We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing over water dining! Good food options”
Review of Holly Restobar

Holly Restobar
Cuisines: Argentinean, International, Cafe, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Amazing over water dining! Good food options”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

What an amazing place to have brunch or lunch on a gorgeous day! This place is easy to find on the main road following the lake. It is over water dining with amazing views of the lakes leading to mountains.
The food is modern and yummy. The grilled vegie toasted sandwich was yummy and a good banana smoothie too!
The shrimp salad was okay.. nothing amazing special.

I highly recommend coming here though!! It is so beautiful!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    85
    25
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
1 review
“Wonderful lakeside restaurant”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Living in Bariloche, we´re always on the lookout for new restaurants to try out, and Holly is special, already a favourite among the locals. To begin with, there are few places that offer a good view of the lake, which makes Holly even more tempting as it´s literally on the lakefront. Secondly, it´s gained a reputation for good, interesting food at reasonable prices.
Why did we take so long to go there? Maybe because when we drove past it always looked full… So, to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we made a point of booking a table on the terrace, nicely heated and sheltered from the wind. We saw the full moon rising huge over the mountains and reflected on the still waters of the lake, an unforgettable experience!
The food was excellent: their famous barbecued ribs for my husband and a wok for me, but it was hard to choose among several tempting dishes.
It´s simply one of the best places to enjoy the views and cuisine of Bariloche!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bariloche
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Break from Asado”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Having just completed my tour of Patagonia, This place was a refreshing break from the Argentine Bife / Pizza restaurants. I had the worlds best caesar salad by far and the local fresh salmon was 'to die for!'. The restaurant has fantastic views and the chef's cuisine excelled our expectations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cracking little restaurant”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've visited Bariloche a lot over the years and this new place is every bit as good, if not better, than some of the more established restaurants in Bariloche, and also very good value. I had the risotto and my partner had trout and they were both very well presented and absolutely delicious. We sat in the area that gives directly onto the lake - great views. The draft ale (i forget the name) was also excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WearyTraveller186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spare ribs were a standout”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Dinner for two consisted of the spare ribs in a barbecue sauce which were a standout with two long racks a jacket potato with a nice sour cream with light garlic and herbs and a small salad. Best ribs i've had in a long time. The better half had the risotto with mushrooms and was plentiful and a nice meal. Served with bread and accompanied by pleasant service with some English spoken and a nice setting overlooking the bay and all in all a nice evening and thoroughly recommended. The final bill was very resonable and about average for Bariloche.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worktolive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holly Restobar also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Holly Restobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing