We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Incredible natural beauty and attentive service from family members that have built this place as a labor of love.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tronador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tronador
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible natural beauty and attentive service from family members that have built this place as a labor of love.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our two night stay here was a thank you present to my dear husband who came to Bariloche with me so I could study Spanish one-on-one for a month. We so much enjoyed our stay her. Three meals a day are included in the price since they are way out of town and they have a huge garden so most of the fruits and vegetables served are raised by the descendents of the family members that constructed the beautiful wood and stone buildings. We walked to a nearby waterfall our first day and took an adventurous horseback ride the second. It was a highlight at the end of our ride to walk quite a way into the milky, sky-blue water of the lake to look across at the hotel sitting on the opposite shore. Everything here is so photogenic. We loved this place and my thoughts have returned to it many times even though it has been more than a year and a half since our stay in January of 2011. Thank you, dear famiy that runs this hotel, for the beautiful times we spent here with you. Verona and Larry Jacobson

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cullom_nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    11
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Fantastic setting, lovely hotel. I have nothing much to add to the other reviews - except that if you are driving then you do need to check the road access to the hotel. The last 10km of (dirt) road to the hotel is one way only, and the traffic goes in one direction for various periods of the day. Basically - you can only drive to the hotel in the morning, and drive from the hotel in the afternoon (although I think that before 10.30am and after 7.30pm you can drive either way). The hotel has all the road times listed on its website.

The hotel is very comfortable, but it is very dated! I'm not suggesting this is a bad thing, everything is still very good condition, but it does feel like a bit of a time warp! It's got a 70's feel about it, and you won't find much modern stuff here - which does add to the appeal. But - soup, cheese souffle, and beef stroganoff for dinner! Its like I'm a kid again and my mom is cooking for a dinner party!!

Great service at the hotel, we had a fantastic horse ride and good day out fishing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MurrayMantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

What a wonderful retreat! The Nahuel Hapi National park is breathtaking, and to have a hotel like this in the midst of it is such a treat! They have their own dairy and orchards, so food is excellent and very local, i.e., home-made ice cream and pasta. The owners take great pride and are all involved in running the hotel and activities. Nearby hikes are very scenic, fishing is plentiful (i caught 4 and the hotel cooked 2 for us). Activities may be a bit expensive, but the all-in food/ board package of $120/pp per night is a great value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlenejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We Stayed here for nearly a week and loved it. Everyone is so friendly and the location is unbeatable. We saw so much wildlife during our time there and we weren't even looking, the humming birds just amazed us. It is a quirky hotel and out of the way which is reflected in the restaurant standard a bit. Nothing can beat the tranquility though.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

The setting of this hotel is fabulous. Spend the extra money and get a room with a balcony over the lake. Our room had a marvelous view over the lake and mountains. The rooms are simple, immaculate and the furniture reminds me of danish furniture. The same family has owned the hotel for over 50 years and are extremely helpful with hiking information. They also have boats that will take you across the lake for wonderful hikes. One can also start hiking right outside the hotel. Meals are included and they were all delicious. I felt I was in the Swiss alps with the owner being a Swiss women.

Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We are on our third visit to Argentina and are renting a house in Bariloche for a couple of months. On one of our trips to the nearby lakes for my husband to fly-fish I was hiking and came across Hotel Tronador hidden in the forest at the edge of Lago Mascardi in the southern section of national park Nahuel Huapi. It sits in solitary splendour amid immaculately kept gardens and I fell in love with it immediately. Upon enquiry we found out that there was a room available over Christmas so booked for a 3 night stay; we had such a great time we extended to 4 nights and could have stayed longer. In fact we have rearranged our travel schedule to include 3 more stays; 1 each in January, February and April. The hotel closes in April for the winter and reopens each November.
The hotel is family run and the welcome is such that one feels as if one is staying in a family home and not a hotel. All the staff are excellent and provide service with a smile no matter how busy. Our room was very comfortable with a king bed and a balcony with fantastic lake views. There are different styles and sizes of rooms so check that when booking.
The food was homemade with fresh ingredients and on Christmas Day we had Stollen at breakfast and at lunch there was an asado with delicious, melt-in the-mouth Patagonian lamb and also beef plus lots of salads and vegetables. To start we were served empanadas which were the best we have eaten anywhere in Argentina; and we have tried a lot.
We did lots of hiking and also a wonderful horse-ride through fields of wild lupins. My husband fly-fished every day and although the rule in Argentina is generally 'catch and release' it seems that on certain lakes one is allowed to keep a fish to eat. So, after catching a beautiful big rainbow trout on Christmas Day, we asked the chef to cook it for us for dinner the next day. Wow, it was delicious. Stuffed with mushrooms and vegetables and baked; the best ever; compliments to the chef.
We had an idyllic stay and it is one of our favourite places anywhere in the world. I suppose that the perfect summer weather was a factor with clear blue skies every day but we are looking forward to returning in the autumn to see the changing colours of the forest. I could write so much more about this wonderful place but only need to say that if you love nature and tranquility then this is a very special place to visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed two nights at this magnificent hotel. A very warm welcome. The room was nice, nothing spectacular but comfortable beds and a great view. Since you are in a National Park you need to keep in mind that you can only go up hill and down hill at certain times, so come prepared. We made two excellent walks from the hotel. Beautiful scenery. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast at the hotel and all was very good, lots of home made stuff and cooked with love, great selection of wines and Paula, the server, was such a great person. Even though it was too quiet due to the airport closed because of volcanic ashes this place deserves a visit, it is very well located and we did not experience any discomfort from the volcano like we have now in Bariloche. So pack your bags and go. Excellent value for money in a dream location. Applause !!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos de Bariloche
771.7 mi away
Tronador Hotel
Tronador Hotel
#19 of 157 in Mar del Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Puerto Blest
Hotel Puerto Blest
#47 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Tunquelen
Hotel Tunquelen
#33 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Rochester Hotel Bariloche
Rochester Hotel Bariloche
#26 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
4.9 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
5.5 mi away
Apart Hotel del Arroyo
Apart Hotel del Arroyo
#17 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tronador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tronador

Property: Hotel Tronador
Address: | Dentro del Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi. A orillas del Lago Mascardi, San Carlos de Bariloche R8405AZA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 136 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tronador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing