We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Secrets”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mormon Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mormon Lake Lodge and Campground
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mormon Lake
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty Secrets”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Carpets were obviously filthy did not take my shoes (flip flops) off for the 2 days we stayed that also included the shower. The pots and pans that were stored under the kitchen sink were not wiped out sickening to even think of cooking in and no access to soap to wash them..I walked down to the office and they sent housekeeping who were extremely nice but were foreign exchange students and did not understand what I was saying. Then the urine left on the toilet from the last occupant I would so think twice about staying here a day trip we will do to access the horseback riding and crawdad fishing which were excellent..But really Mormon Lake you could do better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thodges132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    8
    14
    12
See reviews for
30
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent a weekend at Mormon Lake based on friends recommendations. While it is rustic, we were very disappointed in the cabin furnishings (old and run down), and the poor quality of the towels and bed linens. For the price, we expected more. Restaurant food was tasty and fairly priced. There were two rental rooms per cabin, with a shared hot water heater. It was very noisy, especially during the middle of the night waking us up several times. We liked the close proximty to Lake Mary, where you can boat and swim. We will probably not stay at Mormon Lake Lodge again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the cabins near the restaurant. Loud music and partiers will keep you up until 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moxie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mormon Lake hotels

1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After reading previous reviews was very surprised at how the lodge was run. We spent 5 days there and all our needs were met. The food was great and the servers went out of their ways to accommodate us. The cabins are cabins, not hotel rooms. Comfortable and large. There is a store that had everything you could possibly need, loved the ice cream. Hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cashew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We Will Be Back,our motor cycle club had a blast ,thanks for your hard work,like the location,the bar ,we like all the routes.nice roads, food was good,the drinks were good,rooms were price fair...harley wasn't far,neither was williams. once again we had a great week when to fast but that's how we roll..thank you,the National Prez

Room Tip: ask and some will help tou
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmarzioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The check-in desk seemed t be a bit bothered by us being there. There was no soap in the shower. The only coffee was decaf. The bed was well-worn. The room had a musty odor and the walls are thin. The next morning, we asked two house-keepers on a golf cart to leave an extra towel, leave some soap and leave some caffeinated coffee. They assured us they would take care of it. Upon our arrival back to the room in the evening, the bed had not been made, there was only one towel in the bathroom, no soap and no caffeine. I had to drive back down to the Saloon to ask a bartender for another towel. An hour later, a towel was delivered to our door. This may be a good deal at half the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We we enjoyed a great and scenic excursion out to Mormon Lake Lodge, A beautiful drive and worth it to get out of town this time of year. Great Burgers and sandwiches, and The Beer is so cold it will make your teeth hurt. They need to serve from their dinner menu from noon on ,on weekends. The servers, Bartender,hostess, were slow but friendly, and the food was great. Dont get in a big ol hurry while you are here. There were Alot of empty tables while we were waiting on ours. My guess is there are mostly inexperienced people working here. I Hope the management reads this. PLEASE put steaks and all of the trimmings back on the menu, and the big dinner salads should be served all day! You have a 40 year reputation for steaks and being a cowboy steakhouse, act like it, and be true to your brand. Hone your menu and your people and you will will be printing your own money. Do five things really well and nothing will be mediocre!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasquatchonsugarlaof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My family and I did a day trip out to Mormon lake lodge. Once we got there we were all hungry so went to the steakhouse to eat some lunch. Once we walked in we were greeted by one of the servers. She sat us and greeted us with her name. Its one I won't forget because I have never heard it before. Her name was Cherokee. She took our drink orders, told us about the specials, and went on her way to get our drinks. Any questions we had about then menu she was able to answer and was very helpful. Our food was made quick and just the way we liked it. The cooks know what they are doing back there and need to keep it up!!!!! I will be coming back again and telling everyone I know about to go. If you are expecting a lake there isn't one but it is still very beautiful and there is plenty to do.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mormon Lake
14.9 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
20.1 mi away
Arizona Mountain Inn & Cabins
21.1 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek
21.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
10.6 mi away
Motel in the Pines
Motel in the Pines
#1 of 1 in Munds Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mormon Lake Lodge and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mormon Lake Lodge and Campground

Property: Mormon Lake Lodge and Campground
Address: 1991 Mormon Lake Road, Mormon Lake, AZ 86038
Location: United States > Arizona > Mormon Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mormon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Mormon Lake Hotel Mormon Lake
Mormon Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing