We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Marcopolo Inn, Bariloche”
Review of Marcopolo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marcopolo Inn
Suffern, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Avoid the Marcopolo Inn, Bariloche”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Over-priced nonsense. The only thing the Marcopolo Inn had going for it was location. Definitely look elsewhere before pulling the trigger on a reservation at this place.
The staff enticed guests to stay by saying how breakfast and dinner were included. Both the breakfast and dinner were deplorable. In the morning, I was given a few pieces of bread and some butter. Prisoners eat better. Dinner was atrocious. One night it was a bowl of rice with a little tomato sauce on top. Another night it was a plate of overcooked, tasteless pasta. As if to add insult to injury, you have to wash your own dishes.
They advertised wifi, but I was told on check-in, ‘don’t expect it to work.’ Really? Reputable businesses don’t advertise services that they don’t really have.
The sheets and blankets on the bed were stained and disgusting. The room itself was no frills, with tiny, uncomfortable beds. The staff was stingy with the toilet paper. There was a bar next store that created quite a bit of noise to the wee hours. The receptionist lacked basic knowledge of the city – he didn’t know where the movie theater was.
In summary, you pay a lot to stay here and get little.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rucksack67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    89
    31
    12
    13
See reviews for
11
49
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
peshawar
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2011

when i into this hotel so nice and i very like this if ever when i come again i ll come here..

Room Tip: rooms at the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zabijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed there for two nights, after reserving almost a week. The first night was in a double room. It was a mediocre room, but not terrible, except that a double there costs much more than countless places of superior quality. (just on their street, there are two hotels that have doubles that are nicer for far less) The staff was a little icky, but not unbearably so- although watching the clerk rudely telling an older man (who had reserved a room on HostelWorld and not not confirmed 48 hours before) that they gave his room to someone else was a terrible experience. (yes, you can PAY money to HostelWorld and STILL not get your room. What a terrible system!)

The next night, we were joined by two friends and took all four beds in a dorm room. The hot water didn't work, and when we complained, we were told, yes, there's a problem, just wait for three hours and it will work. Rudely. As if we were CRAZY to expect hot water when we needed it, and waiting three more hours was entirely acceptable. The dorm room was considerably dingier and uglier than the double, too. The beds were missing boards and the reading light fell off the wall onto one of us.

Dinner was fine, though, and there's a nice atmosphere at dinner.

That night there was crazy noise all night long, and we couldn't sleep at all. And we were on one of the upper floors. We left even though we had paid a 10% advance for all the nights. The indifferent staff didn't even ask us why.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyalandhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I traveled to Bariloche in July 2008, not 2009, but this page doesn't alow me to use the real date (and I should have posted this comment at that time here on Trip Advisor too, I'm sorry for the late post and I hope they still publish this, since it can help many people).
The case is that this hostel (unfortunately) is a Hostelling International hostel, which makes us feel safe while booking. But this is not a safe place at all.
I traveled with a friend to Foz do Iguaçú, Buenos Aires and Bariloche, and on the first night there, while we where having the free dinner downstairs, somebody got inside my room (which was locked) and stole my backpack (full of things plus a digital camera and a moviemaker).
Staff from the hostel did nothing but go with us to the police. The point is: my stuff was in the 4th floor and they started to say that "somebody got my backpack from the window". I had no help at all, even when I came back to Brazil and continued sending emails to the hostel and Hostelling International. I also tried a help from the Tourism Secretary in Bariloche, but they said to me that the hostel wouldn't do anything for me. They also said that this wans't the first time something like that happened in Marcopollo Inn Bariloche.
I really hope this post is published. I have lots of emails sent to the Tourism Secretary in Bariloche, Hostelling International and to Marcopollo Inn Bariloche to prove that what I say here is truth.
Please, choose another place to enjoy your holidays and end up your trip happy and not sad as me, after losing all my pictures besides my stuff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

The hostel offers free breakfast and dinner as part of the deal and although simple meals, they're well prepared, healthy and tasty. I stayed on the top floor where it was very very quiet but overheard guest who were staying on the 1st and 2nd floors complaining about the noise from the common room at night. The room I had was clean but the shower was terrible, alternating between hot and cold and very poor pressure. Staff were friendly and helpful.

In high season (Jan/Feb) book in advance as they get booked out very quickly.

Small warning, do not book via Hostel World as I met 3 different people whose reservations were paid in advance and confirmed but when they arrived at the hostel itself, the reservation didn´t exist. Staff say this happens often with that system. You won´t be refunded - only will get a free meal at the hostel if you´re lucky!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We stayed in a double room and thought Marcopolo was good value for Bariloche - on a quiet street but close to center. The staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and wished we had booked the Irish hostel across the road. We felt that this hostel was overpriced. Our room was spacious, but when we opened the curtains we found ourselves staring at a brick wall (no wonder the curtains were closed when we arrived). The food was nice and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is not a bad hostel, but definitely overpriced. Everyone we talked to felt the same.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
3.3 mi away
Hosteria Del Viejo Molino
Hosteria Del Viejo Molino
#103 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
47 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Alun Nehuen
Hotel Alun Nehuen
#75 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#22 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#14 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#28 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#13 of 253 in San Carlos de Bariloche
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcopolo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcopolo Inn

Property: Marcopolo Inn
Address: Calle Salta 422, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ARH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 253 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marcopolo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marcopolo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing