We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
322
19
9
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
19
9
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main househorse ridingcocktail hourreubenother guestscontinental dividemagical placelake gutierrezcrystal clear lakehorse backseparate cabinsdogs and catsinteresting peopleheaven on earthlunches and dinnersidyllic locationgolden retriever
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 356 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2017

I cannot say enough about this estancia - a treasure in Patagonia! The owners and staff are incredibly friendly and made you feel like it was your home away from home. We enjoyed the horseback riding, kayaking and yoga. The meals were made from ingredients from the garden. The whole experience was an absolute dream. Highly, highly recommend this place!

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fgalia2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Director Comercial at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Dear fgalia2017,
Thank you for your lovely review! We're glad you could enjoy the beautiful summer activities, view and food :) It was great to have you and your family with us and we hope we can receive you again soon!
Best,
The Peuma Hue team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017

This estancia, which was built in the late 90', is in one of the most beautiful settings one can imagine. Set on Lake Gutierrez about 30 minutes from Barlioche, you are in a very isolated site with easy access to hiking, horse backing riding, kayaking, trekking or just mountain watching. A real advantage is that you can do all these activities right out the front door. Additional services such as spa, various lessons such as yoga,Tango or wine tastings can be arranged.
If you chose to go " full board" you will be delighted with four great meals; breakfast with many items many of which are homemade, to choose from, lunch, cocktails with sumptuous appetizers, and then dinner. Food is well done and the service is attentive. They have delightful selection of local wines.
The staff is very attentive and make you feel very welcomed. They are knowledgeable about the area and happy to help with any needs you may have. Animal " staff" ( such as Ghandi , the senior Golden retriever) are also great and will be happy to join you on any of your treks. They some times know the routes better than you might imagine.
The only down side is that the rooms could use some freshening up and the bathrooms some updating.

Room Tip: If you are a family traveling you may want to consider one of the cabins.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Director Comercial at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

Dear Doc687,
Thank you for your review! We're glad you had a good time during your sty, and that you got the chance to enjoy our activities and meals. We'd also like to thank you for the feedback regarding the rooms, we've taking it into account along with others and as a result this May and June we'll be undergoing renovation (we actually already started sanding the floors in the Main House!). We hope you can visit us again soon and see it for yourself!
Best regards,

The Peuma Hue team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017

Our trip to Argentina began with a few days in Buenos Aires and ended with a heavenly week at Peuma Hue. While Buenos Aires was quite hot in January, it was perfect in the valley of PH nestled between the Mountains, on the shore of Lago Gutierez. We flew into Bariloche and drove 30 minutes to PH where we were met by Evie the owner and showed to our room. Our two bedroom, two level cabin was rustic but fully equipped and very private, comfortably accommodating four adults. Though it had a very serviceable kitchen we opted to eat meals in the main lodge, a 2-minute walk from our cabin. Breakfast was buffet style offering baked goods and fresh made omelets and egg dishes. Lunches and dinners were served and included three courses with desert. The food was healthy, local and offered vegetarian options, which according to our daughter, were excellent. The food would rival any upscale restaurant in New York though a buffet style lunch and an occasional classic Argentinian barbecue for dinner might be more in keeping with the comfortable style of the setting.

The most captivating aspects of the experience were the spectacular location and interacting with the animals living on the estancia. The horses, free to wander among the cabins located on the far side of the creek, were curious and friendly, spontaneously approaching us for a nuzzle and a visit. Evie has three playful golden retrievers that can be “borrowed” for hikes and there are cats free to wander outside and around the stables. There is an array of birds and geese for those more interested in watching.

Activities abound and satisfy a range of interests. My daughter and I joined the trail rides almost every day. These are not like American rides, they were longer with beautiful scenery and offered the chance to stop in the open glades for those of us who wanted to canter. We kayaked around the lake in the morning and enjoyed an expertly run yoga session afterward.

Reuben, one of the partners, has mapped out hiking trails ranging from 2 to 6 miles and offering a range of difficulty. These hikes led into the surrounding mountains and had amazing panoramic views of neighboring valleys. Several of us are quite active—runners and swimmers—and the hikes were welcome and adequate exercise especially given the twice-daily three-course meals. Several in our group were more interested in relaxing outside by the lake to read or nap. There was something for everyone. We're already planning our return trip.

Room Tip: If you like to have horses wandering by, request a room on the far side of the creek.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank taitmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Director Comercial at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Hello Tait,
Thank you so much for your review! It's truly heartwarming to read you and your family had such a good, relaxing time. We'll keep your suggestions in mind regarding the meals!
We hope to see you again soon!
Warm regards,

The Peuma Hue team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017

We arrived in late fall, the beginning of the off season. The estancia was getting ready to go somewhat dormant for the winter. Jessica arranged for a car to meet us at the airport and take us to the estancia. We had a beautiful lake view room in the main building, Poplar House. We had the entire estancia to ourselves, talk about being spoiled by the staff, Luis the GM and Jessica were extremely hospitable and accommodating. Our room with small seating area, king bed and dressing area was warm, very clean and comfortable. The estancia has the fresh feel of a beautiful log cabin in the woods, situated on a beautiful lake front. Mountains tower above the estate, snow dusted their rocky face, the air chilly and fresh. The daily breakfast, lunch and dinner menu was superb. Gourmet dinners with fresh vegetables, fish, steak was fantastic. The staff made sure there was a warm fire in the living room at the end of each day so we could enjoy a glass of wine and sit by the fire to end our day. The estancia offers many activities, horseback riding, hiking, boating on the lake are just a few. We definitely want to return to Peuma Hue, the experience was unforgettable, difficult to put into words. It MUST be experienced. Jessie, give Moreida and Barack an apple for us!

Room Tip: We loved the main building with lake and mountain views
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalosVerdesAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Director Comercial at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Thanks for writing this amazing review! We're thankful that you had the best of the autumn weather -- crisp days, sunny but chilly, perfect for a stroll in the woods or a ride by the lake! We're especially glad you felt taken care of, that's our main goal above all :) We hope to see you again soon!
Best,

The Peuma Hue team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2017

Peuma Hue is a place you will remember for your lifetime, a place of beauty and calm where you will be restored to your best self. There is every comfort, but the magic is in the hikes, the horses, the Andes, and the wonderful people who guide you in experiencing Peuma Hue. Don't miss this place!

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Director Comercial at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Hello Susan,
Thank you so much for this lovely message :) It was great to meet you and your family, and we're glad to know you enjoyed yourselves! We hope you can stay with us again, so we won't say goodbye but until next time!
Best,

The Peuma Hue team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews