We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's why you came”
Review of Hotel Punta Condor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Punta Condor
Reviewed August 5, 2012

After getting to Buenos Aires, you come another 1000 miles to Bariloche in July/August to ski Cathedral mountain. The Hotel Punta Condor is adjacent to the entrance to the ski facility. It is maybe an 8 minute walk from the hotel to the gondola. Your picture window and balcony frames the ski slope, you wake up at 8 AM watching the moon rise over the mountain - they are on Buenos Aires time over here despite being due south of the Eastern Time Zone, so it's dark at 8 AM - and you hear the sounds of kids having great times on the slopes through your open window.

We are here for 7 days - no new snow, unfortunately, but enough man-made to make for good enough skiing. I suggest you check the weather reports online before coming.

The place is owned by a couple of ex-pats from French Switzerland. She makes breakfast and he cooks dinner. Breakfast buffet, which is included, has scrambled eggs, sliced meats and cheeses, juices, cereals, fresh fruits, yogurt drinks and lots of little pastries that were obviously just made. We've eaten twice here for dinner and couldn't have been more satisfied with the local trout, lamb and beef dishes being of special note. We've also eaten at the more famous places downtown in the city of Bariloche - 25 minutes and $20 USD via taxi - and, while the setting in those places was much more impressive, I can't say that the food was that much better. And after a day of skiing, it's great to dine in the hotel and then hit the bed and get ready for the next day's early rise to go skiing. (Keep in mind that the slopes close at 5 PM so you want to start early even though it is still dark at 8 AM)

Our dining tab for the 7 of us averaged around 1000 pesos or about 200 $US. That included huge appetizers any one of which could have fed the whole table.

The room was very clean and efficient. The bathing/toilet part of the bath was quite small but included a full tub and bidet and lots of heat and excellent water pressure. There is a small sink just outside. The main part of the room includes a sink, fridge, microwave, 2 burner stove and plates, silverware, etc. The beds are small but comfortable enough. The TV is satellite but when is there time to watch?

Again, if you are here in Bariloche to ski, why would you not stay alongside the mountain vs. waking up in the dark downtown and having to take a bus or taxi each way to get here? If you are not here to ski, different story.

Room Tip: We are staying in the main section but I don't know that it matters much if you get a better dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lafayette74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel was ok but not spectacular. Room was good but in a seperate lodge to main facilities so has to walk accross the road to get to the restaurant etc. Room was modern & clean with good view. Service was fine but food was only average and a bit expensive for what it was.
Location was good & I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Basil and Sybil Fawlty are please to advise that they have left Torquay and have taken up residence in the ski resort of Bariloche.
A buddy and I booked a week in a room that was supposed to be "2 seperate sleeping areas with a shared bathroom". What we got was a room with a tiny bedroom and a kitchenette with a day bed. The double bed was actually 2 (old) single beds pushed together with nothing connecting them but the sheet, so of course you fall inot the gap that opens in the middle. The curtains provide no privacy whatsoever, so anyone passing by the room can look in and see the person sleeping/changing in the kitchenette. The bedding was a disgrace, pancakes for pillows, army surplus grubby blankets and ripped sheets. Worse still was the fact that the room was directly over the boiler, so even with the heating turned off and the windows open (while it was snowing) the room was an oven. After one (dreadful) night we complained and after considerable argument, we agreed to change to 2 single rooms for an additional US$220 each. Upon checkout they charged us US$277 each and we had to argue again for 40 minutes to get them to honor the previous agreement.
The hotel has no internal stairs or corridors, all are outdoors, exposed to the weather, so to get from your room to the lobby or restaurant, you have to dress for an arctic expedition. What genius thought that would be a good idea for a ski resort hotel? Whe leaving, we had to drag our luggage unaided down 4 flights of wooden snow-covered stairs, across a snow drift covered car park and 100 yards up a slushy road, becuase they could not be bothered to clear the driveway for the pick up vehicle.

Food and beverage in Argentina is generally good and inexpensive, not here. Mediocre quality and overpriced. Try and get a gin and tonic at the bar - they've never heard of tonic . The so called restaurant/bar is actually a basic cafeteria next to the reception desk with no atmosphere. There is no where to sit and relax comfortably in the entire place.
Your hosts are a delightful couple. He (Basil) is a dour chap who never comes out of his office, and she (Sybil) is an unfriendly, cold fish who rarely says hello, and spent the entire week shooting dirty looks at me for having the nerve to complain.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skiguy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is the best Villa Catedral´s Hotel. In recommended this hotel!!! Its in Vulla Catedral Base and the rooms are cleans and bigs. I very like it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feli97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: no lo recomiendo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank artigabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cjcrosara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.3 mi away
Galileo Boutique Hotel
Galileo Boutique Hotel
#28 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
243 reviews
9.1 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,279 reviews
6.9 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#10 of 258 in San Carlos de Bariloche
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hosteria Del Viejo Molino
Hosteria Del Viejo Molino
#77 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
54 reviews
7 mi away
La Surena Hosteria
La Surena Hosteria
#115 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
97 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tangoinn Downtown
Tangoinn Downtown
#105 of 258 in San Carlos de Bariloche
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Condor

Address: Cerro Catedral | Calle Martin Jereb 10066 - Cerro Catedral, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 258 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $109 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Condor 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Punta Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing