We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace on the ranch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Galpon del Glaciar
Ranked #11 of 36 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had 3 nights almost on our own here (April 2011), and it almost felt like we were just friends calling in at the ranch. It's a great location out of the touristy bustle that is now El Calafate, and is nearer to Perito Moreno in any case. It also has great views across the lake to the north, and the landscape of Patagonia everywhere else.
The girls looking after the place were very friendly and helpful, the food was great, and having breakfast watching the ibises on the lawn, a whole new experience!
The rooms are a little small and basic, and wi-fi only in available in the restaurant.
With more time, we could have exploited the location even more, but the ranch tour is well worth doing to see something of the traditional existence and the sheep farming that is the staple here.
Perito Moreno is fabulous, but the all-day boat trip to the Upsala and Spagazzini glaciers is even more awesome - don't miss it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for El Galpon del Glaciar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 136 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

A stay at Estancia Alice is a must! We stayed in BA for 6 days so was quite over the city life and we were fast running out of things to do.

From the moment we arrived, it felt like a home style country haven, where we were seated with a drink and spoken to about the facilities in person. Not many places have staff who speak good English and it was a welcome relief this place was.

On arrival, we were told we had an afternoon excursion to see the sheep shearing, and then a fabulous roast lamb dinner. Next time, we asked to join a glacial mini trekking to Perito Merino... then went horse riding the day after.

At all times, the staff were helpful and you couldn't help but feel at ease at all times.

The views of this place is to die for... Andes in the background on one side, glaciers in the other.

A great ranch stay, thanks so much to the staff for making the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Amazing location just near the Argentinian Lake (el Lago Argentino) with horses, sheep, dogs and very enjoyable nature-oriented energy. Perfect base for any excursions as the hotel is based between Perito Moreno and the city, so all the buses will pick you up (you do not need to go to the city to take any of the excursions). The service is very good and helpful, you can ask them to book any trip (e.g. mini trekking which is very cool). Highly recommended if you are looking for nature-oriented and relaxed atmosphere. Michal y Ale

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikesk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We spent 4 days of our honeymoon on the ranch and we had a wonderful stay there. Rooms are very cozy, food is really good (best hamburgers of our lives!) The ranch is situated on a hill with amazing views of the lake. The staff was welcoming, very nice, and always helpful. Horse riding was truly spectacular, a dream come true (imagine galloping with relaxed,reliable and beautiful horses over wide open plains). We can absolutely recommend El Galpon de Glaciar. We had booked "the 3 nights package" and found the price really ok, especially in comparison to other estancias. Natalie and Willem

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanagrogro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Before staying here I was somewhat concerned with some negative reviews I had read about this place. After staying here I have to say that we absolutely loved it. First off the location is on this beautiful lake. It’s a very tranquil setting and the staff were all very nice. We stayed here for two nights but I wished we could have stayed longer. If you like lamb you will be in heaven. Patagonian lamb is delicious. But unless you ask they will serve you lamb steaks which are kind of boring. We had them bring us shoulder and ribs. The shoulder in particular was amazing. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pricklypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

My boyfriend and travelled round Patagonia for a month and this for me was my favourite place. I was looking for ages for a relaxing estancia in the area but reading the reviews they were all either too expensive or too hotel like. We ended up booking el galpon del glaciar as it looked nice and was the cheapest.

It turned out to be exactly what we had been looking for all along, absolutely beautiful location, extremely quiet and relaxing yet close enough to town to get there if you need. We hired a car which I recommend.

We stated 5 night and pretty much did nothing but eat, read, horse ride and look out over the amazing scenery. Food is great. The staff are super friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojochristoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We just finished a 13 day trip in Argentina/Chile and El Galpon del Glaciar in El Calafate was, by far, the most delightful place we stayed. Everything from the welcome beverage and lunch, to the always friendly and helpful staff, to the amazing broad view of rolling land, wildlife and Lake Argentina, to the included excursions (read on), to the excellent dining. I just can't recommend it enough. Excusions: four hours in the evening include a guided tour of a working sheep ranch complete with hot chocolate and pastries, herding demonstration (using dogs and horses), horseback ring race (everyone can try!), nature/botanical tour of the grounds, sheep shearing demonstration, sit down dinner with an amazing variety of salads, fruits, vegetables, breads, and lamb served five ways (tenderloin, ribs, sausages), followed by a folkloric dance show. All included in our package!

The other included excursion was a horseback ride across the pastures and down to the immense Lake Argentina shore for 1-2 hrs depending in your wishes. We loved it - great horses and guides attuned to your needs (take it easy, gallop like the wind, discuss the region, etc.).

Things to know:

Located about 15 minutes outside of El Calafate but on the way to Perito Moreno Glaciar (which is why most people go to El Calafate). So if you prefer nature and views to the hubbub of town, it's perfect. They also include airport transfers!

Rooms are delightful with balconies, some with views of Lake Argentina, some not. Definitely ranch style rooms and if you have noisy neighbors, you will hear them - but those folks don't usually come here.

A wonderful relaxing oasis on a busy Argentina tour.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elcydMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
11.0 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,145 reviews
2.4 mi away
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
12.5 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
637 reviews
11.6 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
960 reviews
10.1 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Galpon del Glaciar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Galpon del Glaciar

Address: Ruta Provincial 11 Km. 22, El Calafate Z9405DHC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range: $126 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Galpon del Glaciar 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 kilometers away from El Calafate, on the same way to the Perito Moreno Glacier, is an old sheep farm named "El Galpon del Glaciar". The establishment is surrounded by 3,5 kilometers of shore of the Lago Argentino and by 1,5 kilometers of riverbank of the Centinela River: both offer an ideal environment to enjoy activities in contact with nature. Welcome. We will be waiting for you to know and to enjoy Patagonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Galpon del Glaciar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Galpon Del Glaciar Hotel El Calafate
El Galpon Del Glaciar El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing