We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Did not take resposibilty for losing my glasses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Puerto Pireo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas Puerto Pireo
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Did not take resposibilty for losing my glasses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just got back from there. The cabanas are nice but far from town. We went as a family of 6. Two of the children were supposed to sleep in the living room but it was really cold at night.
On the first day they have lost my glasses- during the day I use contact lenses but since I have a really high prescription it was critical for me to have them at night to attend to my baby. When we asked them about some kind of compansation they refused to take responsibility- they said it was my problem!!!
Also, at the pool there was a loose wooden board - I fell and bruised my leg and when we told the maintenance guy who was there, he did not seem very concerned. Thank God it was not one of my kids who got hurt...
In short, the view is beautiful but was it worth all the other troubles? not sure

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OshratM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I spent a week with my wife, my 2 daugthers and my parents. The place is charming... The pictures that you can find in the webpage are exactly what you find in the resort. The cabins have an excellent view to the lake, are well decorated and full equiped. The swimming pool is gorgeous! Impossible not relax there... Breakfast is excellent. The kayaks are available to be use at any time. The restaurant is fine... good option if you don't want to cook... Good food, reasonable prices. The employees are very gentle. I highly recommend Puerto Pireo. I wish I were there again in the future...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FedericoGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed at Cabanas Puerto Pireo for 3 nights in a Superior cabin and were very happy with our stay. The cabin was very clean, the fireplace was wonderful and the bed very comfy. The mini kitchen with two burner stove, microwave, sink and little fridge came in handy when we had leftovers from a couple of dinners.Also there is a grocery store a few miles down the road. Each morning we were served a nice breakfast in the room with juice, cheese/ham breads, jams and of course a little dulce de leche. Pool looked inviting although we did not get in and the rec room with kids small playroom was nice, also has one computer for guest use as well as a small gym. The staff was very friendly but speaks very minimal English - so be warned. Learn at least the basic Spanish particularly in regards to ordering breakfast. We loved our bedroom on the second floor with the large two person Jacuzzi and view of the lake. The rooms come with a DVD player and movies are available at the main office. Deck was small but nice. We stayed in a Superior room which was just perfect for the two of us. However it is marketed as suitable for 4. The cabin has two full baths, but the second bed is really the couch downstairs and we would imagine would be a little tight and not so private for the second couple., perfect for a family with two kids though. If you want to be off the beaten path and want a little home away from home, this place is perfect. We had one rainy day and were glad we had a cozy place to keep us entertained. Wish the weather would have been nicer so we could have used the kayaks! We would stay here again. Our travel tips - climb Cerro Llao Llao - spectacular views! Also our restaurant pick is El Chucaro.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

First I agree totally with the Nov 30 2008 review by Velo23. This person accurately described the property's assets. We stayed in the one bedroom cabin and found the view, the property grounds and the service to be very good. I would reccomend highly. We hired a sailboat and cabin recommended by the hotel and Pablo ( the sailboat captain) was awesome. He took us for a 3 hour plus sail around the lake and taught my husband how to sail the 24 ft boat during the time we were out. The cost of $100 seemed very reasonable and we had a great time. There is hiking, watersports and sight seeing every where you look.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

The place is wonderfull. The views are amazing. We were with 2 persons and we had a studio. The kichenette was a little bit to small to cook a meal. But the terras was great to sit in the morning for breakfast. The restaurant can bring your diner to your room if you want. The parking of the car is behind closed doors (away from the busy road which you didn't hear in your cabin).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenkatslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We are a family of four who stayed here for five nights in November, 2008. It exceeded our expectations in every way. From the location on the lake with views of the snow-capped Andes beyond, to the amenities, to the staff, everything was exceptional.

The two story cabin we stayed in had views of Lake Nahuel Huapi from every room and from the balcony. The cabins are new (built around 2002, we were told) and they seemed to have built with great attention to detail. The landscaping is lovely and obviously cared for by a staff that takes pride in their work and the location.

Breakfast is brought to your cabin every morning. Our kids (ages 7 and 10) absolutely loved kayaking in the lake every day. We even swam in the lake (though it's very cold!) There are also power boats and a sail boat you can hire for tours of Nahuel Huapi.

The staff is wonderful; kind, attentive, and always helpful. There is also a small workout room, a sauna, an indoor pool, and a game room with ping-pong table and Foosball table. Cabins have fireplaces, which we used. Each day the fireplace is magically cleaned out for you and when you return fresh kindling and wood is placed in the fireplace ready for you to fire up when the cool night air descends. Heaven! You can also borrow DVD movies to watch in your cabin.

The location is very peaceful, and far enough away from the crowded development around Bariloche, but still close to grocery stores and restaurants. It's also walking distance from a ski lift that takes you to the top of Cerro Campanario behind Puerto Pireo. The views here are tremendous. We rode to the top of Cerro Campanario on a horseback trip organized by Tom Wesley Cabalgatas, which is about a kilometer away from Puerto Pireo. Highly recommend Tom Wesley, too.

  • Liked — Location and amentities and staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank velo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Great place. Confortable and clean cabin. Bathtube, warm floor, nice bed, wonderfull view, good service, breakfast in cabin.
It´s a very good place to stay. 15 km from town, in frent of the Nahuel Huapi Lake. They have free transfer from/to airport, and daily transfer to Cerro Catedral Montain (in the winter time).
I´ve been there with my family (wife and two little girls).
Was great. They have a wonderfull swimming pool.
My kids loved it. A calm place to relax. During our stay there was snow and it was wonderfull.
Thanks, Pablo.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lucio_SaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
5.2 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#3 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
3.4 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#5 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 1,793 reviews
8.0 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#17 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
#19 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pailahue Lodge & Cabanas
Pailahue Lodge & Cabanas
#26 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Puerto Pireo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Puerto Pireo

Property: Cabanas Puerto Pireo
Address: Av. Bustillo Km 17,100, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 246 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cabanas Puerto Pireo 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerto Pireo is located on the shore of Nahuel Huapi Lake over Brazo Campanario.Due to its magnificent location, overlooking the lake, our cottages offer one of the best views from the shore. There are five fully equipped cottages for two, four, six and seven guests, with a magnificent view of the lake from all of its spacious rooms, due to the 20-metre distance from the shore of the lake.The cottages were built using cypress logs, stone and each have extensive windows with double panes, respecting the Andean-Patagonic style that characterizes this mountain village area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabanas Puerto Pireo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing