We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place with a soothing atmosphere”
Review of Estancia Peuma Hue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Estancia Peuma Hue
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We arrived after a very interesting drive from San Martin de Los Andes. It was a long day as the ash clouds had made the road challenging. Immediately on arrival we were made to feel fully at home. We were asked about our intentions for the following days and we had excellent horse riding and trekking. The room was superb, facing the lake with the dining room in a parallel position. Meals are served after an 'en famille' cocktail and everything is cooked on site much from the hotel organic garden. The staff are a mixture of locals and volunteers and it works, really well. The service is excellent.

Room Tip: A room in the main house seems to offer the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 330 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently spent four days at the amazing Estancia Peuma Hue. When communicating with them they called their place "magical" and I kept thinking what can they mean, it's not Disneyland. But BELIEVE ME I could not have been more pleasantly surprised. The property is beautiful, it's like a slice of heaven. We were there in October 2011 and there was absolutely no volcanic ash or sand anywhere on the property. We had no issues with air / breathing, etc. it's almost as if the volcanoe isn't errupting! The staff are welcoming, friendly, accomodating and a lot fo fun. Even the animals are loving (the dogs are a huge hit and the foal and horses just walk right up to say hi!). Go, go, go if you have the opportunity!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had heard that volcanic ash had closed the Bariloche airport through December 2011 just before we were to leave for Argentina. We considered canceling Peuma Hue due to that, and I am so, so glad we didn't. Instead, we flew to Esquel, and a very easy bus transfer took us to Bariloche (the Bariloche municipality has a free bus waiting outside the Esquel airport to take people to Bariloche, and it's a pretty three- to four-hour drive). Other than the obvious blow to tourism, the ash has barely affected Peuma Hue -- one day we were there it was rather hazy, but other than that it was crisp blue skies and clear blue lake.

When we were paying in advance, we thought the price was a little expensive; however, given that all food and wine is included, and all the activities, and the spectacular setting, it turned out to be entirely reasonable.

Peuma Hue is heaven for animal lovers. The 12 horses roam more or less freely, so the little filly will wander up and start nosing against your shoulder, and the palomino takes morning walks along the beach by himself. Alpha and Gandhi, the Golden Retriever guide dogs, are such merry fellows, and make already spectacular hikes so much more fun. Even Peuma Hue's cat trotted out to accompany us as we walked from building to building.

The food was wonderful -- a continental breakfast with a plethora of options, lunches of pumpkin ravioli or onion tarts, and three-course dinners (not to mention the delightful little snacks that they gave us at cocktail hour). All the food was at least at the level of a very good New York restaurant. Throughout our stay, the staff was so friendly and welcoming, and Evelyn made sure we got to do everything we wanted to. You can tell how much work she puts into the place, and how special she finds it, and for good reason -- it's such a piece of heaven.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

It has been a year since our honeymoon, but we are still talking about it now, how good was the experience we were provided at Puema Hue.

We arrived in the early afternoon from Bariloche and were shown into a large log cabin with a kitchen (that we weren't going to use, but more later!) a large living room, and our large double room with picture windows over the lake and mountains beyond. After settling for a little while we went for a short walk up the closest mountainside, ably guided by the owners 2 golden retrievers, who for a reasonable tariff of a few sticks thrown into the lake would show us the way through the trees and wait for us at a respectful distance ahead.

On our return we were introduced to {horse woman}, who was taking out the other guests for a sunset ride up to a point overlooking the continental divide (the lake to the north flowing to the Atlantic, to the south the Pacific). We happily tagged along, taking in the wonderful view on the backs of some very well tempered horses, with her sheepdogs wandering alongside. We were to ride daily through our stays on Negro and Moreda.

Dinner was due just after sunset, so after a quick wash and change we wandered over to the main house where a selection of innovative canape's and some lovely Patagonian wines were presented. We made short work of these and were shown into their dining room, where 3 exquisite courses were served, with wine to complement. All the food at Puema Hue is made by their chef from as much local produce as possible.

Breakfast was a selection of homemade bread and pastries, cereals and spreads. They were where I discovered my love for medialuna's with dulce de leche, the freshly baked home made versions far superior to any I was to subsequently try. Lunch and dinners were 3 course affairs, all beautifully presented and well balanced with wine selections matched expertly to the dishes. Lunches were typically vegetarian affairs, with meat or fish as the centrepiece for dinner. The desserts most of the time were almost too beautiful to break apart to eat!

We were already hopelessly in love with the place when after we had made our departure, we realised that my wife's engagement ring was left in our room. When we could contact them they very kindly arranged to get it to Buenos Aires with no fuss or accepting payment, which summed up the approach that it felt was their entire ethos.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boycott77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This was my second stay at Peuma Hue and I can't wait to get back there. The whole experience was so personal, the ultimate get away and so peaceful. The mountains and lake are yours to explore and their beauty is good for the soul. I felt relaxed the second I arrived and I really didn't want to leave. The accommodation was charming and luxurios and the staff went out of their way like old friends. The food was divine with natural organic produce fresh from the property. Every little touch has been thought off and the place is something special. The horse riding was the exceptional to name just one of the great activities. With an all inclusive price I found the value really surprising. 10/10 a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanPrentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

It´s hard to describe just how amazing this place is. The environment, the people, the feeling of a "home from home", all make for a perfect stay. The houses have been built to the highest standard, every detail has been considered. All the staff, particularly Marilena and Jessica, were fantastic, so welcoming and engaging. The food was first class, much of the produce coming from the ranch itself, including delicious fruit conserves with our tostados at breakfast and eggs from the hens. We´d recommend full board, because the location is not close to any other eating places, and because the food is so good. As for the surroundings, even this late in the season, we were able to take a great hike in the forest, guided by the estancia´s golden retrievers. Overall, an unforgettable experience, and we plan to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

It is just so cool to stay hear. All the animals are nice and like to be hughed. All your dreams activity wise will be come thrue. I always like the outdoor activity and they come up with nice ideas what to do. The food is so good, you always gain extra weight. The have local beers to try, the wines are perfect just what you need

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaltrotter_carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
9.2 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,627 reviews
13.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,243 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#4 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#10 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
423 reviews
9.2 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
311 reviews
12.9 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Peuma Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Peuma Hue

Address: Road 40 - km 2014 | Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $308 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Peuma Hue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain ranch & lodge in Patagonia, blends in a single place a little of all that Patagonia has to offer: 500 acres of a privileged location within the Lake District and the Nahuel Huapi National Park, 2 miles of lake shore at the foot of a steep mountain, with pristine forests, creeks and waterfalls and the valley for calm wandering. Catedral ski resort is only 35’ from the Estancia through a scenic lakeside drive.Lots of Mountain and Ranch activities to do withing the property with no need for daily transfers.Our huge advantage is our location. We combine the striking beauty of our National Park, close contact with Nature, deluxe accommodations, the experience of being at home in our houses and log villas, all types of outdoor activities, exquisite home-made, healthy organic meals, and an exclusive service with a personal touch that allows our guests to live unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estancia Peuma Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Peuma Hue Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing