We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of the best steaks I had in Argentina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alto el Fuego

Alto el Fuego
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Abierto de lunes a sabado de 12 a 15 y de 20 a 24. Domingo cerrado
Dublin
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks I had in Argentina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food here was amazing. It came recommended by the hostel I stayed in and I wasn't disappointed. It was pretty busy, so you may need to book ahead.
I ordered the lomo, which was delicious. You can order salad and various types of potatoes as sides (mashed & fries). The mash was a huge portion but wasn't great, I would go with the fries instead.
Overall would highly recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aoife_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,664
    341
    61
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

After reading all the reviews I was expecting to have a life changing experience....it was ok. Maybe we ordered the wrong thing, I don't know. We got the ribeye, it was a very nice cut of meat, but it was very bland with little flavor. Everything else was great, just don't go with the ribeye.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mike o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“lovely little resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

we had a lovely meal hear ! the prices are a little steep for us backpackers so we shared the trout and a portion of chips and a salad and it was plenty ! the service was great and we loved the deccor like a kath kidston little cottage

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lauralooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place but nothing special the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My experience at the restaurant did not reach my expectations. The restaurant is, small but cozy. The food was nothing special. My option was a bife de chorizo with a green salad. The bife was poor in flavor, and a little overcooked. The salad was ok, but that it. Restaurant has a ok service, personnel is friendly, but for my opinion, I would not rate this restaurant as number 1 in Bariloche.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leonorachile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of best restaurants in Argentina never mind Bariloche!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were so lucky to have gone to this restaurant, discovered through other reviews on Trip Advisor. What an experience!! The most delicious steak, salad, provoleche, dessert topped with a bottle of red and cafe con leche... all for the ridiculously cheap price of 100 pesos each (4 of us - equivalent of around £8 each including tip) I still can't believe the quality for the price. The staff were so lovely, even allowing us to charge our iphones while we ate. The place is a converted house and easy to miss but do yourself a favour and find it. I would 100% recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alto el Fuego also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Alto el Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing