We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Ok location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Suites Bariloche
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The room was very nice, large with in room jacuzzi and big windows. Nice bathroom with a good bed. A slight view of the lake but the hotel is across the street from the lake so the view could be better. 2.5 km into town so walking to dinner is tough, taxi or car is needed.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel charges quite handsomely but it's facilities and service do not match the price.
Check in is a disaster. It took 30 minutes if not longer. Dinner was barely edible, service poor.

Rooms are nice, with sunken jacuzzi bath. Shower is great. Decoration is poor. View is great.
Breakfast is the biggest joke of all. We arrived down and there were no seats and we were left standing around with no assistance. Clearly they have too many rooms and not adequate seating.
Would not recommend this hotel especially considering what they charge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CloShmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

With design in the name I expected to see some good design in the hotel. The "clubhouse" looks pretty cool inside with panoramic windows overlooking the lake. The blocks of rooms look like a 1970's ski resort and are situated away from
The main hotel up a steep hill. Food is poor in restaurant, tough chicken and bland lamb. Go elsewhere for food.No atmosphere in evening for dinner as it is open plan and spaces out. Cold when doors open which they do frequently. Internet very poor and slow. Bad checkin experience, left waiting with bags for 20 mins before they helped us to room. I would avoid coming back. The rooms have good views but are simply furnished and again no "design" seems to have gone into them. Looks great on website but isn't like that in reality.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed1trinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 5 nights in Bariloche over New Year. Lack of availability in Hotel Charming (much rated on here) meant that we had to split our stay between that hotel and Design Suites. But thank goodness for that as Design Suites outclassed the other in every respect and was cheaper to boot.

Design Suites does what it says on the tin: the rooms are spacious, well appointed and a little funky (for Argentina), the service polite and efficient, the public spaces well ‘designed’ and the food great. Situated up a slope, it has good (but not great) views but at least unmarred by the main road, from which it is set back. There's an indoor and outdoor hotel and a gym and an enthusiasic travel agent to organise trips to do various activities up in the hills and on the rivers and lakes. A good, v pleasant hotel.

However there were dwnsides which could be deal breakers depending upon your circumstances. The rooms have beautiful parquet floors but in our room the odd nail head was sticking up. I imagine that this could be an issue with v small children. There was also a lack of complete sound proofing between the rooms (but fine if you/ the room next door are operating within the bounds of consideration/normality). Unfortunately our neighbours were not operating with due consideration but our request to move was acted upon with impressive charm and alacrity.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloirededijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The design is pretty good, nice and trendy. Location wise, the property is quite far from the town centre. My friend and I decided to give it a try and walk from the hotel to the town centre, however it wasn't worth it. The pavement wasn't in good condition and it's quite dangerous as in some parts there's no pavement and thus one has to walk on the gravel next to the road; it's even worse if it's pouring!

The hotel does offer a shuttle service to the town centre, which we decided to use after our odyssey.

The main house of the hotel was nice, loved the furniture and the architecture, however the restaurant was closed throughout our whole stay...which was a bit inconvenient...........The guys at reception were very helpful at getting us some pizza delivery though.

I wouldn't come back purely because I'm young and like to be where everything is happening but perhaps it would suit other market segments

Loved the gym/pool and sauna :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear dino1990,
Thank you so much for your review! It's great to hear from our guests and we love to hear that you liked our hotel. Regarding the location, we like the peace that being a bit far away from the town gives us. Thank you again for your review!
Sincerely,

The Staff from Design Suites Bariloche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Unique place , approx 2 km from Town Centre , fading design charm due to lack of service and maintenance. We had a Top Suite on top floor of highest building . Nice room , great layout , artsy but neglegted in many areas. So the top $ is not justified. Most neglegted , are mainly room related areas such as bathrooms, fittings, floors , equipment , also pool and Spa rather tired and in need of repairs. Not a bad place and worth 4 stars if they get on top of their maintenance, housekeeping and service. We stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Room Tip: take a suite , bargain and stress that you expect a functional room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear uschild,
Thank you for your review! We love to hear from our guests and every comment, good or bad, helps us to improve the quality of our service. Regarding the maintenance issues, we are working on that and we are going to take your comment into consideration. We hope to see you again soon at any of our four locations.
Sincerely,

The Staff from Design Suites Bariloche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a "junior suite" and it was so luxurious, can't imagine a "senior suite". Yes, an unmitigated wow of a place! How often do you have a full size jacuzzi in your room overlooking the lake - well, if you look off to one side. And a couch. But be prepared for a hike up a hill if you're in one of the upper buildings. They do have a car to transport you and luggage but it's not always available. The hotel is a few miles out of Bariloche but the weather was crisp and the views sparkling so we simply walked it, ignoring the dust of the highway but enjoying the spectacular views. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of fresh fruit and sunset views from the dining room a must for drinks. But caution about dinner unless you've put in a good supply of Immodium. The pool is not big enough for a lap but with a steamy jacuzzi in your room, who cares? The sauna is nice.

Room Tip: If you are not in shape you might want to request one of the lower buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaMarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear FloridaMarvin,
We are glad to know that you had a wonderful time with us! We love to hear from our guests and we thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon at any of our four destinations!
Sincerely,
The Staff from Design Suites Bariloche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.9 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,690 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,059 reviews
11.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort Golf Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort Golf ...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
632 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#25 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
930 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge
Arelauquen Lodge
#24 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Suites Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Bariloche

Address: Av Bustillo Km 2,5, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AAX, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $76 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Suites Bariloche 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sky fades in to the lake, an extention of the natural beauty. Textures extracted from the earth, wood, stone anf leather. A warm space that insatifies the senses, awakining the instict that join us with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Design Suites Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites Bariloche Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Design Hotel Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing