We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing few days at Peuma Hue”
Review of Estancia Peuma Hue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estancia Peuma Hue
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mansfield, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing few days at Peuma Hue”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I and another couple spent 5 nights at Peuma Hue in February 2012.
It couldn't have been more relaxing and friendly to the guests. Eve Hotter and her firend Reuben Rich took very good care of us including Reuben leading us on two long hikes and Eve arranging horseback riding, fishing in the very large lake, tango lessons, golf nearby and fantastic meals. I thought they were somewhat overstaffed, but that made our visit all the more enjoyable. They use a lot of young people who come in for various lengths of time to work and learn the business. These "interns" were all very congenial.
What I liked, which may not be for everyone, is that all meals are eaten family style whith several guests at a table, however the meals were plated and were exceptional. I guess if you wanted to be by yourself, they would arrange it that way, but I enjoyed meeting the other guests who were all very interesting. A stay of 3-5 days would be ideal. Less is not enough to get a feel for the place and more might be enough. One of my favorite expressions relative to running a business is "nothing beats the sound of the ownerrs frootsteps in the hall." Eve is everpresent and runs a tight, but relaxed ship. Sandy Morehouse, Atlanta, Georgia

Room Tip: various cabins on property. No preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you Sandy for your wonderful report!! And yes, we do ask everybody, when they arrive, if they would rather have their private table or join the rest of our guests in conversations and shared stories. We knew that you would wanted to share with your friends and with us, so we arranged it that way. So many times though, guests who start asking for their own tables, end up sharing the interesting conversations that develop, adding yet another level to their stay by making new friends. And this is how I feel with you! Thank you for your wonderful visit, for all the time we spent together, for all our conversations! Hope to see you soon again, much love
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    19
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
92
156
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Peuma Hue is a magical respite from urban life, and from the exhaustion of other travel. It offers a rare combination of luxurious accommodations, delicious food and attentive personal service, in a place of great physical beauty, pure air and silence.
Some guests prefer to pass their days quietly, reading a book by the beach, under a tree, or next to a cozy fireplace; perhaps yoga, massage, or picking organic raspberries from the huge garden. Others choose days packed with adventure, such as Class 4 whitewater, high altitude trekking, or just scrambling up to the nearest waterfall. Kayakers and adventurous swimmers enjoy the crystal clear water. Birdwatchers thrill at the ibis in the orchard, the brilliant woodpeckers in the canopy. Riders, whether skilled or beginner, spend hours on the gentle, well trained horses, walking through majestic forests of ancient trees or cantering the open pampa. One lovely ride leads to a lookout over the Continental Divide; water to the left flows to the Atlantic; water to the right flows to the Pacific.
Every room is different, but they are all clean, full of light, furnished with thoughtfully chosen local artifacts, comfortable beds, and snowy linens. I loved waking up gently as the clouds poured over the crest of the mountains. Outside my window, horses, sheep and geese quietly grazed.
The longer people stay at Peuma Hue, in my experience, the more they like it. Guest after guest, some with remarkable amounts of travel experience, wished they had planned to stay longer. It’s also telling that young people from around the world volunteer for its beauty, and the warmth, kindness and wisdom of its proprietor, Evelyn Hoter. After a week there, I felt better than I had in years.
A friend said it best: Staying at Peuma Hue was a prize that he gave himself. And it was one of the best prizes he could have won.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DS1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for such a beautiful, thoughtful and detailed report!! What a joy to know that we can be considered one of the best prizes to oneself.... We do try to make a little difference in our guests´ lives by providing the best we can in every level. When this is achieved, it fulfils the deepest meaning for our existence. What a Joy for us to have guestas as you!! :-) Thank you, from deep in our hearts!!! With much love,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Peuma Hue for 5 nights over Christmas for our honeymoon. The setting is truly magical, wood cabins dotted around lovely green fields, with a creek running through it and bordering the Lake Guiterrez. Luis, Rueben, Evelyn and all the waiting staff were all very welcoming and we were treated to champagne, massages and lovely chocolates left on the bedside each day.

The horses roam free on the land and waking up to views of the mountains and lakes doesn't get much better. We did riding, rafting, took ourselves on a 5 hour hike, crossing waterfalls, seeing several lookout spots with fantastic panoramas, going through bamboo forests and looking at all the different birds. We did several rides with Chris, who really cares for all the horses. We ran out of time to do kayaking, but that was next on our list!

The Christmas eve violin concert in the stone chapel was really special and a big effort was made for the Christmas meal, which was local trout and various local desserts.

My only small complaint would be that we were there for 5 nights and the meals started to repeat while we were there, there could also be more of a selection of wine I thought.

Overall, a wonderfully relaxing as well as active stay in a stunning location in the national park.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much Rebecca for your review!! We are so happy you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed its beauty, services, activities and our staff so much. We really love to share this magical place at all times, but especially when it is a significantly important moment of your life, such as your honeymoon. It adds to the deep meaning we feel our mission has, providing the best we can to everyone visiting. I´m happy too that you enjoyed the cocktail and concert at our candle-lit Temple and the special dinner thereafter. We enjoy these moments very deeply and feel extremely happy if this is shared by everybody else.
I do very much apologize for having repeated meals! We are checking with our chefs what happened because we do take care not to have this happening and we change our menu every day! Thanking for pointing it out so we can check and make sure it does not happen again. As for wines, our house wines included in our meals, belong to one of the most prestigious Patagonian wineries and include different grape varieties. What we might not have been clear in our introductory talk though, is that we also have a large variety of other wines for sale that you could have chosen from. I´m sorry we were not clear about this! Most often our guests love our wines and do not ask for others, so sometimes we even forget offering them! I´m very sorry. Anyway, we are extremely happy that your overall experience was so nice. We loved meeting you and hope to see you back some day. Wishing you a wonderful 2013, with lots of Joy and many Blessings, with our warmest regards
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I stayed in a cabin the week of Thanksgiving. The facilities, the staff, and the activities were perfect for our young family. The estancia provides a lot of options for activities and the staff will coordinate any activities offsite for you, which is a huge plus for those of us that do not speak Spanish. The food was excellent and the servers were very accommodating to our three young kids. We highly recommend Peuma Hue to all of our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmer_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello and thank you for such a positive review and great photos! We really enjoyed having you and all your family here with us. I especially enjoy watching the girls discover the joy of riding and getting to know how the horses are. We hope you have the time to come visit us again. Cheers! Jessie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights over Christmas at this most beautiful Estancia. Evelyn is an inspiring hostess and we will never forget the classical music concert given in the chapel on the evening of the 24th...imagine the setting, a stone chapel set between huge trees next to a majestic mountain peak - inside filled with burning candles and log fires. Lovely canapés and wine and great company, it was a magical evening! Thank you.
Apart from this, we also enjoyed the various activities, like horse riding and rafting and the eco conscious living.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ansie7ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Owner at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I´m so happy you enjoyed the concert so much, as well as all the activities, our food and the company of all the other guests. We just love to see how our guests become friends and share their stories, enjoy together and create such a wonderful and joyful atmosphere. So THANK YOU for adding all you did, for such a beautiful account, for enjoying all that we love to share with all our guests. Wishing to be able to see you some day again, I send you my very best wishes and all the blessings for 2013, with a strong hug,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Peuma Hue in October, 2012. We had high expectations and for the first time in our numerous travels aboard, those expectations were exceeded. The accomodations, the view, the food... it was all spectacular! We stayed in the main house and quickly developed a routine, horseback riding in the morning, reading on the back deck before lunch, hiking (if we didn't have wine at lunch :-) in the afternoon, a siesta after that, tapas & cocktails around 7'ish and finally dinner. One afternoon, I had a massage (highly recommended) and another afternoon we took a taxi into town to do some shopping and walk around. If you want a magical experience with staff that know what you want before you do, gourmet meals everyday, heavenly scenery and an overall unforgettable vacation, look no further!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEngles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hello! Thank you for such an amazing review and great photos! It was wonderful to get to know both you and your husband. I had a great time riding and chatting with both of you out on our trails with Goya and Big Guy. It's always nice to see the connections people develop with our horses here and the appreciation for the nature, as well as the great food and wine during cocktail. Thank you for always being happy and smiling! You are the easiest people to please :)
Cheers! Jessie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Wow, we are so glad we found Peuma Hue on the Internet and decided to spend 4 nights there – what a wonderful place, set in a stunning location right on Lake Gutierrez in the Nahel Huapi National Park. It's a gorgeous lodge with fantastic views in all directions. Our bathroom window looked out onto Cerro Catedral – how special is that?!
The rooms are very comfortable and decorated in local style. I think we had the best room in the house as we were upgraded to the master suite which boasts two 'walls' of windows. To wake up to those views every morning was a privilege.
Peuma Hue masters the art of creating an informal, homey feel by bringing guests together around a common table at meal times and serving drinks in the lounge before dinner in the evening. For breakfast, you can just go downstairs to the kitchen and sit at the wooden table there and order what you like. (I can recommend the grilled ham & cheese sandwiches made by Silvia!)
The food is lovely – 3-course lunches & dinners every day but you can keep your waistline in check by going on one of the many walks in the area. A note of caution though: it is not always easy to find the trails, and sometimes they veer off in another direction only to peter out.
Other activities include boat trips, yoga and horse-riding. The riding caters for all levels, even beginners, but as experienced riders Chris took us on some faster and more challenging rides, up and down steep mountain trails. The horses are excellent, very sure-footed and level-headed, and Chris runs a very responsible horseriding operation, looking after the safety of the riders and ensuring the well-being of the horses. One of the most memorable experiences I've ever had was at Peume Hue: swimming with the horses in the lake! The horses gallop in, then suddenly there is no ground under their feet and they begin to swim while you're still in the saddle! I can only describe it as a mixture of panic & joy at the same time – utterly exhilarating.
We loved Peuma Hue so much we hope to return there one day. We had an unforgettable time there and could have stayed forever…

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady from Luxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peumahue, Public Relations Manager at Estancia Peuma Hue, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hello! And thank you for the wonderful review. Cris and I really enjoyed meeting you and especially sharing our best horses with you both. It is always an exhilarating experience to ride on our mountain trails but especially a treat to swim with such majestic animals! The joy on your faces was priceless. I really hope you are able to return someday. Cheers! Jessie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
9.2 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
13.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
12.9 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#18 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
6.6 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Port...
#21 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
9.4 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Peuma Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Peuma Hue

Property: Estancia Peuma Hue
Address: Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Peuma Hue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain ranch & lodge in Patagonia, blends in a single place a little of all that Patagonia has to offer: 500 acres of a privileged location within the Lake District and the Nahuel Huapi National Park, 2 miles of lake shore at the foot of a steep mountain, with pristine forests, creeks and waterfalls and the valley for calm wandering. Catedral ski resort is only 35’ from the Estancia through a scenic lakeside drive.Lots of Mountain and Ranch activities to do withing the property with no need for daily transfers.Our huge advantage is our location. We combine the striking beauty of our National Park, close contact with Nature, deluxe accommodations, the experience of being at home in our houses and log villas, all types of outdoor activities, exquisite home-made, healthy organic meals, and an exclusive service with a personal touch that allows our guests to live unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Estancia Peuma Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Peuma Hue Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing