We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mom, when can we go back again?”
Review of Estancia Peuma Hue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estancia Peuma Hue
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mom, when can we go back again?”
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Peuma-Hue is an incredibly special location sitting on Lake Guitierrez next to the Nahuel Haupi National Park. (We have returned twice and hope for future visits.) Definitely five stars and not a large resort. The staff is available, friendly and helpful. We spent our days hiking, horseback riding, fishing, and eating fantastic meals. For our family (mom, dad, kids ages 9 and 11), the creekside cabin (and the moutain cabin on the second visit) were perfect. It allowed us privacy as a family when we needed it and the chance to intermingle in the lodge area with other guests from all parts of the world. The kids took an adventure of a lifetime with their friends from Texas and completed a well managed ropes course. Peuma-Hue was truly a chance to experience all the nature Bariloche has to offer and reinvigorated our spiritual connections as a family.

  • Liked — Nature, Spirituality, Adventure, Outddors
  • Disliked — I can't live there full time.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tynanelsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    19
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
92
156
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Our trip to Peuma Hue was the most meaningful, adventurous and life-changing vacation we have ever taken. My husband and I spent Easter holiday at Peuma Hue this past March 2008. We started our journey expecting to spend some relaxing time exploring Patagonia and we ended up on a journey exploring our selves in the purest environment. Breathtaking beauty is the best way to describe the 500 acre property and it is a perfect place to reconnect, re-energize and go on to appreciate what life offers thereafter. It is truly a gift for the soul.
From the moment we pulled into the driveway until we waved goodbye from the car we were shown genuine hospitality by Evelyn (owner/manager) and the entire staff. We were given personal attention as if we were their only guests and made us feel that there was never a request they could not honor. They arranged for extra activities when we asked such as Yoga and massages. Evelyn was kind enough to take us hiking the second along with her five dogs and that in my experience was a life-changing experience. During the five hour hike Evelyn took the time to counsel me on how to overcome the suffering and pain I was experiencing as a result of a recent loss, and she guided me in how to facilitate purposeful change to achieve personal happiness and fulfillment.
During the four day stay we enjoyed the many activities offered on site such as hiking, horse back riding, and kayaking, as well as one off-site activity (rafting) which was arranged by the staff in advance. All of which were firsts for both of us and we had a wonderful time doing them.
Finally, we were lucky to have met many interesting people from all over the world who were staying at Peuma Hue. It was like getting together with good friends every night exchanging stories, and pictures of the day's activities. Lots of laughter, lots of good time and lots of great memories.
Since Easter, my husband and I have been on four other trips to the US, Europe and the Middle East yet we still speak of the magic of Peuma Hue. We will definitely go back.

  • Liked — The entire package of activities, food, wine and surrounding area.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ToastPerfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2008

I spent 8 marvelous days with my family (wife and 3 kids) in February, summer time in Patagonia...

Peuma Hue is definitely one of those places you do not easily find in the world.......I consider myself a very lucky person for having the opportunity of being there for a few days..

Geografically, that particular area of the Argentinian Patagonia is
incredibly beautiful......the Gutierrez Lake, surrounded by the Andes, pretty close to one of my favourite lakes in the region, the Mascardi lake, wich can be reached by bike from Peuma, in a half hour ride.......As we like very active vacations, we did everything we could: great trekkings (the best, we walked through the edge of the Cerro Catedral, going through incredible landscapes until reaching the Refugio Frey.....we swam in a 2000m high lake!
We also did lots of activities: ride horses in beautiful places, rafting in the Manso river, Canoping (kind of zip line), biking.......time flew away for us in Peuma!
And every day, before leaving in the morning, and for dinner after a very bussy day, excelent meals served by a very profesional, but also very patient and kind group of people, lead by the owner, Evelyn, and her right hand, Marcelo...
We stayed at the mountain cabin, which is perfect for a family like ours...
We felt at home in Peuma, and for sure we will try to go back again every year....

  • Liked — the place, the service, the activities, the great tima
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank malvarezBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Traveling with my husband and 21 y.o. daughter, Peuma Hue was our home in northern Patagonia for six days in April, 2008. We stayed in the Creek Cabin, a cozy comfortable abode with a kitchenette and a fireplace that was always lit when we returned from our adventures on chilly days, e.g., hiking to a near-by waterfall with 2 golden retrievers, a FABULOUS picnic lunch and a hand drawn map from Evelyn (2-3 hours?); a seven hour hike from the top of the ski area, along the ridge of the Catedrals, with another FABULOUS picnic lunch, down to Lago Gutierrez, where we were picked up by zodiac and revived with hot coffee and pastries; rafting to the Chilean border, and another full day hike up to the glacier edge on Mt. Tronador. All of our adventures were inspired by conversation with Evelyn who is enormously generous and knowledgeable about the area.

During our six days, all the other guests who came and went were great company - perhaps we were lucky, but it was one of the most convivial and interesting group of guests.

Evelyn and her office manager were first rate in the preparation of our trip. We must have exchanged more than a dozen emails in which Evelyn or Carolina answered all my questions in detail. When I could not decide if we should book the B&B or the all inclusive rate because I just wasn't sure when and what our adventures would be - Evelyn said, "let's just wait until you get here and see what works out best (cost) for you." And, when it came time to settle our bill - it was.

Evelyn is a terrific, vibrant, and generous spirit. She lovingly runs a beautiful lodge that provides all I can imagine is necessary to optimize a trip to this beautiful part of Patagonia. Would we return? In a heart beat. Thank you Evelyn, Carolina, Marcelo and rest of staff for a memorable visit to Peuma Hue.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJLBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2008

We were welcomed immediately on our arrival at Peuma Hue and introduced to all the potential many activities, as well as meeting the other guests. We went on amazing hikes, enjoyed the horse riding, all the time surrounded by such beauty and friendly family atmosphere. A great place to stay.
Roger and Sheila

  • Liked — Serenity
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank architecttoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naperville, illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Peuma Hue was the perfect ranch spa for our family. We stayed a week and have been dreaming about this magical place every day since! Family is the perfect word to describe Peuma Hue--our family felt cared for by the Owner, Evelyn Hoter, and her family! Her son met our plane and drove us to the Ranch; we had a welcome lunch with her brother, his son, and two friends.
No request was too large for the ranch to handle. For example,
Evelyn arranged to have a sommelier come to educate us about Argentine wines, and for my husband to meet a local bee keeper! We hiked, rappelled, zip-lined, canoed and fished on the property The ranch staff were warm, friendly and quite helpful.
Hiking, rafting, shopping and sightseeing excursions were arranged with no trouble. We loved every minute and have recommended Peuma Hue to everyone interested in a dream trip to Argentina.

  • Liked — the ranch itself
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cardinal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We found in Peuma Hue the confluence of beautiful scenery, excellent food and wonderful people, both staff and guests. Mountain trails that begin just off the property quickly take you to wonderful overlooks of the countryside. We galloped our horses along forest trails and rafted along rivers with exciting rapids and cool still pools. But it's the atmosphere of Peuma Hue itself that distinguishes it. It's not just that the staff is inviting and helpful, or that the food was a delight. Guests quickly become a part of a group of interesting people from all over the world. Even our ten year old son enjoyed Peuma Hue. It was hard to tell if he preferred Indio or Corazon, the two horses he rode, or whether Bobby or Ghandi were his favorite dogs. Genuine tears came to his eyes when we left. We've travelled widely, but few places have been so enjoyable that they made us want to return, especially when the world offers so many exciting new opportunities---Peuma Hue is the exception.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tworoads2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
9.2 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,521 reviews
13.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,120 reviews
12.9 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#17 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,214 reviews
10.6 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
940 reviews
9.4 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#14 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Peuma Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Peuma Hue

Property: Estancia Peuma Hue
Address: Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Peuma Hue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain ranch & lodge in Patagonia, blends in a single place a little of all that Patagonia has to offer: 500 acres of a privileged location within the Lake District and the Nahuel Huapi National Park, 2 miles of lake shore at the foot of a steep mountain, with pristine forests, creeks and waterfalls and the valley for calm wandering. Catedral ski resort is only 35’ from the Estancia through a scenic lakeside drive.Lots of Mountain and Ranch activities to do withing the property with no need for daily transfers.Our huge advantage is our location. We combine the striking beauty of our National Park, close contact with Nature, deluxe accommodations, the experience of being at home in our houses and log villas, all types of outdoor activities, exquisite home-made, healthy organic meals, and an exclusive service with a personal touch that allows our guests to live unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Estancia Peuma Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Peuma Hue Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing