We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, Marginal Acommodation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mormon Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mormon Lake Lodge and Campground
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mormon Lake
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The check-in desk seemed t be a bit bothered by us being there. There was no soap in the shower. The only coffee was decaf. The bed was well-worn. The room had a musty odor and the walls are thin. The next morning, we asked two house-keepers on a golf cart to leave an extra towel, leave some soap and leave some caffeinated coffee. They assured us they would take care of it. Upon our arrival back to the room in the evening, the bed had not been made, there was only one towel in the bathroom, no soap and no caffeine. I had to drive back down to the Saloon to ask a bartender for another towel. An hour later, a towel was delivered to our door. This may be a good deal at half the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Mormon Lake Lodge and Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 69 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We we enjoyed a great and scenic excursion out to Mormon Lake Lodge, A beautiful drive and worth it to get out of town this time of year. Great Burgers and sandwiches, and The Beer is so cold it will make your teeth hurt. They need to serve from their dinner menu from noon on ,on weekends. The servers, Bartender,hostess, were slow but friendly, and the food was great. Dont get in a big ol hurry while you are here. There were Alot of empty tables while we were waiting on ours. My guess is there are mostly inexperienced people working here. I Hope the management reads this. PLEASE put steaks and all of the trimmings back on the menu, and the big dinner salads should be served all day! You have a 40 year reputation for steaks and being a cowboy steakhouse, act like it, and be true to your brand. Hone your menu and your people and you will will be printing your own money. Do five things really well and nothing will be mediocre!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sasquatchonsugarlaof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My family and I did a day trip out to Mormon lake lodge. Once we got there we were all hungry so went to the steakhouse to eat some lunch. Once we walked in we were greeted by one of the servers. She sat us and greeted us with her name. Its one I won't forget because I have never heard it before. Her name was Cherokee. She took our drink orders, told us about the specials, and went on her way to get our drinks. Any questions we had about then menu she was able to answer and was very helpful. Our food was made quick and just the way we liked it. The cooks know what they are doing back there and need to keep it up!!!!! I will be coming back again and telling everyone I know about to go. If you are expecting a lake there isn't one but it is still very beautiful and there is plenty to do.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Anna01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After reading the reviews,we expected really rustic, but were surpringing pleased with the lodge. Our cabin in the Elk View section was great. It was a 1 room cabin with nice amenities, great bed, comfy sofa, DirecTV, microwave,fridge, and had a nice table to sit at on the back porch. Everything was clean and and it was ready when we got there. We had a good time in the Saloon (food, drink and personable bartender) and the food in the restaurant was really good. We had the stew in sourdough bread bowls for lunch and it was great. The only thing we weren't thrilled with in the restaurant was the picnic table seating. Would have prefered a table to ourselves. Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Elk View cabins were great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

First, there's no lake here anymore, its a big meadow. We stayed at the RV campground for 4 nights during an Arizona Trail event. the AZT is an 800 mile trail from the Mexico to Utah border. The campground had full hookups and clean showers. The spaces were adequate, though not every site had a fire ring. The campground was a short walk to an entrance to the trail. We had dessert one night at the lodge and it was filling and fresh. The Lodge provided two dinners for the group and both were home cooking style, nothing fancy.
I'm including pics of the cabins and the area for a wedding.

Room Tip: If I were to rent a cabin, I'd want a complete cabin, not the hotel style rooms. In the RV camp...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our cabin was gross and dirty. We left early because we couldn't stand to spend another night. The restaurant was awful! Steaks were cooked wrong, baked potato was still cold, fresh veggies were frozen and not fresh. Menu online was wrong and the first two dinners and app we ordered were not available. The employees in the restaurant were rude. The bartender wouldn't take my drink order and it took 3 random men to help get my drink!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenandaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were here for the Herbal Resurgence so the place was at capacity. We stayed in an Elk View cabin.

The pros:
It was a nice cabin, clean, open and large with big windows and a gorgeous view of the wildflowers out back. Nice deck for eating.
It had recently been re-furnished, lots of things were new and the main bed was nice with local wood.
The main bed was comfortable, decent pillows, etc.
There was a kitchenette -- two burner stove. Small fridge and freezer, toaster, microwave and coffee pot.
One the first night our heat was broken and it was COLD. When we mentioned this the next morning they immediate had someone come and fix it.

The cons:
Other than the nice new bed, the rest of it was cheap, cheap, cheap. The lowest quality linens, kitchen things (and a sparse few of them at that) and the curtains and rug -- they will look worn out soon although new at the moment.
There is horrible plug in air freshener in the cabins and it's really smells if you don't like this sort of thing.
The fold our bed wasn't comfortable at all.
Again, the kitchen thing, which we really needed a few more basics -- for example, we had only a ladle to cook with - no spoon or spatula, just a ladle.
Lastly, we had only one key for the first few days - with two of us doing different things that was a pain.

Overall, not nearly as bad as we thought. People were nice and helpful and took action when we needed something. Our Elk View cabin was really nice overall.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank trientalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mormon Lake
14.9 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
18.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
19.1 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
10.6 mi away
Motel in the Pines
Motel in the Pines
#1 of 1 in Munds Park
92 reviews
16.6 mi away
Junipine Resort
Junipine Resort
#5 of 48 in Sedona
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mormon Lake Lodge and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mormon Lake Lodge and Campground

Address: 1991 Mormon Lake Road, Mormon Lake, AZ 86038
Location: United States > Arizona > Mormon Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mormon Lake
Price Range: $45 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Mormon Lake Hotel Mormon Lake
Mormon Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing