We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The WORST experience ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Suites Bariloche
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We are a couple travelling on the motorcycle from Colombia to La patagonia. We had been staying at many places all over the South America, but even the cheapest hostel we have ever sleept at, was 10 times better than this (supposedly 4 start) hotel.

The only good thing about this it was the bath tub in the room.

First: rooms are overpriced.
The smell of the detergent they use to wash the sheets couldn't let us relax and rest on our bed after a long ride from Chile.

Staff is horrible (only the security guy Ivan was nice to us). Nobody seems to care about you. The room key they gave us didn't work, and for our whole stayed we didn't get a key that worked even after several attempts to get one. Room service is not great either, we had to wait more that an hour and a half to get a sandwich to our room.

After the New Year dinner (about US$250 for two) we got two new keys, but they didn't work either, we called to the front desk - the guy said we had to come back (it was really cold outside and we didn't have any jackets, but the guy didn't seemed to care much about it and did not want to send someone up with a new key) and the room is far up in the hill.

We had to come down to the reception where they told us he need to go and try the key again, and went to our building on hotel van (why couldn't he do that before and pick us up?!). Then we had to wait more because nobody had a key to open the door

Overall a very bad experience and a bad idea for NYE. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!

Ps. I wished we had paid more attention to other reviews, after reading some of them now we understand it was a bad idea. We saw a review where people were even robbed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mauricio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

Rooms are good but massively overpriced.
Distance to town is a major issue with mediocre public transportation and non existent shuttle Service.
Staff is varied from really horrible (some will even lie to your face) to okay. Do not expect any kind of real hospitality.
Also it seems that people have been robbed in the hotel which makes you feel uncomfortable, even though you have a safe in the room.

There are many places in and around Bariloche that look so much nicer than this. So dont fall for the fake images on their Website and stay somewhere else if you can

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank anonyma669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I chose this hotel by the photos, good price and overall reviews.
When I arrived at the hotel, I saw that my choice was great! And during the stay it was confirmed.

At first, the modern architecture of lobby is very beautiful and trendy. Extremely well done.
The rooms are big and comfortable. It has everything you will need: Bathtub with hydro massage, hot shower, safe, queen size bed, hairdryer, etc..
The staff is very friendly and helpful!
There was some small problems like conservation of some equipments of the gym, pool, etc. But it wasn't relevant.

My rating would be 4 balls at tripadvisor, but there were two things that made me give 5 balls.
The price of the room was very good for a 4 stars hotel in Bariloche. I paid less than 80 dolars for the night, and the second thing was the restaurant!

I had a dinner at my last night and I had a big surprise!!! The food was amazing! I didn't believe that small restaurant could do the food that I ate there!
I had dinner in many well rated and famous restaurants all over the world and that one surprised me! I can tell it was one of the TOP 5 that I have ever tried. I said it to the chef, called Carlos, but he didn't believe in what i said! This guy is good in cooking! I don't know if Michelin would give him a star, but I give a star to that food!

The location of the hotel is quite good, not too far from the city center. with a good view of the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eduardo602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I made the mistake to choose this hotel on Picture and I am deeply regretting it.
It looks nice in picture but it really is a scam.
In the border of a lake, I asked for a balcony suite, quite expensive, yet I got the view (like 3 out of 4 of the building here) on the back of the next building: Awful!
Everything is like that; looks nice but doesn't work : no internet, no international plugs... Looks to me like a scam more than anything else. Guy at the counter knows it and they ask you to pay BEFORE getting to the room. By the way they give you a price without taxes! who the hell doesn't pay taxes! (I asked for a tax refund and they say cant do: ask at the aiport). Really a scal and they knows it.
At least the bed was good and the water was hot. Hence 2 stars. But avoid at all cost, there is PLENTY of BnB along the way to Llao Lliao, prefer that.

Room Tip: change hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed our honey moon for 7 days in july 2012, and we loved this hotel. The only thing bad was to 'climb' to get the room but they always have cars to help. And sometimes we had fun to reach the room..haha so its better take in down levels floor. The food is good, the rooms are very nice. The heater didnt work well but at the same day they gave another one. So, in overall we enjoyed so much. Another thing not really good is because its a little far from downtown of bariloche and we always had to get buses. But they have cars going downtown periodically. But it was not a problem at all. We recomend!

Room Tip: If you dont want to get tired to walk up, take a room in down levels floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naradangelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

On our second day at this hotel we returned to our room after having dinner in the restaurant of the hotel and found that nearly all our belongings were taken.

Someone broke into the room and took all our belongings (Laptop, Cameras, Jewelry, and even the luggage bag with our clothes). I went to the reception to complain and was told to return to the hotel room, as the security guards would go there. Two security guards came and made questions about what happened and carried out an intensive search, just to found our broken luggage in the forest without any of the valuable items (at least we recovered our passports).

We went straight down to reception to be told it was "not their fault", that unfortunately they don't have security cameras in that side of the hotel and that they couldn't be held accountable as the robbers didn't come from inside the hotel. They gave us the wrong directions to the police station and lied about what time a manager would be available in the morning, since our departure we have been trying to contact them to get a refund and a response from their insurance without success.

I have traveled extensively and know that bad things can happen sometimes but how the management of the hotel responds is what makes the difference. In this case the response was terrible, they were: rude, assumed it was not their fault, demonstrated zero responsiveness and have been avoiding all my complains since then.

DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL IS YOU WANT A SAFE TRIP TO BARILOCHE

Room Tip: Ask for one with EXTRA SECURITY (JAIL-LIKE STYLE): bars in the windows, MULTI-LOCK door, security ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank evilacha29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel was very nice. The rooms are spacious, and the jacuzzi in the room is a nice perk. However, make sure to request a room on the top floor, as our room was on the first floor, and we really only had a view of the reception desk. The gym was very nice, including the machines and weights. The staff was also nice and helpful, the restaurant that was suggested to us was the best meal we had in Argentina (Kandahar).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaBeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.9 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,005 reviews
11.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#26 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
865 reviews
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
306 reviews
9.1 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Suites Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Bariloche

Address: Av Bustillo Km 2,5, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AAX, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $110 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Suites Bariloche 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sky fades in to the lake, an extention of the natural beauty. Textures extracted from the earth, wood, stone anf leather. A warm space that insatifies the senses, awakining the instict that join us with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Suites Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites Bariloche Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Design Hotel Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing