We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Hostel 41 Below

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 41 Below
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We came to Bariloche and stayed for 6 nights, as did many other travellers, it became a bit of a joke when people kept saying one more night every day!

The hostel is very clean, the staff are very friendly and so helpful.
The hostel is also really well planned out, the communal areas are great. It also has a brilliant location.
Showers are amazing and really hot some of the best in 8 months is South America.

Its a really social hostel without being a party hostel which is nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    48
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
52
100
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I’m always sceptical when so many reviews tell you how great somewhere is and how much fun it is to be there but with this hostel it is true. It’s not a party hostel full of people on their gap yah where you can’t get any sleep but is very chilled out and has probably the best common area we’ve stayed in so far in the last 9 weeks (19 hostels in). We stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm and although the room is a little small it is sufficient for kipping in. We spent most of our time when not skiing or filling our faces in the many Bariloche chocolate shops, in the common area chatting with people from all over the shop. The bedding is clean and beds pretty comfy. The location is central. You need to get a taxi or bus to central Bariloche from the bus station. The staff are really friendly and helpful although it was slightly uncomfortable one night when the dude on the desk spent most of the night with his tongue rammed down his birds neck. It has a small but decent kitchen and the wifi is good and worked in our room. We hired pretty decent ski clothes from the hostel but hired skis and boots from one of the many shops at the slopes. To get to the slopes you just jump on one of the buses which leaves from the city centre every 15mins (5 mins walk to bus stop). I just asked my wife if she liked it and she said “Yes”.

Room Tip: Rooms with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thabs_n_Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Has everything you would expect from a really good hostel. It's in a perfect location close to the main bus stops and the town centre. The rooms, cleaned daily, have comfortable beds and secure, good-sized lockers. The spotless bathrooms always have piping hot water and the small, well-equipped kitchen has very thoughtfully organised storage for guests' food. A simple breakfast is included, there's wi-fi, a free computer for guests without a laptop, a book exchange, dvd library and tv. There's also a large collection of guidebooks and several notebooks where previous guests have left comments / suggestions / advice for things to do in and around Bariloche. The large, warm comfortable communal area is a great place to meet other travellers.

But what really puts 41 Below way above similarly well equipped hostels is the staff. Without exception they're charming, friendly, helpful and very, very knowledgeable. They don't just answer your questions, they volunteer extra information you didn't realise you needed. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed here for 3 days with my boyfriend and thought it was enjoyable. I'm 27, he's 29 and we were by far the oldest people there. A very young crowd which may or may not be your cup of tea. Either way, everyone was very respectable of noise, and cleaning up after themselves. I thought the best thing this hostel had going for them was the staff. Everyone was so helpful in planning activities in the area, very knowledgeable about the different companies, restaurants and even other hostels. They have a great binder with ideas of how to spend your days. The bathrooms were always clean, the room was fine. I enjoyed the communal area as well, kitchen was small and somewhat disorganized but fine for a few days. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slipperypineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed here for 3 weeks and the staff really made me feel at home. Such a comfortable, relaxed, clean place but it really is the staff who make it such a great place to be. Tons to do in the area and the hostel is really well organised for helping tailor your trip. I would definitely recommend this place and stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a lake view - there are 2 doubles and 2 4 bed dorms with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellenmprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Good points: cozy communal room, reasonable size dorms, safe, really lovely staff, felt at home there, sociable but not a party place, plenty of hot water, warm.
Could be improved: cleanliness in bathrooms - need to be cleaned more often, kitchen quite small (but functional).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The hostel 41 below in Bariloche is a great place to stay! The staff is very friendly and the hostel has an easy-going atmosphere which you will love. The rooms and bathrooms are nice and clean. The kitchen is a little bit small, but as the rest is really great, you won`t bother. People cook together and chat in the big "living room" of the hostel and enjoy themselves. This hostel really has the perfect "hostel atmosphere". You will love it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_83V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#14 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
#26 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Achalay
Hostel Achalay
#11 of 253 in San Carlos de Bariloche
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#3 of 253 in San Carlos de Bariloche
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 41 Below? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 41 Below

Property: Hostel 41 Below
Address: Juramento 94, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 253 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel 41 Below. A New Zealander run hostel located in a quiet street in the heart of Bariloche, just 2 blocks from the center of town and the Nahuel Huapi Lake. Run by travellers, for travellers - we know it's the little things that make a difference : comfortable furniture to chill out on, a great music collection, DVDs, free Wi-Fi, thick comfy mattresses, fully equipped kitchen, storage lockers in every room, free tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel 41 Below reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing