We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delight in Bariloche”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Casco Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Casco Art Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
199 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A Delight in Bariloche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We loved everything about this property. In fact it was one of our favorite stays during a three week trip through Argentina. Every place you look is filled with Latin American Art. The rooms are large, bathrooms spacious with all the amenities you could need.
The pool and gym area are beautiful. The restaurant is refined and serves local dishes. Try the tomato salad at dinner. The chef has come up with a fantastic dish. For breakfast you can get smoked local trout and eggs to your liking. Just ask for what you want. The service and assistance you receive at this hotel is world-class. English is easily spoken by most. It is located in the middle of Bariloche and is a short and inexpensive taxi ride to town or Llao Llao (another small more remote city).

Room Tip: Our room had a beautiful view of the lake, mountains and art filled garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOL305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    66
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
79
189
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Nice hotel, overlooking the lake, but we were SO disappointed with the position, right beside the main road that runs along the lake. Constant traffic noise and nowhere to walk. The garden is small. We also had dead flowers in our bedroom. The staff are all charming and helpful. We ate in the restaurant twice and the menu was limited and did not change, although it was delicious. You defintely need to have a hire car here to see the area. Such a shame the road and the noise spoilt it for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandSHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I was part of a small group traveling through Patagonia and Chile. The Casco Arts Hotel was my favorite. I did not want to leave. The outside terraces are beautifully landscaped with fragrant mounds of lavander and plentiful seating areas overlooking the magnificent lake. I never heard any road traffic except when pulling up to the front of the hotel. We took a taxi to the Llao Llao Resort, which is magnificent. I would not stay there after experiencing a somewhat unfriendly staff and an expensive and disappointing dinner.

The dinner at the Casco Arts Hotel was far superior, and the staff was consistently kind, courteous, and eager to please. The rooms facing the lake are a must---ideally with a balcony or terrace. I dream about returning to the Casco Arts Hotel. My fellow travelers enjoyed the spa for excellent massages. Terrific place to relax and use as a base for hiking and kayaking.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SierraMadretravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Definitely request a room overlooking the lake--it looked like it was made of glass. Beautiful hotel with easy access to the town and surrounding nature. I preferred this location to Llao Llao, which is much father away from everything. Rooms were extremely comfortable with nice amenities. Dinner at the restaurant was nice, I will agree that breakfast could have been a little better. I enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool as well.

I liked that the hotel was on the main road--made it super easy to hop on the public bus into Bariloche if you didn't have a car.

Overall this is a beautiful part of Argentina and is not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

This is the second time we have been to this charming hotel. We were so pleased to be back in our lovely room overlooking the lake with its own private terrace and gorgeous view. As before we enjoyed the very spacious and very well presented room with its comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom. The boutique size of the hotel is perfect and the ambiance is one of welcome, warmth and friendliness. We were very well looked after by the delightful staff who helped to make our stay so perfect. The views, the decor and art work are wonderful.We have traveled far and wide and this still remains our favorite hotel. We were so sorry to leave. Do not miss it. It is a delight.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uk-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

What we experienced was no 5-star level at all. The hotel is located directly at the lake with a very lovely view from the room. What the hotel pictures don't tell is that the major road is directly behind the hotel. You will hear the cars from the pool, from the terrace and from the room - even with the windows closed. No sleep possible. The breakfast is a total desaster: One sort of cheese, one sort of ham, cereals, honey - that's it. And you have to pay extra for your coffee. We would recommed to book the Llao Llao Hotel or the Las Balsas at the other side of the lake. There you will get the luxury and tranquillity one would expect in this price range.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheLuxuryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We were booked for 3 nights at El Casco but were only able to spend 2 there because of a flight cancellation. The lost night is one of the few regrets of our trip to South America, as El Casco is truly one of the very best hotels we have ever visited. The moment we arrived we were amazed by the location, the views, the quality and the staff. After a 20-hour bus ride from Buenos Aires El Casco provided everything we could have wished for.

The room was the best that we stayed in during 3 weeks in South America, with an absolutely stunning view over the lake. The restaurant was top class, with very helpful and polite staff.

We would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone planning a visit to Bariloche.

Room Tip: The lake view is not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.2 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
6.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
5.1 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#19 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
4.5 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Port...
#16 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Casco Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Casco Art Hotel

Property: El Casco Art Hotel
Address: Av. Bustillo Km 11,5 | Bariloche, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Casco Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of Nahuel Huapi Lake, in one of the most beautiful spots in Patagonia, in the Lake District, and just 15 minutes away from Bariloche city, and from Cerro Catedral ski resort, El Casco Art Hotel blends with the landscape with its stylish architecture, design, and refined tranquility.Intimacy, privacy and personalized service are our main goal, and each of the 33 rooms and suites have original works of art, air-conditioning, state-of-the-art plasma TVs, DVD & sound equipment, WiFi internet connection, Frette sheets (Italy), well appointed amenities, and best of all, direct vistas of the Nahuel Huapi Lake at only 40 metres away, which contributes to make your stay a total delight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Casco Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Casco Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing