We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Rukahue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Rukahue
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was such a welcoming and friendly place. My wife and I stayed there in January 2011 (late on the review) for several days and had a great time. The hotel is up the hill a bit from the town, but it's walkable (especially on the way down) and taxis are pretty cheap. Adrianna and family took care of arranging reservations and taxis, when we took them, and let us practice our poor Spanish. Breakfast comes with a beautiful view, rooms are clean and comfortable, helpful and friendly hosts, all make this great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wcATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    21
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
52
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The B&B is very nice and neat. The owner will give you a warm welcome and a lot of information on all you can need. She can also arrange for very good sandwiches if you have to go on excursion. Good breakfast from a panoramic hall. The house is not so close to the center town (2-3 kms) on a steep and bad road to walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elpin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

As mentioned by other reviewers, Adrianna is a gem. Kind, caring, helpful Your satisfaction is her priority. Her son Santiago is equally as pleasant and helpful. We had some connection problems with regards to flight departure from el calafate and they both provided great assistance. Rooms are small but very clean. Bathroom shower can be a little tight space wise. Walls are alittle thin so a noisy neighbor could be a problem, but the beds and pillows are surper comfy. The lobby and breakfast area is a large and 2 story area and very inviting with a lovely view. Breakfast was good and Adriannas homemade jams where a treat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This feels a bit like a European ski lodge. The room are not big but very clean, and comfortable. The cleaning staff were excellent.
The common areas are comfortable as well.
What makes this place is the staff, they would do absolutely anything to help you.
We had a lovely time staying here and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristoltraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Rukahue (rockaway) is a truly great experience. I recently stayed there with my wife and sister inlaw on a trip from BA. There is no way i can say enough great things about the family and experience. Thanks again Santiago and Adriana.

Room Tip: I believe there are only 9 rooms or so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Calafate , Adriana the ownwer was very helpfull .This was our first stop in our trip to Patagonia ,and where quite tired ,after a long trip from Brazil ,but we slept like at home ,in very confortable beds .Breakfast was very good ,but the nicest thing was the view , is a really great spot ,plus all the good feeling of being like at home ,made this place a far better choice than going to the bigger hotels .Is a little bit out off town center but is Ok taxis are not very expensive ,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luli02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahoe city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Rukahue is a bit at the edge of town. A car is desirable, but the taxis are $3.00 into the city, no big deal.
The hosteria is a family run operation with lovely rooms. The large community room has a panoramic view of the lake and surrounding mountains. Unfortunately by the time we got to El Calafate I was rather ill, and Adriana took care of me like my mother would have, Absolutely wonderful folks and will do anything to make you comfortable. There's a computer, TV and large lounge area in the huge loft. Santiago, the son spoke very good english and communication was no issue here.
I highly recommen the Rukahue - rockhouse..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cktahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
2.7 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hosteria Hainen
Hosteria Hainen
#28 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hosteria Alto Verde
Hosteria Alto Verde
#40 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roble Sur
Roble Sur
#34 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
2.7 mi away
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
#26 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cyan Cacique Calafate Hotel
Cyan Cacique Calafate Hotel
#22 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Rukahue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Rukahue

Property: Hosteria Rukahue
Address: Glaciar Murallon 77, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
#29 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#34 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Rukahue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Rukahue El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing