We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic riding, lovely scenery great guide !!!”

High Mountain Trail Rides
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: High Mountain Trail Rides is permitted by the Coconino National Forest to utilize over 300 miles of beautiful tall pine trails for riders of all ages and abilities. Weather you are a first time rider or been on a horse all your life, our experienced and professional wranglers will make sure you and your guests have a safe fun experience! So ride with us for an hour or two or all day and we guarantee you'll have a good time!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were staying in flagstaff just before going back home to England after a 3 week holiday in America. Me and my 14 year old daughter went on one of their 2 hour trial rides- and it was a truly fantastic end to the holiday !!! we were intermediate riders and the horses were really well behaved much better than the ones in England. The guide was really friendly and talkative- telling us about the area and wildlife. Also we ride differently in England we weren't sure about riding western style but the guide reassured us and we learnt very quickly. The scenery was great and we both throughly enjoyed the ride.

The only downfall was that as intermediate riders we would of liked to do some trotting or cantering at some points but we didn't. Though the guide did explain why and it didn't effect the enjoyment we got out of it. Overall I fantastic ride I highly recommened it !!!

1  Thank Nina609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMTRAz, Owner at High Mountain Trail Rides, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you had a good time riding with us and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"horseback ride"
in 8 reviews
"hour ride"
in 13 reviews
"ponderosa pines"
in 4 reviews
"inexperienced riders"
in 2 reviews
"longer ride"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 5 reviews
"bucket list"
in 4 reviews
"wranglers"
in 22 reviews
"horses"
in 50 reviews
"zane"
in 4 reviews
"flagstaff"
in 10 reviews
"pony"
in 2 reviews
"guide"
in 24 reviews
"terrain"
in 4 reviews
"helmets"
in 2 reviews
"instructions"
in 2 reviews
"forest"
in 2 reviews
Filter

56 - 60 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Thanks to Colleen, Eddie, Nikki, and Sam (Son-Sam), along with Buckshot, Billy, Domingo, and Rambo! Our ride was a dream come true, we'll be back for sure. Thanks to you all!!!

Thank Tammi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMTRAz, Front Office Manager at High Mountain Trail Rides, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2016

Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear you had a good time, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our family of 4 rode with Eddie last week. We had a fabulous time! King, Shiloh, Blue and Zane were just perfect on the trails. Our son was very eager to find a "horny toad" on our Grand Canyon trip . . . he spotted a small one sitting on a rock along the trail as we rode. Eddie was so kind to get a picture of it for our son, as well as take other pictures of us. Colleen in the office was very pleasant and helpful, too. Thank you "High Mountain Trail Rides" for an experience we will never forget!!!

1  Thank pianostitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMTRAz, Owner at High Mountain Trail Rides, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you very much! We are glad you had a good time riding with us and hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My Wife and I celebrated out 6th Anniversary by taking a 1 hour Horse Ride with High Mountain Trail Rides.
Our Cowgirl (we forgot her name - we are sorry) was very knowledgeable and we had a great experience.
We are planning on making this a yearly experience and maybe even working it in to our routine on a more regular basis.
The horses were well behaved and very easy to handle. I have never ridden a horse and Zane was very attentive to my direction. My wife who has loads of experience fell in love with her horse King.
Thank You for making this an excellent Anniversary.

Thank redette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMTRAz, Front Office Manager at High Mountain Trail Rides, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2016

Thank you for the review! We hope to see you guys again soon! We are happy that you want to visit us more and make our rides a yearly experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I went out on a hour ride! We had an excellent time and our kids loved it and they had very good horses! The wranglers were very knowledgeable and nice!! They answered all our questions and did such a good job making sure our kids had a fun safe ride. The office was clean and the help was great! I would highly recommend going on a trail ride here!! The ride was very peaceful and the view was gorgeous!

Thank Toad43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMTRAz, Front Office Manager at High Mountain Trail Rides, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2016

We appreciate your review! Thank you for coming and riding with us and noticing all we do for our riders! Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Mountain Trail Rides also viewed

Been to High Mountain Trail Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing