We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel”
Review of I Keu Ken Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
I Keu Ken Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great hostel! Super friendly and helpful staff. There are large lockers for each person in the rooms and pretty good wi-fi. The breakfast is included but is basic (bread and butter, jam, dulce de leche with tea/coffee and juice). There's a nice sitting area downstairs and a very friendly atmosphere.

They offer an asado (BBQ) once a week or so - and if you're there (and a meat eater) it's a fun time & excellent value with perfectly cooked sausage, beef, lamb, chicken and all the red wine & beer you can drink.

My only complaint is that it's a bit of a hike up the hill from the bus station (and town) on a dusty unpaved road. It's not THAT far but a bit annoying when you're legs are tired and sore from hiking. Regardless, I still stayed there a second time after going off to Chalten

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    68
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
82
69
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely homely atmosphere and a great breakfast. It's a bit of a trek from the bus ration compared to other places, but I think it's worth it. The dorm I was in felt a bit cramped, but the common areas are good and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Location: hmm, longer than other hostels to bus terminal and centre, but really close to huge supermarket and on top of a hill, so nice place to relax.
Staff: great, helpful, lovely.
Breakfast: simple but ok!
Rooms + bathroom: fine, it has lockers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I really liked the atmosphere at this hostal.
They are professional since ofcourse they still have a business to run and they take the time to explain you everything.
They sit on the table and explain the town and the tours you can do.
They do this hundreds of time a year but they still did it with interest and enthusiasme.

What i noticed in all the hostals i visited..they keep it clean. The place can look a bit old but still you can smell the cleaningstuf everywhere. This counts also for i keu ken.

The only negative thing i have to say is abouty the beds. The matras is oke but when your bunk 'friend' decides to turns around the beds make alot of noise.

In total i stayed here five nights

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! It's located on a hill near a big supermarket and views over the lake are beautiful. The kitchen is well kept, breakfast was great and the living area is inviting and social. Everything is kept really clean and staff were friendly and helpful.
We were there over New Years and the staff put on a great dinner with wine included and made a big effort to make sure we had enough to eat and drink and were having a great night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmeytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. It is up a big hill from the main high street (5 blocks up) and 4 blocks uphill from the bus station, but being up there does give it a great view of the lake.

We were in a 4-bed dorm, and it was nice and quiet. The shared bathroom was fairly clean and was big enough for the number of people staying in the hostel.

Breakfast wasn´t amazing, but I suppose it was fairly standard. We did cook in the kitchen a couple of times, which was fine although it´s a bit too small for the number of people who want to use it and some people had to wait a couple of hours before there was space to cook. There´s a good supermarket just around the corner from the hostel.

The terrace is a nice place to sit and the lounge is nice too, but don´t leave your stuff lying around there (or in any hostel) as someone´s jacket went missing while we were there.

The staff were really friendly and helped us to book trips to the glacier and to El Chalten.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This was the friendliest hostel I stayed at in Argentina. The staff were so nice, and so helpful and efficient. Ask them about anything and they'll give you all the information you need and have it booked for you in an instant. The hostel had a really homely vibe. We came back for a second visit and it felt like coming back to home away from home. It's about a five minute walk from the bus stop, yes it's up a hill but it didn't bother me at all. It means you get a nice view. They also do great asado nights. I definitely recommend it. The only negative was that the showers are a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseViajando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.0 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.9 mi away
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#2 of 68 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bla! Guesthouse
Bla! Guesthouse
#3 of 68 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel del Glaciar Libertador
Hostel del Glaciar Libertador
#8 of 68 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
#2 of 34 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Keu Ken Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Keu Ken Hostel

Property: I Keu Ken Hostel
Address: F. M. Pontoriero 171, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Specialty Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — I Keu Ken Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your I Keu Ken Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Keu Ken Hostel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing