We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We came here for our honeymoon after reading the reviews on tripadvisor..we were a little sceptically and somewhat torn between the Llao Llao hotel and this one..and we were so glad we picked this one...
from the minute we booked this place to the minute we left...everything was perfect.
So let me break this review down:
Booking Process:
I booked this place for the heavy xmas season..was a little tough due to availability since this is a small property with 10 rooms...received prompt replies and perfect seamless booking process.
I was having a hard time getting rental car and the staff went out of their way to get me a car...organized perfectly..they came to pick me up at the airport with the car.

The property
The property itself is in a top notch location...it is off the beaten path so i do recommend renting a car..if not...restaurants and stuff will come pick you up..beautiful location on the lake facing the beautiful mountains...
very rustic...home type feeling...with luxury...

The rooms
the rooms are generously sized..we had the Cerro Lopez room which was beautiful with a balcony and recliners and days beds...a good stereo system....and the only hotel on my trip where wifi was available everywhere in the hotel..and good bandwidth too.
The rooms were very luxurious

The Staff
The staff is what makes the hotel stand out..everyone made us feel at home...from the minute we walked in to the moment we left...everyone knew us on a first name basis...and let me tell...we are English speakers with 0 Spanish...and this place was quite a relief since everyone spoke good English..

Summary...
all in all..this is a great property....i would go back in a heart beat...after we left here we went and stayed at the four seasons in Buenos Aires and were still missing Aldebaran

This hotel is a MUST!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F1NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 316 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2009

Located overlooking the shores of Nahuel Huapi Lake, about 20 minutes from the centre of town. Charming boutique hotel, lovely bedrooms with private balconies, a spa and a small outdoor/indoor pool. Had a delicious gourmet dinner in the restaurant one evening, as welll as lunch one day. Breakfast is a small but excellent buffet and one can order eggs. The staff is superb. the only negative is that it is quite far out of town but the hotel more than makes up for it in all other aspects.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exploraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Aldebaran while vacationing in the Bariloche area and had a wonderful experience. It's situated about 20 minutes by car outside of town -- a major plus if you're looking to avoid crowds -- and about 5 minutes down a dirt road with a series of lefts and rights. If you're renting a car, you want to arrive during daylight hours as it would be easy to get lost at night before you become familiar with the area. The hotel sits lakeside and our room, number 2, had a balcony with a view above the tree line with the lake and mountains in the foreground. The room was very large with a huge bed, day bed and comfy chair all oriented toward the floor-to-ceiling window overlooking the lake. The furnishings and color scheme of the room match the outdoor tones so the indoor/outdoor separation starts to mely away. We found ourselves sitting for extended periods simply staring out the window and watching the interplay of sun, clouds, lake and mountains.
The public areas also benefit from some great design choices. There are many cozy nooks and crannies in which to settle with a good book or a glass of wine, all with terrific views.
Inns like this, however, are always about the service and here is where Aldebaran truly excelled. Sofia, Cecilia, Lorena and everyone else made us feel at home immediately and offered us many suggestions on day-trips, activities, etc. and even helped us with a flat tire on the last day of our stay. As our stay progressed we got to know each of them and were truly sad to say goodbye.
The Aldebaran would be the perfect choice for those looking for a quiet getaway in a beautiful location and service with a personal touch.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmarclevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Hi,

Recently stayed at the Aldebaran in February this year as I decided to treat my girlfriend for her birthday on our 6 month tour of South America.

Regardless of the fact we were doing the hostel ciruit, it is without doubt one of the lovliest hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world. The setting takes your breath away and the view from our room was if someone had painted a postcard on the balcony doors. The walk down to the jetty was unbelievable!!

Food was amazing and the service was incredible. Alejandro even bought Michelle a cake and a free bottle of Champagne for her birthday.

Bariloche is one of the most beautiful places in Argentina and the Aldebaran is quite simply gorgeous!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeyface69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

The biggest wow factor with Aldebaran is the view of the lake and mountains. As we travelled in low season (October) we were upgraded to a lake view room.

It is certainly off the beaten track which was its appeal in choosing it. Its about 25km out of Bariloche and the last 4 km or so is on a dirt road. We hired a car so getting to and from was no issue. Other guests did not have a car and they called taxis – some restaurants even came and picked them up.

The common lounge area was very nice, again with that great view. The restaurant had great food, it was on the high side though for Argentina, especially given there are some amazing restaurants around charging similar prices for some of the best food we have ever eaten. The drinks eg beer, cocktails were also quite expensive for Argentina, more like Australian prices. You would generally expect to pay high prices for food and drink in and expensive hotel, but we didn’t seem to find this in some other places we stayed at in Argentina. So our claim that it was expensive I guess should be expected, we were just spoiled by hotels in other parts of the country suing their in house restaurant more as a service to guests rather than a profit centre.

Having said all that we would definitely stay here again, being about 23 km out on the main road out from town means you are closer to some great restaurants and also closer to Llao Llao resort and the lakes drive.

As we hired a car we drove around the lakes ourselves. The 7 lakes tour is long which is not an issue but be warned that there was around 1 hour on dirt road so if you are not used to driving on dirt maybe cut that part out. We are used to dirt roads in country Australia so it was no problem for us. Others drivers were just taking it very slowly, which is safe but slow – probably about 40km per hour so factor that into your trip calculations.

We also used the pool and sauna which were nice. There was a computer with internet access in the lounge, due to the location the internet was quite slow, but that's the same most places in the world once you get out of the towns.

Restaurants we went to were Butterfly and Yuco (pronounced Zuco) amek sure you look them up in the reviews - both were great. Having been to many of Australia's top restaurants, Butterfly has to be up there with some of the best in the world.

The staff were helpful when asked but weren't so proactive. It was low season though so maybe some staff were on leave. Maybe they are just respecting guests privacy and don't want to crowd them too much.

This was an amazing place to stay, we did have better service at other places eg in Mendoza – it was tough for any place we stayed at after Lares de Chacras to compare with their service. The view and the rooms were fanstastic.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney_foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Wow - what can I say. We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon and really loved it. We had a wonderful room on the first floor with a big picture window looking out over the lake and mountains. The balcony was good and caught the sun in the evenings. We were greated by a bottle of champagne when we arrived as well which was a lovely touch. The food and wine selection was also superb. For a relatively small, quiet out of the way hotel the food really was excellent. Ther service was second to none - really helpful if needed but in the background and left you to lounge around anywhere you wanted. There are no TV's in the room but there is a TV room with a selection of DVD's if you want to watch something. Really the view is all you want to look at though! There is a small indoor/outdoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and spa room. The pool was warm enough to swim in in winter but only just. We have plans to return to this hotel just as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londongirl070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at the Aldebaran for 3 nights in July, based on other reviews and they were right on. It's location is off the beaten path but near Bariloche, skiing, great restaurants & the Circuito Chico.
Our room had amazing views, fantastic furnishings, a huge bathroom, nice balcony & big closets. The public space of the hotel is very beautiful with a cozy fireplace and very comfortable furnishings.
Everyone who works there made us feel right at home and helped us book horseback riding, restaurant reservations & gave us great feedback on the area.
The spa is huge and includes a jacuzzi, indoor / outdoor pool, sauna & massage rooms.
The restaurant was perfectly situated within the hotel and we ate nice breakfasts and a very good dinner there.
I would stay at the Alderbaran again and recommend it to anyone traveling to Bariloche!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CubbyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
5.5 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#3 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,640 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,021 reviews
3.4 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#4 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
680 reviews
5.6 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
313 reviews
1 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldebaran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldebaran Hotel & Spa

Address: Loica 2327 | Peninsula San Pedro, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $130 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aldebaran Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aldebaran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldebaran Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Aldebaran Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing