three months of travelling, I have never seen anything like this in a hostel. What a disappointment!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, a pity they are in El Calafate, where there's not much to do apart from visit the Perito Moreno. The place is kept very well, clean, with very good breakfast and nice music.Staff is extremely friendly and helpful,  with great choice of activities to do. As said, unfortunately most of them are not in El Calafate(a very turistic town offering not much apart from turistic expensive shops), which makes anything quite expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intertrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The strength of this place is the helpfulness and guidance of the staff. They´re great. Other than that, a stock standard hostel with a great view. If you want something smack bang in the centre, this is not it. It´s a little walk up the hill, but the views are pretty bloody amazing as all the reviews say. It has a relaxed vibe. I had ´the honeymoon suite´, which was really good. The supermarket up the road is massive and brilliant for stocking up before you launch off to El Chalten (a must must!!!). The breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0seph0d0n0ghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.0 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#18 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.9 mi away
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#2 of 68 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bla! Guesthouse
Bla! Guesthouse
#3 of 68 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel del Glaciar Libertador
Hostel del Glaciar Libertador
#8 of 68 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
#3 of 34 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Keu Ken Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Keu Ken Hostel

Property: I Keu Ken Hostel
Address: F. M. Pontoriero 171, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Specialty Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — I Keu Ken Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your I Keu Ken Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Keu Ken Hostel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing