We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Homely cottage hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I Keu Ken Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
I Keu Ken Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely cottage hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I Keu Ken is a beautiful, friendly hostel about 5-10mins walk from the main drag and bus terminal. It is well worth the walk though. Nice new cottage feel, good beds and decent, clean bathrooms. The staff are lovely and are very helpful, they also speak fantastic English. Lali went above and beyond to help me out with getting around town and my travel plans. To top off a great stay the fridge was stocked with local craft beer varieties and breakfast was impressive consisting of freshly baked rolls and delicious condiments. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshdub89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    59
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
64
55
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great hostel! Super friendly and helpful staff. There are large lockers for each person in the rooms and pretty good wi-fi. The breakfast is included but is basic (bread and butter, jam, dulce de leche with tea/coffee and juice). There's a nice sitting area downstairs and a very friendly atmosphere.

They offer an asado (BBQ) once a week or so - and if you're there (and a meat eater) it's a fun time & excellent value with perfectly cooked sausage, beef, lamb, chicken and all the red wine & beer you can drink.

My only complaint is that it's a bit of a hike up the hill from the bus station (and town) on a dusty unpaved road. It's not THAT far but a bit annoying when you're legs are tired and sore from hiking. Regardless, I still stayed there a second time after going off to Chalten

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely homely atmosphere and a great breakfast. It's a bit of a trek from the bus ration compared to other places, but I think it's worth it. The dorm I was in felt a bit cramped, but the common areas are good and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Location: hmm, longer than other hostels to bus terminal and centre, but really close to huge supermarket and on top of a hill, so nice place to relax.
Staff: great, helpful, lovely.
Breakfast: simple but ok!
Rooms + bathroom: fine, it has lockers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I really liked the atmosphere at this hostal.
They are professional since ofcourse they still have a business to run and they take the time to explain you everything.
They sit on the table and explain the town and the tours you can do.
They do this hundreds of time a year but they still did it with interest and enthusiasme.

What i noticed in all the hostals i visited..they keep it clean. The place can look a bit old but still you can smell the cleaningstuf everywhere. This counts also for i keu ken.

The only negative thing i have to say is abouty the beds. The matras is oke but when your bunk 'friend' decides to turns around the beds make alot of noise.

In total i stayed here five nights

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! It's located on a hill near a big supermarket and views over the lake are beautiful. The kitchen is well kept, breakfast was great and the living area is inviting and social. Everything is kept really clean and staff were friendly and helpful.
We were there over New Years and the staff put on a great dinner with wine included and made a big effort to make sure we had enough to eat and drink and were having a great night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmeytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. It is up a big hill from the main high street (5 blocks up) and 4 blocks uphill from the bus station, but being up there does give it a great view of the lake.

We were in a 4-bed dorm, and it was nice and quiet. The shared bathroom was fairly clean and was big enough for the number of people staying in the hostel.

Breakfast wasn´t amazing, but I suppose it was fairly standard. We did cook in the kitchen a couple of times, which was fine although it´s a bit too small for the number of people who want to use it and some people had to wait a couple of hours before there was space to cook. There´s a good supermarket just around the corner from the hostel.

The terrace is a nice place to sit and the lounge is nice too, but don´t leave your stuff lying around there (or in any hostel) as someone´s jacket went missing while we were there.

The staff were really friendly and helped us to book trips to the glacier and to El Chalten.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplendor El Calafate
Esplendor El Calafate
#15 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Keu Ken Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Keu Ken Hostel

Property: I Keu Ken Hostel
Address: F. M. Pontoriero 171, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 59 Specialty Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — I Keu Ken Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your I Keu Ken Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Keu Ken Hostel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing