We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Stay in El Calafate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Alto Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria Alto Verde
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay in El Calafate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in El Calafate on our way to Torres del Paine. We happened to be the only guests for our two nights and were treated with kindness from our arrival to departure. The owners were not in town but Lilian helped us to arrange transportation, book activities and make dinner reservations. The rooms are well appointed, clean and quiet. Breakfast was continental and delicious. We were just a few minute walk from the main street and anything else we needed. We recommend this lodging to anyone looking for a small, affordable, friendly, convenient and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COnative t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    49
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
90
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were group of 4 friends and we stayed in apartment type of room in hosteria. Great, safe location of hosteria- about 7 min walk to town center where all restaurants and tour agencies located. Hosteria provided great breakfast to your rooms every morning since we stayed at appartment and had our own kitchen. Rooms were very clean and modern. Owner and his wife were awesome and super helpful with info that we needed.. Awesome stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! They were helpful in booking transportation from the airport via email, and very helpful in offering restaurant recommendations and making reservations. Analia went out of her way to help us book a rental car in a very short period of time.
The room was clean and very spacious. As others have mentioned, it is a 10-15 minute walk to downtown, but well worth it, and it's in a quiet neighborhood. The breakfast was basic, but very well done and quick so that we were always off to our activities on time.
The family went out of their way to make our stay go smoothly, we would highly recommend this hotel, and hope to stay again some day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rochjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Adorable hostel with very comfortable rooms. The couple who runs the hostel was very helpful and helped us arrange transportation and activities. They are lovely people. The location was great-just a 10 minute walk from the center. The accommodations were clean, spacious, and charming. Breakfast is the only meal offered and quite light (medialunas, coffee, and break) but satisfying nonetheless. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were delighted with our stay and welcome at the Alto Verde Hosteria which made our stay in El Calefate a definite highlight of our trip in Argentina. The couple who manage the hosteria were incredibly helpful and friendly and really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. All the recommendations they gave us for excursions around the glacier park and beyond were spot on.

The rooms were clean and spatious and the little garden around the hosteria very cute. The huge plus was that we discovered a delicious and reasonably priced Italian take away / restaurant just round the corner and, as El Calefate is quite expensive, it meant we could eat delicious food in our flat/room. Breakfast is good and it's four blocks from town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Like most reviewers have stated, the service is amazing - Analia and Adrian were always very helpful when we asked any questions about tours, restaurants, etc.

Breakfast was good (and could be had for many hours in the morning) and brought out to you when you came downstairs - included ham/cheese, mini bagels, croissants, tea/coffee, and juice.

Stayed in the apartment (3 people - $120/night) and was able to cook some noodles one night and eat carry out. Loved the blackout blinds. The bedding was something to be desired though - after sleeping in a previous hotel with fluffy pillows and down comforters, this felt very simple, but sufficient.

Very close to Laguna Nimez, which is gorgeous (pack your binoculars). Hours are until 7 or 8 (35 pesos), but you can come in after that for free, but make sure to follow the marked path.

Not super close to the center (about 5 blocks) or grocery stores (la anomina - about 20 pesos in a taxi).

Also the WIFI was pretty weak in our apartment, but you could go downstairs and it would be very strong there.

Booking was easy - via email or booking.com. Can arrange taxis for 120 pesos/one way from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellotqoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family of 5 (2 adults and 3 7-11 kids) stayed in one of the appartments for 4 nights. It was very clean, looked like new and had just what you need for a short vacation. Kitchen and dining room equiped for simple cooking or eating take out food ( we found Mirabilis pasta & pizza which was excellent and great price less than a block from Alto Verde). The service was no frills but very friendly and tour recommendations & coordination EXCELLENT. I would certainly go back to this place and recommend it to friendas that want a room/appt for a small family.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.1 mi away
Miyazato Inn
Miyazato Inn
#24 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hosteria Rukahue
Hosteria Rukahue
#38 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Posada del Angel
La Posada del Angel
#30 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Avutardas Hosteria
Las Avutardas Hosteria
#51 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
#41 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Alto Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Alto Verde

Property: Hosteria Alto Verde
Address: Antonio Zupic 138, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#18 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Alto Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALTO VERDE is a typical mountain inn located just four blocks awayfrom the commercial center of El Calafate. It offers - Double rooms with master or twin beds.- Apartments accommodating up to four guests.All of them have private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Alto Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Alto Verde El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing