We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away near a Glacier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estancia Nibepo Aike
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2008

From the warm welcome you receive from both the staff and the huge log fire in the lounge you are in for a friendly, enjoyable stay.
The rooms are not spacious but are comfortable and very clean but you won't want to stay in them for long. The scenery is spectacular, there are miles of walks and you can horse ride (its not to demanding with your Gaucho guide) twice daily to enjoy the views. The adjoining restaurant offers a traditional Posada (Argenitinian Bar-b-q) with lamb raised on the ranch washed down by excellent Argentinian red wine at bargain prices.
After three nights we left with regret that we had not booked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IHT_Spend_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 198 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2008

We stayed here in January and were quite disappointed with our stay. The ranch is one and a half hour drive from El Calafate on a rough road and all day trips require three hour return trip. Service was hap hazard and it was difficult to find information on prebooked trips. Horse riding on the ranch was amazing but was only offered when we requested it, despite having been prebooked and paid for. Overall, very remote and very little on offer. We expected a more vibrant, working ranch with the opportunity to get involved in ranch life. Great if you want to sit by the open fire and read books and escape city life though.

Stayed: January 2008
4  Thank dub1ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

My wife and I spent two of our four nights in the Calafate area in mid-February at Nibepo Aike. We stayed at the much less expensive Hosteria Kau Kaleshen in Calafate itself for the first two nights because we arrived by plane in the evening and spent the entire next day visiting the Perito Moreno glacier (for which trekking on the glacier was definitely the highlight). We then rented a car on our second morning and drove to the estancia, although most guests seem to come by taxi. The cost of the two day car rental, including gas, was a bit more than a taxi would have cost, but we were pleased that we had the freedom to come and go as we wished. However, unless you are going to visit the glacier from the estancia, there is no need to have a car once there as there is nowhere else to drive to.

We chose this estancia based upon the earlier reviews on the TripAdvisor web site and they were bang on. The host couple, Adolfo Jansma (from Eastern Europe) and his Argentinean wife, work for the owners of the estancia (who are not on site) and had come back this season after an absence of a few years, while they managed an estancia elsewhere. They are very nice and attentive. The room was large, comfortable and clean. Sheep grazed on the lawn outside our window. Dinners were good.

The horseback ride was nice (though much shorter than we had anticipated), but if it’s really riding you want, consider Estancia Huechahue near Junin de los Andes (an hour and a half north of Bariloche). On the other hand, the scenery is spectacular and we had fantastic, easy hikes up the mountainside, overlooking the magnificent lakes and snow-capped mountains.

The shearing of a single sheep each evening is just for the guests, but is interesting to watch.

Look for a beautiful rainbow over the mountains in the early morning.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimAndDenise51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

I Stayed at EOLO and Estancia Nibepo AIke in Calafate (as well as Del Pilar and La Quinta in Chalten, and visited Los Nostros and Los Cerros), and this was my top pick of all of them! While the others were lovely too, this was situated right on Lago Argentino, had the most dramatic views and was a spot that could only be unique to Argentina. The farm was authentic and still a working Estancia. At night you could watch one of the four year round gauchos round up the sheep, or cattle, and could participate on horseback if interested. The Estancia has been run by the same family for over 3 generations. If you like to ride, they had the best horses and most pristine location for riding in the region (i am a lifelong rider/advanced equestrian.) I did one 16 hour ride to the edge of the Estancia and back.

I can't emphasize just how amazing the location is. The Estancia goes right to the Chilean border and is situated in Los Glaciares National Park. Complete with jagged mountains, glaciars and far from the not so picturesque town of Calafate, it's the most beautiful of all the spots.

Many of the other places you could have found anywhere in the world, and although friendly, they were not as unique or certainly not in as beautiful of a location.

The accomodations are rustic and very comfortable!
Take advantage of the beautiful location and the activities, eat in the Quinche where the food is better than in the main house, and certainly visit Nibepo if you are interested in seeing a working estancia. As an avid traveler, this is a spot I will remember for the rest of my life. I could not recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amaybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We spent a wonderful 2 days here. Service is warm, the facilities charming, and the location stunning. The other reviews - and the pictures on their own website - tell the tale on this. The rates are good for the location.

You'll see on their website that you can book the all-inclusive package or half-board, paying for extras on the spot. The all-inclusive seems very expensive, but includes arranging high-quality excursions in the park (and excursions are what is really expensive in this area) plus transportation, and Nibepo Aike is over 50km primarily by dirt road from the actual Perito Moreno glacier as well as from the town of El Calafate itself. We took the half-board option, but rented a car in El Calafate for the duration of our stay. This gave us the freedom to come and go when we wished, and to choose exactly what excursions we wanted (e.g. the Big Ice rather than the basic minitrekking). Note the excursions are exactly the same as the standard choices everywhere in El Calafate.

We only really spent 1/2 day plus one evening at the estancia itself, having a lovely if rather slow 3hr horse ride down the branch of the lake, and then just wandering the lands of the estancia (spectacular scenery) in the long evenings. Could have easily added an extra day for more local wandering.

Food is good but not spectacular by Argentinian standards (which means it is still very good by North American standards). Excellent standard-issue parilla one evening (good basic salad, great fire-roasted beef and lamb), OK chicken the next, standard breakfasts. They will make you box lunches for the excursions, recommended. Note this is not a restaurant with choices; you eat what is served that evening, presumably with exceptions if you agree ahead of time.

We booked direct by email and paid for our room+board by credit card prior to arriving. We fortunately stopped by to see Nestor at their town office in El Calafate on arrival, since he was able to reserve and book for us the excursions we wanted (basically, everyone in the travel business there can phone around and reserve the same stuff, but it saved us time) plus reserve space for the horse ride on our arrival. At the estancia, it is the usual Argentine mixture of tremendous warmth and high willingness to help combined with confusion. We soon discovered that there is only one person (Paula) with whom it makes sense to discuss meal times and activity choices.

Echoing the comments of other posters, be prepared to pay cash for all incidentals (including the excursions booked through them) and keep your paperwork. Credit card is hit'n'miss, and in our case, miss. But good humour and flexibility solve everything.

Bottom line: outstanding place for a truly memorable stay in probably the most spectacular scenery in a pretty scenic area to begin with. Not the right place if you're the type of traveler who expects to snap you fingers and your every whim be satisfied, or if you want to enjoy the night life(?) of El Calafate itself.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montrealais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We were lucky enough to spend Christmas 2007 at Nibepo Aike, which happily coincided with some fantastic summer weather. We participated fully in the Noche Buena meal in the Quincho on 24th December (extra sparkling wine, and many of the unseen kitchen staff, appeared at midnight to wish us all well) and we had a memorable parilla lunch on 25th Dec. too. We took the cowards' option and booked the all-inclusive package and we were not disappointed by the excursions: the mini-trekking was amazing (but please remember to cover up as the UV radiation is really fierce...we had factor 20 sunscreen on and still got burned). We would echo other posters' comments that the Todo Glaciares boat trip is very crowded, but worth it. We wished we could have done Big Ice too, but there was no tour on 25th Dec. The trail-riding from the estancia that day was excellent, however, with truly stunning views towards the Chilean frontier 20km away. Our boys hired fishing tackle/permits from the nearby camping site...but didn't manage to catch anything. One of them manfully swam for a full 30 seconds in the ice-cold water of Lago Roca. Clearly Nibepo Aike had bewitched him with its pioneer charms. Or the sun had got to him.

A few blips-and-tips: make sure you bring your pre-paid voucher (and a spare copy) saying exactly what "deal" you're on. Some other guests appeared to be unpleasantly surprised by the "extras" they were asked to pay for on departure. We merely paid for our drinks with meals, which were very reasonably priced, exactly as per our deal. Unlike some other posters, we paid the extras by Visa card, which was accepted without demur: but it still makes sense to be well cashed-up (in pesos rather than dollars or euros) for incidental expenses like National Park entries (not included) and tips/snacks on the excursions, given that the nearest ATM is 50km away in El Calafate. The generator tended to give up the ghost for 15-20 minutes as the shadows started to lengthen around 8pm and everyone turned the bathroom lights on for a pre-dinner shower...Pack a torch. There were a couple of days when there simply weren't enough places free for breakfast at "tour departure time", so we had to wait while other guests finished, so we got less good seats on the Glacier boat trip than we might have wished. The early bird, as they say...(but try telling that to three teenage boys). None of this was a problem for us, and our family was treated with genuine warmth by all the staff... but it would probably make better sense to go back to Nibepo Aike when it wasn't under quite so much Holiday Season pressure. All in all, a truly remarkable place to stay and a real slice of Patagonian life.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We did not stay but went out for a day trip. I was concerned that it would be a tourist thing but it was great. We go to ride horses and it was not your normal trail ride. I have been riding for years and we climb the horses way up a steep hill behind the ranch to take in one of the best sites of the glacier, lago Argentina and the estancia. The dinner they served was fabulous.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank sazabo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
30.7 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#7 of 69 in El Calafate
1,226 reviews
30.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 69 in El Calafate
1,220 reviews
32 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#22 of 69 in El Calafate
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 mi away
Hosteria Meulen
Hosteria Meulen
#41 of 69 in El Calafate
191 reviews
18.8 mi away
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
30.4 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#18 of 69 in El Calafate
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Nibepo Aike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Nibepo Aike

Address: Ruta Provincial 15 y Los Andes | Parque Nacional Los Glaciares, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 Specialty Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range: $331 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia Nibepo Aike 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Estancia Nibepo Aike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Nibepo Aike Hotel El Calafate
Estancia Nibepo Aike El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing