We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldebaran Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 4/2014 for 4 nights. We had excellent service in every way, with helpful tips on places to see, reservations for restaurants and events made for us, taxis called. The chef made some fantastic meals (try the trout, cooked in butter and lemon) and the breakfasts were very generous. They will even make you bacon and eggs. In the ferro Lopez room, you have a great soaking tub and a wonderful lake view, with a nice balcony. Very highly recommended. They also have a great masseuse (Melina) who does an honest hour-long deep tissue massage to die for, for $280AR!

Room Tip: see review verbiage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    31
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
164
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Capilla del Monte, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have stayed in Aldebaran en February 2014 for two nights. The place is just a magical corner of the world. Very quiet, surrounded by a beautiful views - there is no better place to stay while in Bariloche area. Very personalize service and very friendly stuff (Mercedes, Jose, Alex) made us feel like at home. I would definitely recommend that place to any one who wants to get lost in the Patagonian nature with a great service and all the commodity. We will be back for sure :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our stay at Aldevaran was perfect! Yes it's far from the town but this is more of an advantage as it is far from the crowds and tourists and closer to the lake, the incredible views and the peacefulness of the forest. The rooms are large and well decorated and the ones with the balconies really are the best ones. I also love the fact that there are so many living areas to watch movies, play chess, make a fire, all with views over the lake, it gives a real homey feeling. The restaurant is one of the best we had in Argentina, the chef Fernando is great! This review would not be complete without saying how nice, helpful and dedicated the staff is, cheers and many thanks to Alexandra and Sofia!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We loved this hotel! we stayed there for 8 nights during our honeymoon this last september. it was really cold so we stayed in most of the time and honestly- we didnt want to leave at all.Our room was perfect! very spacious, beautiful view, great breakfast we also loved that it is a small boutique hotel and the design is so comfy and beautufull that it made us feel at home.
But the best part of the stay at Aldebaran was definaley the people who work and manage the hotel, especially Jose- he made our stay so special- I can't say enough good things about him- so helpfull always with a smile and going out of his way to make us feel at home. We are so happy that we got to meet such a truly amazing person- we really feel that through meeting him and having great conversations with him we got to know the essence of the people of argentina and it was definatley the best part of staying at Aldebaran,
We highly recommend this hotel!!it is perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Efrat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We loved this hotel! It was truly amazing. Our room was perfect (and large), the spa area was really nice, and the grounds were beautiful. It feels very private and is great for couples. We can't say enough good things about this place. The entire staff, from Jose to Alex were so unbelievably helpful and bent over backwards to help us. We rented a car one day and they had the rental car delivered to our hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at Aldebaran in March 2014 for our honeymoon. The first thing that I might say about this establishment is thats it is far from the description made on their website. First, it is NOT a boutique hotel but a guesthouse with a few rooms, poorly decorated and not comfy.
Second, the "spa" is a tiny room with a tiny massage bed that doesn't seem very clean..next to a "Sauna". Even the swimming pool both inside and outside are poorly maintained. Lets say its not a nice area where you can just chill and relax.
Moreover, the all place is more than 30 minutes from the center and far away from any attraction.
The staff is nice and tries to help but there's nothing you can do when there is only one person in charge of cooking, answering the guests' questions, making reservations and managing the hotel. At some point the receptionist proposed to cook us a meal since there was no one in the kitchen.
Last but not least, the food that was supposed to be great, was way below our expectations, not to say barely eatable.
I highly recommend avoiding this place unless you are willing to pay 400$ to stay far away from the center, in a place where you can only hear the barking of the dogs and the squeaking of the doors and floor...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleonore w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at Hotel Aldebaran in Bariloche during our honeymoon trip to Argentina.

1) At $340 + 21% VAT per night, the deluxe suite (Cerro Lopez suite) at this hotel is way overpriced for the level of service and quality of the room that is being offered. The room is quite spacious but furbished in a very basic way. Although it offers a nice view of the surrounding lake, the hotel did not care to install comfortable chairs on the balcony to enjoy the view. Instead, there were tiny metallic chairs, highly uncomfortable. The bathroom area was quite basic too. Definitely not worth paying over 400 USD a night.

2) The hotel is almost run as a one-man show, with two receptionists shifting between the day and night shifts. They are responsible for managing the hotel on a day–to-day basis, for arranging activities for guests, for sometimes even cooking meals for guests when the kitchen staff is taking a break. This leads to rather uncomfortable situations, such as: when arriving at the hotel, I was asked to carry our bags all the way up to our room as the receptionnist was by herself and could not assist. Not something you would expect for such a price tag per night.

3) The hotel portrays itself as a Hotel & Spa – something which could not be further from the truth. The Spa area is run down and badly maintained. Certainly not a Spa as you would expect from a hotel charging such prices. It has an outside and inside pool area and a jacuzzi, the quality of which reminded me of a 2-star hotel in France.

4) The hotel markets its restaurant (Sirius) very actively in Bariloche as a high quality restaurant. We had dinner and lunch there and found the food to be not tasty. Service at dinner was offered by one of the receptionists, turned waiter for the evening. Pricing was also too expensive compared to quality of food served.

5) The biggest downside of Aldebaran is that it is way too far from town and from everything else in Bariloche. The distance is not compensated by anything. Not the views, not the service, not the quality or the design, not the price. Its about 30mins drive from town to get to KM.20 and another 10mins to get to the Hotel from there. If you like to be in very remote places with nothing around you, you might like this.

Bottom line: Aldebaran has a good marketing through its website. But don’t be fooled by the nice design of the webpages. It is a two-star hotel at best. Not worth the price. There are much better places to be found in beautiful Bariloche at much greater value.

One positive side in our entire experience: Alexandra, one of the receptionnists, was very helpful in trying to recover my losyt I-pad with the airline company. (unfortunately it didn’t get recovered).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
5.5 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
3.4 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#17 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
5.7 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldebaran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldebaran Hotel & Spa

Property: Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Address: Loica 2327 | Peninsula San Pedro, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#13 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aldebaran Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Aldebaran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldebaran Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Aldebaran Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing