We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chilled out atmosphere.”
Review of Hostel 41 Below

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 41 Below
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great place to stay. Very helpful staff, clean rooms and bathroom. Nice common room. Ski clothing available to rent. One of the best hostels I've stayed at in south america and definitely the best breakfast!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great hostel. Cozy and people very helpful. Bit rainy right now and kitchen doesn't have steel wool or freezer but wifi is great. Common room cozy and extensive book collection. Close to everything. If coming from out of country bring lots of money to change. Rates are amazing. Saved $49 on $390 (Chilean pesos).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

One of the best Hostels where I stayed, the staff is really kind and always trying to advice us with the best things to do.
The location is excellent and the breakfast is delicious (with homemade bread)!
We felt as we were at home! enjoying a lot the stay there, we stayed almost a week and we visited different places and went out with the other guests (all really nice).
I definitely recommend staying at the 41 below!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uruguay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

41 below is awesome. the engery which comes up in the community space is so nice. the staff is friendly and helpfull. a very complete breakfast and aswell the most clean kitchen i ever saw on my travels. I'ts just pretty much in the center you have a couple good bars around you but you don't even have to go out cause it's kind a hard to leave the very confortable community space..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

When I came to Bariloche I roughly planned a week. In the end I almost settled down (if travelling was not about moving on at a certain point...), which of course also was the fault of the 41 Below. I felt so much at home that I grew roots and stayed almost for 3 weeks. The staff was great and helpful, every advice they gave was brilliant, true and good and worth going/hiking/experiencing/seeing/checking out! First of all, it is very central and everything is in walking distance. Then, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, very dedicated to make your stay worthwhile. The living room is spacious, light, comfortable and offers a selection of books. The kitchen is well equipped wiht enough space to store personal food.
Rooms are clean and have lockers, bathrooms and showers were always clean, no matter, how may people were staying. Breakfast was a highlight: homemade bread, jam and yogurt, croissants, cereals, tea. I was lucky enough to experience special dinners the staff prepared for the guests at some occasion, trout in my case. Delicious food, wine and beer included, and for a very good price. I would (hopefully will) definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gudireise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This Hostel was not only well presented with a great atmosphere for meeting other travelers, the staff were also the most accommodating and friendly people we have met on our travels.

Sylvia in particular was just wonderful - I became very sick whilst I was staying here and she went out of her way to make sure I was O.K. From taking me to the hospital, getting my antibiotics from the pharmacy for me, to the little things such as asking how I was whenever she saw me and making sure my travelling buddies were looked after. She is an absolute star and a real attribute to this hostel.

I will definitely be back as I didn't get to experience Bariloche thanks to being ill, but what little experience I did have of it was made 100 times more bearable thanks to these guys!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Special_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hostel 41 below was a great place to stay. When we arrived, we were pleased with the location and coziness of the place. The private double room was cute and clean. The living room was social and inviting, with 4 big couches facing each other and a large common table where everyone hung out and chatted all hours of the day. If you were in the mood to chill rather than engage, that was cool too. There were a million travel books to peruse, and a solid movie collection. An added bonus is the awesome breakfast, with homemade bread and jams.


While the accommodations are up to speed, they are not what make this hostel great. The real selling point of Hostel 41 below is Leo, the hostel manager and go-to person for just about everything.


When we arrived, Leo dropped what he was doing to help up settle in. He gladly reviewed and talked through any excursions or travel inquiries we had. He suggested his favorite restaurants and bars, and they all turned out to be great. He even helped us get a last minute rental car at an awesome price. Anytime we entered the hostel door, Leo would greet us with a smile and want to know about our latest adventure. Leo maintains the “Buena onda” of Hostel by engaging guests and linking people together. 41 below would not be the same without him.

Room Tip: The private double room was cute and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Kira-and-Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.2 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#5 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#9 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#11 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#10 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Achalay
Hostel Achalay
#14 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 41 Below? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 41 Below

Address: Juramento 94, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 256 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $18 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel 41 Below. A New Zealander run hostel located in a quiet street in the heart of Bariloche, just 2 blocks from the center of town and the Nahuel Huapi Lake. Run by travellers, for travellers - we know it's the little things that make a difference : comfortable furniture to chill out on, a great music collection, DVDs, free Wi-Fi, thick comfy mattresses, fully equipped kitchen, storage lockers in every room, free tea and coffee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing