We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An easy side trip from San Carlos de Bariloche” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro Otto

Cerro Otto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“An easy side trip from San Carlos de Bariloche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Cerro Otto on our last day in Bariloche, because it was a short trip and we had an afternoon bus to catch to Mendoza. It's a quick drive from San Carlos de Bariloche, and you hop on a gondola for a ride up the mountain. The gondola does get hot in the sun, and you have to hold the window open or it pops shut, which was annoying. The windows are kind of scratched, so you won't get very good photos from there either. However, the top of the mountain has a great view of the lake and towns below. For those who are unable to hike, this is a good, easy way to get a great view. For those who do like to hike, like me, you can actually get up the mountain by a trail, but I'm not sure where it is. You'd have to ask a local. Once you're at the top, there is a relatively short hike down then up the neighboring hill. There are fewer people there, and it's been left natural, as opposed to where the gondolas come in. At first I though the rotating restaurant would be kind of corny, but it was actually very cool! We had to have lunch somewhere, so we decided to stay. The food was very simple but surprisingly good. I had the grilled trout and potatoes, which tasted fresh. It was the perfect way to spend the morning.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank litlhafgost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,883
    1,806
    620
    114
    53
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to the top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had the chance to visit Bariloche during Feb/March, and one of the places to visit was Cerro Otto
This is famous not only because of the amazing views, but also for the rotating cafeteria.
The gondola that will take you up and down is $110 (around USD20). If you're a trekking fan, you can also go to the top walking, but let me tell you that it is not the easiest thing to do, and besides, you can do some walking once you're up there, as there are several rails to follow and enjoy the views
The restaurant/cafeteria, of course, rotates, 360, so you can be seated in one spot, and will get to see the full picture (is funny when somebody goes to the restroom, for instance, and the come back and can't find you as you are "rotating", haha)
The service is just ok, but found the prices to be pretty good, considering where you are and that they are the only place serving food/beverages)
Besides the trekking rails you can find, there's also an art gallery (not sure I can call it that) where you can see a real replica of Michelangelo's David....but if you don't have the time to check it out, nothing important will be missed.
The one thing that nobody seems to promote is the "Otto Kart", which is like an inflatable tire you'll ride, and go through a 300mts road, going down.....I believe it was like USD10, and you get to do it 3 times...it was soooo much fan!!! If you have the chance, do it, we were a group of 4 and all enjoyed it very much
Now, regarding the views, AMAZING
Last but not least, there's a free bus that will take you town center

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank malter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome siteseeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Getting in the Cerro by cablecar is just the begning of the fun The view is great at 360º and there are many awesome siteseeing for taking photos.
The round shaped restaurant at the Cerros top slowly turns, giving you all the view while having lunch. Food and service are great.

Helpful?
2 Thank Aufcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have a cup of coffee in the rotating restaurant while enjoying the wonderful views. If you are fit, it is a nice 3 hour walk down and back to the parking lot down at the cable car

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank marjawim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

At 110 pesos (around $15 USD) the two way gondola trip is well worth it. The views are stunning at the top and you can enjoy a nice cheap coffee ($3) in the revolving cafe. Free bus from the centre of town. There is also wifi at the base and the cafe which is a nice touch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PocitosGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro Otto also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Cerro Otto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing