We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Austral Viedma
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viedma
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here for two nights, paying £38.40/night in advance via expedia.co.uk. I thought that was quite expensive, but my (admittedly last minute) research when booking suggested Viedma is not replete with hotels or hostels, especially ones which can be booked online. I am also told Patagonia is expensive anyway.

Putting the price to one side, the room was clean and comfortable. There was no balcony but I had a nice view over the river. There was a vent in the room giving out cool air although there were no obvious controls on it; I might guess this is controlled centrally, but I didn't need to investigate. The decor was fairly good, although one or two of the tiles in the bathroom were cracked. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a bath as well as the more usual shower, although no plug was supplied - fortunately I had one of my own. The hot water was very hot and seemingly limitless. The wifi worked well and without fuss. The included breakfast buffet was nothing special but the quality and quantity both seemed reasonable. My only gripe with the room is that there was no mains socket near the bed, so I wasn't able to charge my phone overnight while keeping it next to me (I use it as my alarm clock).

The location is fairly good, being right by the river. Frankly there didn't seem to be a huge amount to do in Viedma, but the hotel is within easy walking distance of what shops, cafes and bars there are in town. It is a fair old walk from the bus terminal (it took me about 30 minutes each way) but since the terminal is so far from everything else, that's inevitable for any hotel with an otherwise good location.

I would certainly consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZornsLemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 165 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

We used this location for an overnight stay. The room was OK, clean and there was enough space for our suitcases, etc. The shower was working properly.

The breakfast was included in the price and - with the exception of fresh fruit - there was enough choice.

When we left the hotel, we were able to have a look into the rooms viewing the Rio Negro - these rooms were much nicer and bigger - so ensure that you get a room facing the river.

Room Tip: View Rio Negro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bariloche-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

For an overnight stay the hotel may be a reasonable choice. The location is good, WiFi and breakfast were all right, the price is reasonable. But, my reservation request through the hotel website was not answered, the tourist information given at the reception desk was very poor, the carpet in the room was dirty, and the traffic noise at night was terrific. You can help yourself: the official tourist information office is just 200m away, down the river, very friendly and helpful, and a nice restaurant, on the river, is there as well. Taking the small ferry boat in front of the hotel, to the other side of the Rio Negro, to Carmen de Patagones, is worth doing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exp_Trav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The hotel has an excellent view on the Rio Negro and Carmen del Patagones on the other side of the river. Hotel standard reminds me of Eastern Europe in the 70ies, spacious room but everything a bit run down. Restaurant and breakfast were quite good, and the service friendly. At night it was quite noisy outside where the city's youth gathered and circeld around with mopeds and cars.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hskuehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

This place looks a little run down, but is in a good location and the rooms are decent and clean and the price is reasonable. The bar service is non-existent, that is our only complaint. Likely one of the better places to stay in Viedma.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endlesstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: ubicación del hotel. habitaciones al río.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MFernandoCelayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Austral Viedma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austral Viedma

Address: Avenida Cap B Villarino 292, Viedma R8500LGP, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > Viedma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viedma
Price Range: $65 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austral Viedma 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Austral Viedma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing